home sweet home

28 Jan

Hi lovely blogging friends!  Today has been quite a lazy day for me, but I did get to spend some fun time reading blogs that I don’t always get to read because of lack of time.  We had a big ice storm here today, and it’s supposed to last until tomorrow.  I’m off work tomorrow as well so I’m looking forward to a four day weekend!  Of course I’ll have to put in some hours working on planning, but that is SO much better than having to commute and be at school all day.  Yea!  There is something about being “snowed in” that I like – at least for a period of time.  Especially if it’s with my favorite person.  We aren’t absolutely sure that he’ll be off tomorrow, but we’re thinking he probably will.  Fingers crossed!

Anyway, so being home today was especially nice on the food front because I didn’t have to eat transportable things.  Yea!  Unfortunately Jon took the camera to his office today, so my pictures from early in the day were taken with my iPhone.

I was up, showered, made up and about to walk out the door this morning before we found out that school was closed.  And, Jon had already made my green monster.  Usually if I’m home for breakfast I like to eat something “chewable,” if you will.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my gm’s.  But, since I have them every weekeday, I just like to mix it up if I’m home.  Since he had already it, though, I went ahead and had it for breakfast as soon as we got back from the gym.  It was nice to go to the gym in the morning.  I’m really a morning workout person, but our gym opens at the same time that I have to leave for work, so I usually have to go in the afternoon.  It was a really refreshing way to start the day!

By a couple of hours after my monster, I was already ready for a snack!  I think my body isn’t used to burning so much fuel first thing in the morning, and it wanted food ALL day, which was fine by me:)  My snack was a brown rice cake with a smear of AB and half a sliced banana.   This is one of my absolute favorite snack…I love the crunchiness of the rice cake combined with the irresistible mix of nut butter and banana.  Oh yeah.  With a side of Mandarin Orange Spice tea made in the Keurig.

A few hours later Jon got home and we threw together some lunch.  I had this tasty pita filled with all kinds of goodness:)

After lunch,  I seriously laid down and took a two hour nap.  I usually have a hard time taking naps because I just can’t relax, but we just got a new comforter and between that and the sound of the rain and ice outside, I was lulled to sleep quite easily.  It felt so good to just rest.

As soon as I woke up, my body was telling me it was time to eat…again!  So, I had some O’soy vanilla yogurt with a sprinkle of Kashi U walnut and black currant cereal.  I love the combination of yogurt and cereal…you just can’t beat it. This Kashi U is awesome tasting, and the ingredients aren’t too bad either.  There are few cereals that I really feel good about eating, and this is definitely one of them.  It even comes packaged in a recycled box;)

The following is from the Kashi website:

The tasty combination of toasted Seven Whole Grain flakes, tangy black currants, crunchy walnuts, and acai oat clusters is packed full of nutrition:

  • Cardio Nourishment – 350mg ALA omega 3 from walnuts and 100% of vitamins B6, B12 and folic acid
  • Immunity Boost – 50% of your daily value for vitamins A, C and E as well as zinc and antioxidant super fruits black currant and acai
  • Strengthen Support – More calcium & vitamin D than half a glass of milk* plus zinc to support bone health
  • Thrive Inside – 7g of fiber and prebiotics to help the good bacteria grow
  • Mental Sustenance – Over half of the daily recommended amount of whole grains

And now for din din.  I decided to try something new that I’d seen other people do before – a portabello mushroom burger.  So, I threw a giant portabello mushroom cap in some evoo and grilled it with some garlic powder, red pepper and balsamic vinegar.  I also tossed in some brussels and steamed some green beans in the microwave for a side.

I also added:

  • hummus (round two!)
  • pickes
  • onion
  • tomato
  • spring mix

If you haven’t tried this before, you must!  The balsamic and seasonings soaked into the mushroom and made it so juicy and flavorful!  Interesting fact about me: until about a couple of months ago, you couldn’t pay me to touch any kind of mushroom.  Then, suddenly I just started craving them.  Random, I know.  I’ve been eating them on everything, though!

A couple of hours later, I topped off dinner with a small piece of Averie’s vegan peanut buttter chocolate chip protein bars that I made a few nights ago.  These bars are seriously to die for.  They are the best vegan dessert I’ve ever made by far!  I just have trouble stopping at just one;)

So, that’s a wrap on my day.  I think we may watch this week’s precursor for Lost season 6 that we DVR’d the other night.  We cannot wait until next Tuesday!  Any other Lost lovers out there?

Have a fantastic night everyone!

2 Responses to “home sweet home”

  1. Madeline - Greens and Jeans January 29, 2010 at 7:38 am #

    Mushrooms are one food that I keep TRYING to like, but I just can’t! Yours looks pretty tasty though!

  2. LC @ Let Them Eat Lentils January 29, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    My bf used to hate mushrooms too, and then started eating them recently, and now requests them in everything! So maybe that’s not so strange.

Leave a Reply

