potatoes au grautin

11 Feb

Tonight I made a clean version of an old favorite, and it was delish.

Growing up my mom used to make potatoes au grautin from the box on occasion.  Honestly, it wasn’t too often that one would find a processed or “boxed” food on our kitchen table.  My mom always made homemade meals from scratch, and she prided herself on feeding us mostly healthy food and everyone coming together at the table for a family dinner.  At the time I never really understood why I had to come in from playing outside to sit at the table with everyone, but now I’m so thankful for those memories, and I won’t have it any other way with our (future) children.

But back to the occasional “PAG.”  I used to love those cheesy little spuds, but of course nowadays they don’t exactly fit into my repetoire of clean foods.  So, tonight I veganfied (?) them!

Alongside a tasty mushroom burger…

Indulgence at it’s finest.

I started out by slicing a sweet potato up, sprinkling the rounds with ground red pepper and garlic powder and baking them for about 20 minutes.  Next I mixed up some toasted pine nut hummus, nutritional yeast and water to make my new favorite humnut sauce.  After the potatoes were baked, I arranged them on a plate and poured crack the sauce all over them.  Yum!  Next time I would bake the sweet potatoes for a little bit longer because they were a little too soft for my taste.  Otherwise this meal rocked!!

For the mushroom burger, I just sauteed some portobello mushroom wedges in balsamic vinegar until they were cooked through and soft.  Chopped onion, tomato, avocado and smushed it all between an ezekiel bun.  I may also have added a teensy bit generous spoonful of humnut sauce to the burger as well;)

That’s all I’ve got for tonight.  I took the day off from school tomorrow because I am so buried in grading I can’t even see my way out.  With sophomore projects and junior research papers both piled high along with several random assignments that are waiting to be graded, I just needed a day at home to catch up and breathe.  So after a workout with the hubs bright and early, I’ll have my head in the books papers all day.

It’s going to be a busy weekend even with the day off.  Jon is cooking something up for Valentine’s Day, but we’ve planned on keeping it low key because we’re going to Dallas for a couple of days over Spring Break (only 4 weeks away!) as our real Valentine’s celebration.  I can’t wait.  I live for having days on end with nothing to do but explore and hang out with my favorite person!

Hope everyone is having a great night.  TGIF (almost!)

3 Responses to “potatoes au grautin”

  1. Madeline - Greens and Jeans February 12, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    Potatoes au grautin have always been one of my holiday favorites! Your version looks like a must try to me!

  2. Abby (Abby's VeGaN Eats) February 12, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    That burger looks fabulous..especially that bun.. YUM!!!

    Enjoy your weekend… hope his din din turns out well!! 🙂 🙂

  3. The Health Dude February 24, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

    “Health is wealth” is known to all and everyone wants good health. So, Let us build a food habit discipline, keep pace with work, rest and or exercise to Achieve good health, The ultimate wealth.

Leave a Reply

