earth day fun

22 Apr

I slowly come to consiousness as a faint glint of light peeks through my bedroom window.  I think to myself that something just doesn’t seem right.  Rubbing my eyes, I sit up and look over at the clock.  The moment of panic hits me like a ton of bricks…it’s 6:21am.  I was supposed to leave for work 21 minutes ago.  Whoopsie!

Needless to say my morning was a little crazy!  I got ready in record time (15 minutes) and only ended being about 15 minutes late for work.  On the way, I nervously gulped down my newest version of a green smoothie.

1 cup almond milk
1 scoop Amazing Grass
15 frozen cherries
1 tbsp chia seeds
2 big handfuls of spinach
1 tbsp Artisana cocoa bliss coconut butter – the star of the show!

Yesterday Jon even crumbled up a tiny bit of coconut butter and sprinkled it on top.  As I sipped away, I would get an occasional chunk through my straw.  They don’t call it cocoa bliss for nothing!

Lunch today was leftover chili, Ryvita crackers and a pear.

On my way home from work I snacked on this Clif bar, while listening to a Jillian Michaels podcast.  I had heard about her podcasts for awhile, but had yet to listen to one.  It was ironically appropriate for the things that are going on in my life right now.  She talked about how being empowered means you have to have a dream, then overcome your fears to make that dream your reality.  Usually the fear is rooted in being afraid of failure.  Also in order to reach you dreams, you must first believe that you can actually do it.  Sounds cliche, but it’s so true.

After I got home from work, I decided to “kill two birds with one stone” by getting in a mowing workout.  Our yard was in serious need of a trim, and I knew that Jon had a million things on his to do list for this evening, so it was me versus the yard.  I just barely won:)  I have a feeling I’m going to be quite sore tomorrow, and to be honest I think I pulled something in my left leg.  Hopefully it’s all in my imagination and will be back to normal by the morning.  We’ll see. While cleaning up our front porch, we decided it was high time we take care of this:

A few weeks ago we noticed that a bird had made its nest in the wreath on our front door.  It was quite dangerous, really, because there were many times that I or Jon almost got decapitated by the mama as we tried to go in or out of our front door.  Unfortunately, she must have given up on this little one, because we have not seen her in days.  So, sadly, we decided that because it was past due time to switch from our Christmas wreath to our Spring wreath, we had to do away with the little nest as well.  I know this seems tragic, especially considering it’s Earth Day and all, but the mother had abandoned it anyway, so it really had no chance:(

After finishing up with the yard, we headed out to get a quick bite to eat, run an errand and race back home to get some cleaning done.  As I mentioned yesterday, we’ve got company coming for the next few days, so the house needed some major work.  First, we had a second round of this

In the interest of the blog, I have to apologize for getting the same exact sandwich I got last Saturday.  I tried to convince myself to switch it up, but I just couldn’t do it.  It was too good!  However, surprise! this time it came with cheese on it, which I happily removed.  The other slight tweak from last Saturday’s meal:

I do realize this is not the healthiest choice, but by gosh, I just had to do it tonight!  When we went to this restaurant on Saturday, I lusted after this guy, so I decided I’d just cure my lusting by indulging a little bit tonight.  It was ice cold and  worth every sip!

We’ve spent the rest of the evening cleaning like mad.  Bring on the company!

I better get to bed if I want to avoid another incident like this morning.  Can you believe it’s already Friday again??  I’m so glad!

Have a great night, and Happy Earth Day!

3 Responses to “earth day fun”

  1. cristen April 22, 2010 at 8:37 pm #

    don’t fret over the “sleeping in” mishap…i’ve done it a million times! the panic does hit you like a ton of bricks tho! i always have to make the last minute decision of whether it’s worse to call in or go to work without showering! ha!

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach) April 23, 2010 at 5:24 am #

    Hey girl – no need to apologize for repeats!! I am usually not a root beer fan, but I LOVE IBC. YUM. Happy Friday!!!

  3. kelli April 23, 2010 at 7:30 am #

    oh my goodness, i was late to work at least once a week, and i lived less than 10 minutes away! the social studies teacher put up a huge map up of the school and surrounding areas, then marked where each teacher lived. i was literally next to the school! did not look good for me, but luckily the principal was always late too. i’m just not a morning person!

Leave a Reply

