eats!

22 Feb

Hi!  How was everyone’s Monday?  I like Averie’s line from her post today “hopefully your day has been going along nicely and that you’re at least savoring some memories from the weekend.”  I feel like I’m heavier on the savoring from the weekend part.  O’well, can’t win ’em all:)  Really, though, today hasn’t been half bad.  The school where I teach is having their yearly fundraising week.  The students choose a charity to raise money for, and I won’t even go into all the millions of ways they raise it.  Let’s just say anything from selling cupcakes to having paid assemblies for the students to attend.  Their goal is $200,000 by the end of the week. Amazing, huh?  Anyway, so there is an assembly every single day, and the kids all dress up and what not.  It’s a fun time, but the kids just don’t understand why they have to do schoolwork in the midst of all the festivities (insert sarcasm).

Anyway, onto some eats from the past couple of days.

Crappy picture, excellent meal.  I threw in about 3/4 cup plain soy yogurt, sliced almonds, clean granola, cinammon and blues!  I love yogurt messes…I have a toned down version (just soy yogurt, a smidge granola and almonds)  almost every afternoon for a snack.  I always forget to snap a pic, but I just can’t get over how great they are.

Jon and I almost always grab something to eat after church on Sundays.  One of my go-to’s is Pita Pit.  Also, our librarian at school’s son owns Pita Pit so he delivers pitas for the teachers every Wednesday.  It’s really one of the only places that I’ll really eat out at.  It’s def. not easy to find clean eats at restaurants here in small town Oklahoma. All this tasty goodness included: whole wheat pita, spinach, bell pepper, onion, mushroom, sprouts, tomatoes, pineapple, babaganoush and a tad bit of hot sauce.  So good!!!

Dinner last night was kind of a random assortment, but nevertheless everything I was craving.  Baked sweet potato rounds, roasted carrot chips, steamed green beans and a slice of Ezekiel toast spread with hummus.  All with a side of unsweetened ketchup.  I gave up ketchup a long time ago, even though I loved it, because it had sugar in it.  Well, I happened to find this version at Whole Foods last weekend, which has only tomatos and salt.  I can’t bring myself to even think about complaining about the salt;)  It totally made this meal, though.  That and the hummus of course.

And, lastly, lunch for work.  Jon snapped this photo while I was still in the mixing stage, and I forgot to get a final shot.  This salad is one of my favorites, and I’ve recreated it time and again – spring mix, 1/4 cup chick peas, 1/4 cup black beans, 1/4 cup corn, chopped artichoke hearts, sliced almonds, chia seeds, chopped onions and balsamic for dressing.  What can I say?  I like my salads extra large!  The only thing I forgot was avocado…how could I?

Well, I’m off to read up on some of you fine people’s blogs and not possibly grade some research papers.  Hope everyone has a great night!

2 Responses to “eats!”

  1. MojitoMaven February 22, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    So I am like the worst blogging friend of all time because i had no idea about your new site!! AHHHHHHHH

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE it. I’m so happy to see you do something you’re so passionate about.

    I will be checking in!!! Please forgive me 🙂 I know I suck…

  2. LC @ Let Them Eat Lentils February 23, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

    I miss pita pit sooo much. They had it at my college but I’ve never lived anywhere after that had one. Healthiest drunk food EVER.

Leave a Reply

