up in the air

2 Jun

Hello from the air!  We are currently en route to Atlanta where we’ll have a short layover and, and then we’ll be on our way to Barcelona.  So far it’s been a great trip and we haven’t even left the States yet.

We ended up getting to Dallas Sunday night at about 1 am.  Monday we had a fantastic day hanging out with my sister.  We hit up some of my favorite spots: Target, Central Market (like Whole Foods) and Lululemon!  I purchased my first pair of Lululemon pants, and I am stoked!  I’ve been eyeing them for some time, but we don’t have a store in OK so I had to wait.  I wore them on our flight today, and they are perfect for traveling!

We also ate quite well yesterday.  Surprisingly I wasn’t very hungry for breakfast, but I did end up snacking on an apple and some crackers and hummus before we left.

For lunch we hit up my sister’s favorite restaurant – Best Thai.  It was excellent.  Not only was the food to die for, but we had the cutest little Thai waitress.  She was pretty surprised when she first approached our table and Jon told her (in Thai) that we speak a little Thai.  It was fun and totally took me back to our time there.  I got a Vegetable dish with brown rice, and we all shared some veggie spring rolls – delish!

We had Mexican food for dinner, but unfortunately I didn‘t get a picture of my meal.  Jon and I split spinach enchiladas.  I did get a picture of this bean dip they served with the chips and salsa.  It was every bit as great as my sister had raved.
We went to Central Market primarily for travel food for our trip.  I knew I wanted some healthy food that I could eat on the flight (which I think is about 8 or 9 hours) as well as some snacks to have while we’re in Europe.  I basically try to avoid plane food altogether.  For the flight today I packed a brown rice cake and almond butter sandwich, 2 apples, some trail mix, a couple protein bars, and some Pirate’s Booty.  Not sure how much of it I’ll eat, but it’ll be there if I need it.

In our checked luggage I packed the rest of the rice cakes, almond butter, more Amazing Grass/Cliff/Lara bars and Annie’s chocolate bear cookies (cannot remember what they’re called!).

This morning we had to leave for the airport by 10am, so there wasn’t much time to do anything but get ready and pack.  I had picked up some Siggi’s Pomegranate Greek yogurt at Central Market yesterday, so I had that, a half of a sliced banana and some Kashi U sprinkled on. I may or may not have sprinkled a tiny bit of Jon’s chocolate chip trail mix in as well;) I have wanted to try Siggi’s for a long time, but it isn’t sold in our little city.  I think it tops my list as favorite yogurt now – it was so creamy and thick and had just a slight hint of flavor.  Love.

Well, I think that about wraps it up for now.  This flight has been a bit rocky, and I’m a little freaked out!  I think I’ll try to get some reading in for awhile. I’m currently reading Sarah’s Key by   as recommended by Jenna.  I’m really enjoying it so far…more on this to come!

***Update – We made it to Barcelona and have had an amazing first day!  I’m trying to track down an adapter for the outlet because my laptop is dying fast.  As soon as I find one I’ll be back!

2 Responses to “up in the air”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) June 2, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

    So cool – sounds like your vacation is off to an incredible start!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. our first look at Paris|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds - June 15, 2010

    […] I had planned meticulously for what I would eat on our flight from the states to Europe (see this post); however, it is a little bit harder to plan for travel in the middle of a trip.  So, I found […]

Leave a Reply

