make it happen

15 Apr

Happy Thursday:)  I honestly can’t believe we’re only a night’s sleep away from Friday.  I am SO glad.  I’m just counting down the days until school is out – only 6 weeks and 1 day to go.

I received my Women’s Health magazine in the mail today, and it has some great stuff.  Women’s Health and Oxygen are my favorite magazines – I feel they are the most down-to-earth and real of all the fitness magazines.  This issue has Jillian Michaels on the cover and a great interview with her inside. It’s funny how when you need a certain kind of affirmation about something, it just keeps popping up everywhere. In her interview, Jillian gives some great tips on how to achieve success, so I thought I’d share them with you!

  • Define your goal and be specific:  you have to know exactly what you’re going after before you can go after it.
  • Believe in your ability:  A lot of times people don’t really believe they can accomplish their goals.  If you don’t believe in you, then who will?  This is the one I have the most trouble with.  At times I’ll feel so confident and self assured, like I could become the next Oprah if I wanted…other times I have trouble believing that I can make it through my next workout.  This is something I am really working on in my life right now.
  • Stay positive:  the minute you turn around to bash yourself, reverse it and give yourself a compliment.
  • Imagine your goal:  Visualization allows you to get comfortable with the idea of change.  I was just thinking about this today.  I took a few minutes to visualize my goals.  I pictured myself as I would be a year from now if I actually stepped out and tackled my goals.  I even envisioned what the blog post would look like when I recap everything I will have accomplished (obvs. I think of everything in terms of blog posts:)  This was really motivating for me.  I desperately want to live that story!
  • Get educated:  Studying up before pursuing your goal helps you make powerful choices that effect change.  Knowledge is power.
  • Don’t fear failure:  It is an integral part of success.  I fear failure all the time!  I think the big point here could even be – it’s okay to fear failure, as long as you don’t let that fear hold you back.  Conquer it!
  • Get feedback:  look for someone who’s educated in the goal you’re trying to achieve and seek out constructive criticism from him/her.

I think I’m going to type these up and post them where I can see them on a daily basis.  Keeping things like this in front of me helps me stay motivated and inspired!

Today was honestly pretty stressful.  Work was more stressful than usual (I won’t even go into that), and I got a call from my mom this morning, letting me know my grandpa had an accident.  He had climbed up on the roof of our lake cabin to clear off some limbs, and when he went to climb back down, one leg of the ladder sunk into the ground, causing him to fall from the roof level. Unfortunately, he cracked three ribs.  Fortunately, he didn’t have any other injuries.  I am so thankful to still have my two grandparents, and all the time I think about the possibility of something happening to them.  I don’t know how I would handle it.  Even this got me all worked up, and I just wanted to go visit him, not be at work!  I got to talk to him on the phone for awhile after work, though, and he seemed to be in pretty high spirits, considering.

For lunch, the parents at our school put together a luncheon for the teachers.  I knew right away (from past experience) that there would be nothing there for me, so I packed this

Overnight oats! 1/3 cup oats, 1/3 cup plain soy yogurt, 1/3 cup almond milk, 1 tbsp chia seeds, sprinkle of cinnamon, 1/2 chopped banana.  Let sit overnight.  Add toppings!  Almond butter to be specific.  Delish!  My coworkers give me the strangest looks sometimes;)

Here’s the rest of the day’s eats

Yes, that would be cheeseless pizza again.  Yes, I just had it last Saturday.  What can I say? I was having a serious hankering for it, and I was exhausted from the day.  What’s a girl to do?

I also am proud to say I worked out today, even though it was all I could do to keep my eyes open during the commute home.  I threw on my gym clothes and headed to the gym.  I cranked out a quick 2.5 miles on the treadmill, and followed it up with some ab work using the Bosu ball.  Yay!

  • What is your favorite fitness magazine?  Or would you rather read online articles/blogs instead?
  • What strategies do you have to help you stay motivated and inspired?
  • Chia Seeds Direct is having a sale on white chia seeds.  Get 10% off by using the code WCS.  Also, U.S. residents get free shipping.  What are ya waiting for??

Well, that’s it for today, folks!  Hope you all have a great Friday! G’night.

5 Responses to “make it happen”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) April 16, 2010 at 5:37 am #

    Hey girl, so glad to hear that your grandfather is doing OK at least. I would give anything to have my grandparents alive. I only knew my dad’s parents. I guess my favorite fitness magazine is probably Oxygen. I also read a ton of info online.

    Isn’t it great when you get those types of affirmations at just the right time!

  2. cristen April 16, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

    ok, i def have to say the Overnight Oats are def the least visually appealing meal i’ve seen from you. but the pizza pics look awesome! made me want to eat cheeseless pizza!

    love the motivational tips sis=)

  3. Sarah April 17, 2010 at 5:24 am #

    Happy weekend! Sorry to hear about your grandfather; I’m glad he’s relatively ok.

    Great tips on achieving goals! I def need to work on some of them. Like you, I can feel self-assured one minute and hopelessly insecure the next.

    Good job on the workout! I’m yet to get out there and start running again; I really should as I don’t do any cardio at the mo. Don’t really have a fave fitness magazine; they tend to scare me as I’m not that sporty.

    To stay motivated I often try to be inspired by others so I read about them or things that they’ve written. In fact, a lot of what inspires and motivates me comes from the blog world.

    Anyway, hope you’re having a great weekend xxx

  4. hihorosie April 19, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    Those are great tips! Thanks for sharing. Things to print and keep handy someplace. I need to make me some overnight oats. It seems everywhere I turn someone’s made some and they look so good. Yum!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010: a look back|ChiaSeedMe - January 3, 2011

    […] had a huge scare around mid November when my Grandpa fell off the roof of our lake cabin, but the Lord protected him and he came out with just a few broken ribs and a lot […]

Leave a Reply

