a fun reunion

17 Jun

Hi!

Tonight’s post is going to be a quickie.  I have had a lot on my mind lately, resulting in a lack of productivity this evening.  O’well.

This morning Jon and I headed out early for a run – we finished about 3 miles (dead Garmin!) despite the heat, so I was perfectly happy with that.  We ended up on the college campus mid-run and took advantage of the fountain on library lawn by splashing it down our necks and backs.  Even the distance between the fountain’s pool and our bodies proved too far for the water to keep its coolness, but once we were off again, the breeze felt so refreshing on my damp skin.  Best part of the run:)

When we got back I sewed a couple of missing buttons onto Jon’s shirt, and he was out the door to work.  I made myself a quick green monster, then hit the shower.  I won’t bore you with pictures of my gm again.  It was delicious as usual, though, and got my morning off to an energetic start.

A few hours later, I fixed a little snack to tide me over until lunch.

Whole wheat pita stuffed with hummus, broccoli slaw and sprouts.  I have a serious crush on broccoli slaw right now. lol.  It adds a nice crunch to almost anything!

As mentioned this morning, I worked on getting our budget set up on mint.com.  I think I’ve got it pretty much figured out, but let’s just say that anything having to do with numbers budgeting eludes me so it’s going to take some practice.  Gotta start somewhere, though, eh?

Guys, I had the best time at lunch today.  Not only was my meal out of this world, but my company was even better. Let’s start with the food

I ordered the Veggie pita, which was a whole wheat pita, literally stuffed to the gills with grilled red pepper strips, romaine, onions, bell pepper, cucumber and tomato.  I asked for honey mustard on the side, which I later drizzled over the veggies.  With a side of fruit.  It was so much better than I anticipated!  I felt so great afterwards, too – don’t you love the feeling of being full on fresh, clean food?

I met Tracy many years ago when we were probably sophomores in college.  We were both English Education majors, and we both got placed at a school that was an hour’s drive away for our student teaching.  So, naturally we commuted together.  She was my saving grace during that time.  Those long drives to and from school were filled with venting, encouragment, advice and just good girl talk.  After college Jon and I moved away and now that we’re back she has moved.  We hadn’t seen each other in ages, and it was so refreshing to catch up.  I honestly love this girl, and seeing her made my day so bright.  She just got a job teaching English as a second language to sixth and seventh grades, and I know she is going to rock it!

When I got home I was craving a little somethin’ sweet, so I indulged in this piece of dark chocolate I had stashed away in the fridge.

Because Tracy and I couldn’t peel ourselves away from each other for almost three hours, I didn’t do much else before Jon got home from work.  We stuck to our favorite for dinner and whipped up some vegetarian burritos.

I started by sauteeing some green pepper strips and onions in some Mexican seasoning for about 5-7 minutes.  Meanwhile, I heated up some canned refried beans and cooked some brown rice.  Once everything was ready I simply spread a spoonful of refried beans around on the (heated) tortilla, sprinkled on some rice, added a layer of veggies and a sprinkling of soy cheese.  I then topped it all off with salsa, rolled it up and had a little fiesta in my mouth:)  Simply delicious.

Now that it’s after midnight, I’ve got to be off to bed.   I’m planning on going to Piyo tomorrow morning and may try to fit in some running on the treadmill as well.  We’ll see how it all pans out in the am.  Happy Friday!

Btw, I’m currently listening to a new album by Diane Birch, and I’m loving it!  If you haven’t checked her out, you definitely should!  Let me know what you think if you do;)

2 Responses to “a fun reunion”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) June 18, 2010 at 5:34 am #

    Wow, your food looks delish for the day. I love to be able to spend time with a great friend over great food and fantastic conversation. That’s my ideal day!

  2. Ali @ Redhead Reports June 18, 2010 at 6:00 am #

    Your vegetarian burritos look great!

    I’m jealous of your girlfriend-time. I just moved to a new city and I don’t know anyone 😦

Leave a Reply

