stress less

2 Mar

It’s amazing how different I feel when I’m focusing on being in control of my eating and exercising.  And I don’t mean just “sticking perfectly to my plan” or “working out everyday.”  I mean being in control no matter the situation.  For instance, today was my planned day to do cardio.  I have been looking forward to it because I haven’t done any cardio since Saturday, and last night Jon and I started contemplating running a certain race in April (contemplating, I said!).   In other words, I’m rarin’ to go!  However, when Jon called today to tell me that he had an appointment with a client at 5:45 and he wanted me to go, the debate began.

Do I try to workout, rush home, take a shower and take a chance of not being ready to go with him in time?  Or do I move my workout to tomorrow (which was supposed to be my day off), come home, get some school work done, and be ready to go support him?

I have to admit, my initial reaction was to be a control freak and go for option A.  But I’ve really been working on releasing that control, being okay with getting off the treadmill before I’ve run exactly 4 miles.  I’m proud to say I went with option B.  I feel great that I was able to recognize what the healthier, less stressful choice would be…and went with it without looking back. So often I put undue pressure on myself to strive for perfection, and when I stop and think about it, do I even want to be perfect?  How fun is that?  For me, this expands even beyond diet and exercise to relationships (ie. if I don’t cook dinner for Jon every night, then I’m a horrible wife) and to work, of course.

I love the quote that I ran across on Katie’s blog today.

Eat what your body truly craves, exercise (but not excessively), feed your soul, and–above all–try to stress as little as possible.

This quote should be my mantra.  Sometimes it’s the concept I struggle with the most, despite the fact that it’s who I want to be so badly.  I think I’m getting there, though.

So, what about you?  Do you struggle with the idea of reaching (or not reaching) perfection?  Do you take joy in the process of getting to where you want to be rather than stressing about not being there quite yet?

And with that I’ll leave you with a pic of the lil’ snack I’ve been enjoying while writing this post.  I’ve been wanting to try a Pro Bar for a long time, and the coffee shop we’re at has several different ones to choose from.  I went with the Sesami Goji flavor.  While the ingredient list is a bit long, it’s entirely recognizable and has some stellar stuff in it like organic goji berries, sesame seeds, organic oats, raw organic coconut, organic pumpkin seeds, hemp seed etc.  Pick one of these up if you get the chance.  Just FYI – with 400 calories for one bar, it is more of a meal replacement rather than a snack.

2 Responses to “stress less”

  1. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) March 2, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    I have had plenty of probars, not that flavor but totally agree, meal replacement not a snack..or split it with hungry child 🙂

  2. LC @ Let Them Eat Lentils March 3, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    Those probars are my new obsession – the berry one and superfoods are so good. They make great airport food!

Leave a Reply

