just the essentials

12 Apr

Hey everyone!  How did Monday treat you?  I didn’t get much sleep last night..again...so I’m going to try and keep this short!  These past few days have just been especially busy, and my blogging materials has been lacking to say the least.  Tonight Jon and I had to make a grocery trip because we are out of everything!  Hence the reason I haven’t been cooking much.

First we stopped by this wonderful spot for a quick dinner.

an iPhone special:)

I had a veggie salad with black beans, 3 kinds of salsa, grilled veggies and guac.  There are only a handful of places in our little city where I will eat out, and Chipolte is one of them.  It’s so fresh!

Our grocery trip tonight was very spur of the moment, so I didn’t take the time to make a list.  I really try to always make a list of meal ideas and necessary ingredients before I go to the store, but in situations like tonight, I just stick to the basics.  I always figure if I have some beans, fruit, veggies and grains, then I can always come up with something!

Here are some of the essentials:  whole soy yogurt, almond milk (unsweetened vanilla is my favorite:), pears, kiwis, strawberries, grapes, cuties, organic spinach, canned black beans, canned corn, whole wheat pasta, whole wheat lavash wraps, frozen cherries (yay!), brussel sprouts, avocado, cucumber and carrots.  I’m already well stocked in grains.

I’m looking forward to throwing together some quick meals this week!  I’ll keep you posted;)

Do you make a meal/grocery list before you go to the store?  Or do you just wing it?  What are your key staples that you always keep on hand?

Have a great night…see ya tomorrow!

4 Responses to “just the essentials”

  1. Sarah April 12, 2010 at 11:36 pm #

    Hi there!

    Yup, know the feeling re. lack of sleep. I think I got just under 5 hours last night. Anyway…

    I love sneaking a peak at people’s groceries in the supermarket and yours look so yummy and fresh. Honestly, how can people eat all that grey and yellow food when there’s so much vibrancy and colour in natural foods. Most of the time I just wing-it, unless I’m going to the shops for something specific. And I always buy salad essentials, hummus and peanut butter. However, I’m seriously trying to get over my peanut butter addiction (it doesn’t agree with me as much as I agree with it…’s taste).

  2. Veggielady4life April 13, 2010 at 5:22 am #

    Your grocery shopping trip looks a lot like mine!! BTW… I used to love Chipotle, when I lived in NYC. So good and fresh!!

  3. Heather (Where's the Beach) April 13, 2010 at 5:57 am #

    I wish we had a Chipotle here. I’ve never been to one. I always make a list, it’s almost always the same list of course, but I make one anyway. I have a ton of staples that I always keep on hand. I’m a little OCD about running out of things. If I get down to 2 cans of black beans (mind you I still have red, cannellini, and chickpeas) I start to get a little freaked out. Same with diced tomatoes, spinach, lettuce…ok, all my staples. LOL.

  4. kelli April 13, 2010 at 7:44 am #

    hey candice! i had a similar meal last night – guac and veggies on a raw pizza crust. yum! i would have loved to have added corn and black beans.

    going food shopping today. i like to have a list, especially if i have plans to make certain meals. i despise running to the store for one thing!

    my staples are raw almonds, cashews, quinoa, buckwheat, shroomies, avocadoes, tomatoes, zucchini, greens, apples, bananas, and oranges.

    as for beans, i like to buy them in bulk and make about 12 cups at a time. they last months in the freezer. in fact, i think i’m due for some black bean boiling!=)

Leave a Reply

