spring!

8 Apr

Hey guys!  How has your Thursday been?  Mine has been just fine, but quite tiring.  I haven’t been getting as much sleep as I need to lately, and it’s really starting to wear on me.  With a 5am wake up call each morning, it’s hard to do everything I need/want to do post 5 pm and still get a decent amount of sleep.  I’ve been locking in about 6ish hours, which could be worse, but it also could be a lot better.  I’ve got to do something about my schedule b/c it is just not working.  How many hours of sleep do you aim for?  Do you feel that a lack of sleep affects you in all areas throughout your day? I definitely do.

I tell you what, I had the best lunch today!  Last night, Jon had to go to Tulsa for a freelance meeting.  He is going to be creating the branding (logo etc.) for the Route 66 Marathon in Tulsa this year, and he had to meet with the director of the race (I’m so proud and excited!).  Anyway, he called me on his way home at about 9:30 and said that he was stopping in Whole Foods to get me some Amazing Grass and a few other odds and ends.  Do I have an amazing husband or what?!  He ended bringing home 2 Kombuchas, Amazing Grass, and 2 different salads from the bar for me to take for lunches.

This first one is called Couscous Primavera, and I’ll be taking it for lunch tomorrow.  Yay!

Ingredients include:  Israeli couscous, carrots, onion, bell pepper, scallion, zucchini, evoo, lemon juice, dill, parsley, lemon zest and salt/pepper.  I definitely plan to try and recreate this one on my own.  It was delish (I couldn’t help but try a bite when he got home last night)!

The second on is Orange Quinoa with Mint and Almond:  quinoa, bell pepper, green onions, almond slivers, mint, orange, lime juice, sherry vinegar, honey (not vegan, I know!), sea salt, and pepper.  I took this one for lunch today.  It was tasty as well, but overall I think I like the couscous better.

Sorry all I have for you is boring store bought meals tonight, but sometimes you just gotta go with it.  I love getting special dishes from WF…especially because it’s a rarity!

After I got home from work today, Jon and I took Olive on a walk.  I’ve been having a really difficult time getting the energy/motivation to work out after work.  I am a huge morning workout person, so I’ve been feeling very frustrated with my schedule.  When I’m already getting only 5-6 hours of sleep, it’s hard to bring myself to get up earlier to work out.  I just really don’t like working out in the afternoons, though!

Our walk was great, though.  I love spending time outside together and just enjoying the weather.  I didn’t work up much of a sweat, but it was better than sitting on the couch!  Here are some pretty pics of springtime in Oklahoma:)

Are you a morning or afternoon workout person?  If afternoon, how do you get the energy to do it after working all day?  Also, how do you balance getting your workout in with cooking dinner, eating, cleaning up, blogging, keeping up with household stuff, spending time with significant other etc?  Please share your tips and tricks!

See you guys tomorrow.  TGIF!

8 Responses to “spring!”

  1. Naomi (onefitfoodie) April 9, 2010 at 4:57 am #

    the name of your blog is so freakin cute!! love chia seeds 🙂

    and also love WF salad bar!!

    the orange quinoa with mint sounds AMAZING! I would love a recipe for that I LOVE fresh MINT!!!

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach) April 9, 2010 at 5:33 am #

    Gorgeous pictures first off. I hear ya on the no sleep. I am a horrible insomniac. It definitely wears on you after a while. I am more of an afternoon workout person. I am not a morning person at all and never allow myself enough time to fully wake up, thus AM workouts are a lot harder. That being said, if it’s just cardio, I can usually get going, it wakes me up and gives me the boost of energy I desperately need. Oh, and that couscous salad, YUM

  3. kelli April 9, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    great photos!=)

  4. LC @ Let Them Eat Lentils April 9, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

    I think maybe I need to sleep too MUCH. I get like 8-9 hours or act like I’m going to kill you all day. Oh, which means I’m late to work like every single day.

    Obviously, this makes me not a morning work out person haha. Honestly, my job is so sedentary that I feel an itch to work out in the late afternoon/early evening and it’s the time of day I feel the most energy.

  5. Sarah April 10, 2010 at 2:29 am #

    Hello there! Great pictures; the weather looks glorious.

    I’m not a morning person. I need about an hour or two to myself to come around and then I’m fine. I think I’m an afternoon/early evening workout kind of person so I usually end up doing exercise on saturday afternoons and two evenings in the week. But I don’t really stick to any set routine- I just try to listen to my body and go with whatever work out I’m craving, whenever. Phew, that was long; sorry! 🙂

  6. cristen April 10, 2010 at 5:38 pm #

    love the photos…still making me want a camera! for the past two weeks that ive actually been working out consistently, it has occurred during the afternoon. this is just something i’ve come to terms with bc i cannot get up extra early in the morning. i can barely get up with enough time to not be late. maybe once or twice i havent felt like working out after i get home, but for the most part i look forward to it. of course a snack is necessary for some afternoon energy. i also think that it’s a way that i take out all of my aggression and anxiety that may have built up during the day, i know you understand this! but most importantly for me, i HAVE to do it right when i get home. if i do anything else first, it probably won’t happen.

    btw, my friend D checked out your blog and tried the enchiladas…said she really liked them! she’s the one that’s got sick recently and has had to change her diet completely.

    sry so long!

  7. sophia April 10, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

    I’m definitely a morning workout person, only because I NEED it to keep me awake and energized for the rest of the day. Can’t do afternoons or evenings…I’m too cranky! haha!

    Aw, sweet hubby! I love Whole Foods bar items, too. Esp their chicken noodle soup….

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention spring!|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds -- Topsy.com - April 8, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Candice McCoy. Candice McCoy said: are you an AM or PM workout person? http://bit.ly/ak1UNI […]

Leave a Reply

