LOVEly day

16 Feb

I love Valentine’s Day.  It’s not that I so much enjoy the commercial side of it all, because I don’t.  But I love that it is one entire day that is set aside for Jon and I to just focus on each other and do fun, special things, such as….

take a day trip to Tulsa to go to Whole Foods

Like a lot of you, I’m sure, one of my favorite places to go is Whole Foods.  The closest one to us is about an hour away, though, so we don’t get to go very often.  This was my plate at lunch!  Embarrassingly overflowing?  Yes.  Out of this world delicious and worth every bite?  Yes!

Most of my plate was filled with romaine topped with everything from artichoke hearts steamed kale, shredded beets, chick peas and black beans to green and yellow bell peppers, sliced almonds, onions and oil-free orange ginger dressing.  On the side I had a couple of different “salads” and one lonely falafel ball:)  One salad had wild rice, pearl onions and several other tasty items that I cannot, for the life of me, remember.  The other was wheatberries with kidney beans, dried fruit etc.  I also added on some sliced carrots, sauteed in lemon juice.  I can’t even begin to express to you how great this meal was.  I die.

As pictured, I also had my first ever Kombucha.  Aside from it spewing all over me when I opened it (apparently this is common), it was great.  I took one for the road as well, but have yet to break it open yet.

While the food was some of the best I’ve had in awhile, the company was even better.

Disclaimer:  we both hate this photo and agree that it doesn’t look much like either one of us, but it’s the only one I got all day:(

I seriously had the hottest date.  I love my husband for so many reasons beyond what I can even express here on the ole’ blog, and not just because he is charming, selfless, makes my breakfast at 5:45 am every morning and always supports me in everything I do.  Also, because he is the most fun person I know, he makes me laugh like crazy, and he is my soulmate.  Sometimes I feel like I just don’t know how to express how much I love him.

After eating lunch we headed to the mall and did a bit of casual shopping together.  Then, we headed back to Whole Foods (ha!) to fulfill our plan of buying some loot, including ingredients to make dinner together once we got back home.  Unfortunately, the dinner never happened because we snacked a little too much on our goods plus  Starbucks soy lattes, but here’s what we made it home with:

honeycrisp apples!!!, cashew butter (my first:), coconut milk yogurt, flax tempeh, vegan sour cream (one of the ingredients for the planned meal that fell through), roasted garlic humms, Almond Breeze, whole wheat penne, raw cashews (on sale!), couple cans of Amy’s soup, organic dates, artichoke hearts, kombucha, low sodium vegetable buillon, and Clif Builders bars for the hubs.

So, that pretty much wraps up our V-day.  We had intended to keep it low key all along because we’re taking a little mini vaca to Dallas on Spring Break.  This was just the perfect day, though. On Monday, my students kept asking me what I did for Valentine’s Day, and I’m pretty sure they’ve lost all faith that I’m even halfway cool now that I told them I went to Whole Foods.  Some girls want flowers, I want clean foods.  So sue me:)

I hope everyone else had a great day as well!  Do you celebrate Valentine’s Day?  Do you love it or hate it?  I love hearing other people’s opinions on this holiday.

I’m off to do some work for school.  Bye!

2 Responses to “LOVEly day”

  1. LC @ Let Them Eat Lentils February 22, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

    I went to Whole Foods on Valentine’s Day too!!! So funny. I ate as much as I wanted at the salad bar and then made crab cakes for dinner with supplies we found at WF. Sounding very similar to your celebration.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010: a look back|ChiaSeedMe - January 3, 2011

    […] couple of weeks later, Jon and I headed to Tulsa to celebrate Valentine’s Day by making not one but two stops at Whole Foods.  A boy after my own heart.  And February ended […]

Leave a Reply

