a birthday week

28 Feb

picking myself up and dusting myself off…

So, basically a lot of life happened this week, which detered me from regularly posting or updating on the challenge. I knew this was going to be a crazy busy week, but I didn’t realize just how crazy.  Jonathan has been working on a project at work for about a year now.  The university he works for (and our alma mater) has launching the largest fundraising campaign ever in the history of the school.  He is the assistant director of marketing, so his role has been huge throughout the entire process.  Anyway, the campaign went public for the first time on Friday at a big event on campus.  Then, on Saturday, at halftime of the basketball game, there was another big announcement about it, and we spent the day passing out t shirts to students.  So basically, every night this week was filled with working and getting ready for the big day.  Plus, Friday was Jon’s birthday, so any free time I had this week was spent shopping, wrapping and baking.  It’s been a whirlwind.

It’s also been the longest I’ve ever gone without posting.  I missed it so much!  I feel like the spring was missing from my step all week.  I have to be honest and say that between work madness and birthday festivities, some not so good food choices resulted as well. I did do some good things too though.  For instance, I exfoliated my face every three days, drank more water this week and didn’t eat one spoonful of Kashi cereal (yay!).  I have to admit that the other parts of the challenge were hit or miss.  I actually wasn’t as committed this week as I was before I started the challenge.  Boo.  I participated in what some would call “emotional eating,” which I’m not proud of.  It’s something that I struggle with often, but the emotional eating monster struck extra hard this week.  Stress, stress, stress.

BUT, one part of the challenge that I am really being tested on right now is not beating myself up when I don’t do so hot.  I’ve actually had a lot of practice with that one lately.  And truly, I think it is one of the most important skills to practice.  Loving my husband and being there for him in every way possible, and still staying on top of my own job took precedence over blogging and sticking 100% to my challenge this week.  And I’m okay with that.  In fact, that’s the way it should be.

So, it’s a new week, and I’m still shooting for the same goals.  Life and all of the routines that come with it should be back to normal starting tomorrow.  I feel a bit silly that I’ve lost an entire week of only a three week challenge, but there is nothing I can do about that now.  That is, nothing aside from jumping right back in and doing the best I can this week.

Off I go to do some more prep for school tomorrow.  Because the first part of the weekend was so busy, I spent most of today working on grading research papers and planning for this week.  And I’m still not done.  I did manage to squeeze in time to make a soup for lunches this week, which I’ll post later, as well as one episode of Amazing Race.  Love that show!

I hope everyone has a great start to the week.  Thanks to those of you who’ve stuck around through my hiatus.  It’s good to be back:)

I’ll leave you with a few pics from the last few days.

Friday’s eats – cashew cookie Lara, banana (to be wrapped inside almond butter filled wrap) and spaghetti squash concoction which included spaghetti squash, brussels, corn, green beans, chick peas, sliced almonds and humnut sauce.

Gotta love the hubs.  This is his breakfast specialty (except for green monsters of course:).  It’s all about presentation of course.  Ezekiel cinnamon raisin english muffin with cashew butter and sliced banana.  And two almonds to top it off.

Happy birthday to my hero, my best friend, my love.

2 Responses to “a birthday week”

  1. LC @ Let Them Eat Lentils March 1, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

    What a fun birthday cake! So sweet of you to make it for him.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010: a look back|ChiaSeedMe - January 3, 2011

    […] not one but two stops at Whole Foods.  A boy after my own heart.  And February ended with a celebration of the husband’s birthday as well as the successful launch of the campaign he had been working on for months on […]

Leave a Reply

