Pumpkin Protein Waffles

6 Feb

Happy Saturday blog friends! How is the weekend going so far?  Mine is going way too fast.  Today, Jon and I went to OKC so I could go to a baby shower for my friend.  He dropped me off and went to hang out at Barnes and Noble, and I got to hang out with my girlfriends from college!  It was so nice to see them…it had been way too long.

Since I didn’t get a post up yesterday, I want to catch up by highlighting a couple of meals from the last 2 days.

First up is this:

I finally got my Jay Robb!  I’ve been wanting to try this protein powder for so long, and it finally came in the mail.  The morning after I got it, I decided to try it in my green monster.  That was one of the main reasons why I wanted to order it.  So, into the blender went:

1 cup soymilk
2 big handfuls of spinach
1/2 a banana
chia seeds
2 tbsp Jay Robb

Okay, I have to admit that I didn’t love Jay Robb.  I know, I know. It sounds crazy, but I really didn’t like it much.

Pros
24 grams of protein
short ingredient list- whole grain sprouted brown rice protein, natural flavor, stevia
eco-friendly packaging

Cons
a bit chalky
expensive if you have to order it online
flavor seems off

I just did not like the way this protein powder tasted.  I very rarely sweeten things these days, so I think that may have something to do with it.  If you are a person who really likes stevia or uses it a lot, you may like the taste of Jay Robb much better.  I’m not much of a fan, though.  I was a very sad girl, missing my usual green monster all the way to work.

Now, let’s move on from to the more positive side of things.  I vowed to never use this protein powder in my morning smoothie again, BUT that doesn’t mean I’m unwilling to use it in other things.  And with that I present to you my crazy good breakfast from this morning…

Check out the thickness!

Pumpkin Protein Waffles

1 cup oats
1/4 cup canned pumpkin
1/2 tbsp pure maple syrup
1 cup soy milk
1 tsp baking powder
1 heaping tablespoon of Jay Robb

adapted from original recipe from onefitfoodie.com

I threw all the ingredients into the blender and switched it on for about a minute.  Then,  I poured it into the waffle maker and let it cook for the normal amount of time (until the light went off). The batter was so thick I had to scrape it out of the blender with a spatula.  I wondered how the thickness would affect the final product, but it just made it thick and hearty!  The pumpkin flavor was subtle and it mixed so well with the almond butter and banana.  Also, I didn’t miss syrup at all!  The texture of the banana was enough to counter any dryness.  Basically, this was just a warm, thick, soft plate of heaven!   I topped mine with almond butter and sliced banana, but there are endless possibilities!  It was so, so good!  And it held me over for a good four hours or so.  You’ve got to try this recipe.  It will definitely be a good way to still use the Jay Robb because I couldn’t even taste it in the waffles, but it added some much needed protein.

And I’ll leave you with a picture of dinner tonight from Pei Wei.  Pei Wei is one of my favorite restaurants to eat out at.  It’s pretty clean if you choose the right thing, and it’s so delicious!  I ordered the Spicy Korean with vegetables and tofu and brown rice.

I ate about half of this and brought the rest home for leftovers.  The only negative about this meal is the high sodium content, but it’s certainly worth it on occasion!!  Otherwise, the nutrition stats are pretty good.

I hope everyone has a wonderful night!  Until tomorrow…

4 Responses to “Pumpkin Protein Waffles”

  1. healthy ashley February 7, 2010 at 7:15 am #

    Thanks for the tip about the protein powder. I’ll just stick with my brown rice one from WF 🙂

  2. Madeline - Greens and Jeans February 7, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    Yuck! There is nothing worse then spending money on something you are sure you are going to love but end up feeling a little “meh” about

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. creamy, coconutty goodness + a good reminder|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds - April 19, 2010

    […] on Saturday.  The return of the Pumpkin Protein Waffles.  Round two = better than […]

  2. ahhh, the weekend|Chia Seed Me - January 31, 2011

    […] to shower and be on the road.  We’re fast like that though.  And we even had time to make waffles for breakfast (before the epic […]

Leave a Reply

