spicy vegan chili

21 Apr

Another crazy day of testing at school.  There are only 27 days of school left…not that I’m counting or anything.

Have you ever been at a point in your life when you are at the brink of some big changes and you want to make them happen, but something (out of your control) is holding you back?  Yeah, me neither;)

I’ve been a bit “out of whack” lately, and I’m ready to be “in whack” again.  It’s all a matter of attitude and perspective, and I need to whip both into shape!

As promised, tonight I have a new recipe from Saturday’s fun in the kitchen.

Enter Spicy Vegan Chili. You guys know I’m a huge fan of meals that are delicious, fast, easy, vegan and of course healthy!  Also, husband’s enjoyment is a key.  This recipe most def. falls in those categories.  YOU should try it!

Ingredients

1 can light red kidney beans
1 can black beans
1 can organic lentils
1 can low sodium corn
1 can Rotel diced tomatoes and green chilis
1 24 oz can diced tomatoes
1 small can tomato paste
1/2 onion, chopped
5 or 6 mushrooms, chopped
1-2 whole carrots, chopped
4 tbsp chili powder
ground red pepper to taste
2 tbsp cumin
1 tsp salt

Directions
Chop fresh veggies
Dump all ingredients into a large crock pot, set on low, and forget it!

If you don’t have a crock pot, you could also use a large stock pot.  You just won’t have quite the same effect of “fix it and forget it.”  This meal is great served with whole wheat crackers, blue corn chips or served over whole wheat pasta!  I made this recipe for just the husband and I because I love having leftovers.  This makes enough for an entire week of random lunches and dinners when you need something quick.  Another option would be to freeze a portion of it to have a couple of weeks later when you’re in a pinch.  Let me know if you try it!

I rushed home from work today to make it to a hair appointment.  Nothing too exciting…just a trim.  Obvs.  Because I couldn’t possibly go any shorter;)  Needless to say, I skipped out on my workout today, but I’m back at it tomorrow!

I hope you all have a fantastic Thursday!  We will be having company all weekend starting Friday, so tomorrow night I’ll be super busy getting our house in tip top shape!  I’ll check in at some point though.

G’night!

7 Responses to “spicy vegan chili”

  1. hihorosie April 21, 2010 at 10:09 pm #

    Looks tasty and hearty!

  2. Sarah April 21, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

    Yum! I LOVE veggie chilli and the husband is always saying how I don’t make it often enough 🙂 will have to try out this one. How many servings does it make? x

  3. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) April 22, 2010 at 12:22 am #

    this looks soooo easy and good!!! nice work!!!

  4. Heather (Where's the Beach) April 22, 2010 at 5:43 am #

    Thanks for sharing. I LOVE veggie chilies and make them (a variety of versions) all fall and winter. There’s something so warm and comforting about them. I never remember to add corn though.

  5. kelli April 22, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    yummy!

  6. amber@SAHM's musings January 30, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

    I’m going to make this tomorrow 🙂

    • candice January 30, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

      yay! Let me know how it turns out:)

Leave a Reply

