dallas day three

18 Mar

Day three was inevitably less relaxing than days one and two.  After sleeping in, we got ready, ate some Kashi Heart to Heart cereal with soy milk and banana and headed out for our last day of fun!

First, we had to drive to a Best Buy that was about 20 minutes away.  The package deal that came with our camera also came with an extra lense (yay!), but we had to pick it up at the other store.  After picking it up, we hit up a Panera that was right across the street.  We had been craving an everything bagel all weekend, but surprisingly hadn’t run across a Panera at all!  So, despite having just eaten cereal an hour and a half earlier, we both decided we had room to split a bagel and cream cheese.  Yes, cream cheese.  I know it’s not vegan.  As far as I’m concerned, sometimes you just have to step outside your box to really live life to the fullest.  For me on that particular morning, that included eating about 2 tbsp of cream cheese.

I believe it’s about what we do 90% of the time that really matters.  Honestly, that’s what I had to convince myself of in order to be vegan.  If I thought I had to be perfect and eat vegan 100% of the time, I never would have even tried.  I think a lot of people want to take on a healthy lifestyle or want to become vegetarian or vegan, but they’re scared that they’ll fail.  Or they’re scared that they won’t be able to avoid all dairy/meat all the time.  Why do we always feel like we have to put labels on ourselves and not step outside the box that we put ourselves in?  If a person cuts out meat even 75% of the time, isn’t that better than not cutting it out at all?  We need to show ourselves some grace and not expect perfection.  Perfection is boring anyhow.  Let’s just live.  This wasn’t all sparked just by the bagel, haha. It’s something that has been on my mind for awhile now.

Back to day three.  After Panera we met up with my sister and did some shopping.  I hit up Forever 21, Banana Republic (sale racks!) and Gap.  I actually found a few things on sale, which was exciting because my wardrobe needs some serious revamping!  I don’t know about you, but I am so tired of winter clothes!  Unfortunately, there is a chance of snow again this weekend.  Winter, will you ever go away?

Anyway, we broke for lunch at the food court in the mall mid-day.  Normally, I shun food courts, but this one wasn’t half bad.  I ended up with a Whichwich sandwich.  Avocado and tomato with lettuce, pickles, cucumbers, mushrooms and bell peppers on whole wheat.  I didn’t get a pic unfortunately, so you’ll just have to take my word for it – it was amazing as always.

After shopping we headed back to the house to pick up this girl

and this guy

and then headed back to Ikea for round two!  We had to rush through the first time we went because they were closing, so we wanted to go back and pick up a couple of extra things.

After Ikea, it was time to head home.  We did grab some Chipotle on the way home, but I failed to get a picture.  I was packed in the front seat of our mini with Olive in my lap and stuff packed all around me, so it was all I could do to eat my food, much less photograph it.  I got my usual vegetarian tacos with black beans, grilled veggies, corn salsa, verde salsa and pico, with guacamole on top obvs.

The ride home was pretty uneventful except for one little stop.  Starbucks.  You won’t believe what I did.  Everything started out really well.  I ordered my usual plain soy latte at which point the barista told me that they were out of soy.  What?!  He then went on to offer me a dark chocolate cherry latte made with fat free milk.  Now, I’m no genius, but if someone told me they wanted a plain soy latte I would not translate that to mean that he/she may want to try a sugar laden, full dairy drink.  Would you?  Either way, I politely refused, then ordered an iced passion tea lemonade, minus the sweetener.  As we were waiting for our drinks, the barista says “would you guys try something if I made you a sample?”  Ignoring the warning voice in my head, I joined in with my sis and Jon by agreeing to try the “sample.”  Now, in my defense, I was expecting the “sample” to be about the size of a shot.  Oh, no no.  It was a full eight ounces.  So, he serves up three of these mystery drinks.  This is the point where “no” would have been a good response.  My sensitivity got the best of me, though, and I felt too bad to refuse it.  That’s not all, though.  The barista proceeds to insist that the drink just wouldn’t be the same if we didn’t chug it down as fast as possible.  That should have been red flag number 546.  But, of course I proceeded to start gulping this mysterious drink as fast as I could.  I have to admit that it was cool that way the drink was hot on top, but cold at the bottom – meaning that as I drank it, it was warm on the roof of my mouth, but cool on my tongue.  I think he said the drink was called an “undertow.”  Have any of you heard of it or tried it?

Anyway, so it wasn’t until after I had gulped down about half the drink that I stopped to breathe ask what was in it.  He responded with “espresso (good so far:)), half and half (uh oh),  and sugar free vanilla syrup (crash!).  I couldn’t believe I had just chugged the antithesis of what I had gone in there to get.  Not only that, but after the absurdity of the beverage I had just injested, I could barely get down even a quarter of my iced tea.  I seriously felt sick for almost the entire rest of the drive.   I thought I might never recover.   Lesson learned. Do not, under any circumstances, allow a barista to take advantage of you by giving into his request to try some mysterious drink when he obvs. is just so bored in small town OK that he would do anything for a little entertainment.

After another couple of hours in the car, we finally arrived back in OK later that evening.  We were happy to be home, but sad that our mini vacation was over.

Day four away from home centered around my grandma’s funeral and a drive to the town that she grew up in for the graveside service.  Even though it isn’t food oriented, I may do a post later on just for my own need to document the day.   I should be back to some fun food posts soon, though!

3 Responses to “dallas day three”

  1. healthy ashley March 19, 2010 at 7:51 am #

    Sorry to hear about the funeral 😦 Still, it looks like you’re having a nice trip.

    I love your words about your eating the cream cheese. I eat vegan 95% of the time and I refuse to beat myself up over it. I would like to not eat any animal products at all (my body hates it), but I’m human and life’s not 100%. Oh well 🙂

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach) March 20, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

    Well everyone knows you can’t have a bagel without cream cheese 😉 I think it also depends on why you are vegetarian or vegan. I don’t eat meat, period. But I am vegetarian for personal beliefs as well as health reasons. You also have to do what you feel is right for yourself and no one else.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010: a look back|ChiaSeedMe - January 3, 2011

    […] That same week we spent Spring Break visiting my sister in Dallas for not one, not two but three days. And on day two we made the best purchase of our entire […]

Leave a Reply

