our first look at Paris

15 Jun

We rose early in the morning to make our 10am flight to Paris.  I had planned meticulously for what I would eat on our flight from the states to Europe (see this post); however, it is a little bit harder to plan for travel in the middle of a trip.  So, I found myself scouring the airport for a decent breakfast option, and all I could come up with was this:

That’s right, a big hot bowl of spaghetti with marinara.  When McDonalds is the only other option, spaghetti at 9am starts to look decently appealing.  I have to admit, it was tasty:)

I ended up being thankful that I ate a heavy breakfast because once we arrived in Paris, it was about 7 hours before we ate again.  If you know me at all, you know that doesn’t fly.

We had decided instead of taking a cab from the airport to our hotel, we would take the train and then connect to the subway.  In theory this was a brilliant idea, and I can’t say we wouldn’t do it again, but it was rough.  We were on that train for over an hour, it was sweltering hot, and we went through really sketchy parts of the city.  Picture us crammed on this train with our suitcases and some questionable looking characters in 95 degree heat.  Not a happy Candice.  Then when we came up out of the subway, we had no idea where we were and spent another half hour at least trying to get to our hotel.   With two suitcases in tow.  Not a glamorous arrival for sure.

It ended up okay though, and at least we saved a lot of money….which we readily spent a week later taking a cab back to the airport;)  This girl can only “rough it” so much.  lol.

Once we got cleaned up at the hotel, our first stop was of course, the Eiffel Tower.

Hours later we finally made it to this cute little cafe.  Notice my “I’m smiling for the camera but I’m going to kill someone if I don’t get some food asap” smile.  It was definitely worth the wait, though.

I ordered this vegetarian plate which included a bagel, cream cheese, pesto, onions, pickles, artichoke hearts, sundried tomatoes and oil soaked eggplant, bell pepper and zucchini.  With a side of fries.  This plate was really phenomenal.  Or maybe I was just so hungry that anything would have been appetizing.  The only dilemma was how to go about eating this beautiful meal (the French put so much care into the presentation of food).  I ended up putting the cream cheese on the bagel, open faced, and then adding the veggies and a drizzle of pesto.  The next picture I’m showing not because it looks so mouthwatering, but so you can see why the waiter looked at me quite strangely the next time he came to our table.

I completely ruined the presentation, but at this point I was so famished I could have cared less.

Jon ordered a club sandwich with fries, and was happy as a clam.  By the way, did you know that in Paris a soda costs between 7 and 8 dollars if you order it from a restaurant?  Wine is cheaper than soda.

In case you haven’t noticed from my vacation recaps so far, Jon and I love to wander around new cities.  We almost always walk rather than take the subway if at all possible.  And we never take a cab.  We just want to see as much of the city as possible, and there’s no better way to do that than hoofing it everywhere we go!  The only downside is that we always end up walking at least 7 or 8 miles throughout the course of the day, and after day one of that our feet are screaming.  This trip was no different.  There were moments when I compared the pain to how my feet felt at the end of our marathon last spring. The upside is that it often makes for great photo ops!

Doesn’t this look like a backdrop?

And finally the Parisian Arc de Triomphe.  We’ve seen the Laotian version, we’ve seen the Spanish version.  And now we’ve seen the real deal.  As expected, it was the biggest, and quite possibly the most beautiful.

After our visit to the Arc, we continued walking along the Champs Elysee, which is one of the most famous streets in world and is the most expensive strip of real estate in Paris.  It’s saturated with high end shops and restaurants, and also serves as the final stretch of the Tour de France.  We splurged on a Starbucks drink, but wisely waited until a little later to grab a snack because it’s also one of the most expensive areas in Paris.

We didn’t wait long, however, before grabbing this delicious crepe.  We honestly aren’t big crepe people (probaby not many Americans are I guess:), but they are so popular in Europe, and we couldn’t resist having this cultural experience.  Obviously.

We passed by this extravagant government building that sat alongside the Seine river on our the way to our ultimate and final destination for the day.

The Louvre Museum.

Please stop back by later for the daily post and then tomorrow for a look inside the Louvre!

3 Responses to “our first look at Paris”

  1. Julie @ Pickley Pear June 15, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    I’m a new reader, looking forward to meeting you at HLS! I am SO jealous you are in Paris! A beautiful city, hopefully the people are cordial to you. I was there about 7 years ago for 2 days. Just beautiful. Enjoy the sights and eats!

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach) June 15, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    Oh I totally know that gonna kill for food look! Good thing it was a good meal huh??? Love the pictures and your recap. Thanks for taking the time to share!

  3. hihorosie June 15, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    Ah, it makes me wish I was there! All the pics are fabulous, food looks tasty and the sights well, those are just BEAUTIFUL! And I love crepes! Sign me up!

Leave a Reply

