about 2 years ago…

30 Oct

Jon and I were shopping around in the Plaza District and we ended up in a store that carries some handmade items.  At the time we were trying really hard to have a baby with no luck at all, and were on the cusp of our infertility journey.  As we were shopping I spotted the sweetest little crocheted purple and white hat, and the second I laid eyes on it I knew I had to have it.  Feeling a bit silly, I splurged on this sweet little gift for the future baby we didn’t even know if we would have.  I went home that day (we were living with my parents at the time) and tucked the brown paper bag away, knowing that if I looked at it everyday it would just make me sad.  A matter of months later we finally moved into our new house, and I found a special place on my closet shelf.  Oftentimes I would glimpse the edge of the bag as I was hanging up clothes or debating over what to wear to work, and I’d feel a tinge of sadness, but also a surge of hope.

After many months of waiting and uncertainty, a long pregnancy complete with bedrest at home, time in the hospital, 17 days in the NICU and a glorious 4 months with my sweet baby girl, I finally got to fish the little hat out of my closet and plop it on her perfect little head.

My heart is full.

4 Responses to “about 2 years ago…”

  1. Krisha October 31, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    That is so sweet Candice. I’m so happy you got your perfect little baby to put the hat on. I have yet to splurge on any baby clothes, just because like you said, it would make me too sad, but I have started
    a pretty good size book collection for them someday. I know God will bless us eventually with some little ones, just may not be in my timing ;-) they are both adorable, so happy for you!

    • candice November 2, 2012 at 11:16 am #

      Thanks so much for this comment, Krisha. You know my heart feels for you as you wait for God’s timing because I know it can be one of the hardest things to do. It will be so special when you get to read those books to your baby someday – what a neat idea.

  2. amber@SAHM's musings November 3, 2012 at 1:46 pm #

    what a precious story.

    • candice November 5, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

      Thanks, Amber:)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

