what a dad!

20 Jun

Yesterday we had such a great time.  My FIL has two favorite restaurants, so he very graciously let me choose between them for lunch. Between IHOP and Golden Corral, I went with GC and ended up being pleasantly surprised!

Have you ever been to a Golden Corrall?  If not, let me paint a quick picture for you.

Walk in.  Get drink.  Pay for buffet.  Find booth.  Go wander through the endless buffet.  Try to narrow choices down to what can fit on one, possibly two plates.  Sit down.  Eat said plates of food.  Go back for more if you’re so inclined. Try to narrow down from dozens of dessert options.  Eat said dessert.  Waddle out.

I ended up with two plates full and a side of fruit.  I was a bit nervous about finding healthy options, but there was no reason to be afraid.  Check it out.

Plate 1:  huge pile of romaine, green peppers, onions, zucchini, carrots, grilled red and yellow bell peppers, steamed baby carrots, steamed brussels (yay!) and a side of honey mustard dressing

Plate 2:  peas, corn, baked sweet potato w/pico, more steamed carrots, guacamole, best tasting roll ever

grapes, mandarin oranges, watermelon

I ate almost all of the salad, most of plate 2 minus about half the sweet potato and a good portion of the fruit.  Even though I had no room left, I managed to savor two bites of carrot cake, which was just meh, and two bites of apple cobbler with vanilla ice cream.  I’m sure you can imagine how I felt by this point….oh buffets.

We spent the afternoon going to bookstores and then, believe it or not, stopped for some froyo a bit later.  What can I say?  We gotta treat our dad right.

All in all we had such a fun time, and I am so thankful to have Brad in our life.  A few fun things about my FIL: he loves God, he loves to take random candid pictures, he is always there for us, he loves dots (the candy), the Beatles, golf and Ernest Tubb.

Thanks, Brad, for being such a great father and father-in-law.  We love you!

3 Responses to “what a dad!”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) June 21, 2010 at 5:27 am #

    well it’s good to know about the GC. I am always leery of stopping in to places like that. Glad you guys had a great time and so glad you have such a great FIL!

  2. Sarah June 21, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    Great post! I need to do one for my FIL next year I think 🙂

    Oh, and loving fruit and salads at the mo. xxx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010: a look back|ChiaSeedMe - January 3, 2011

    […] cousin’s 15th birthday, our friends welcomed their new baby boy into the world, we spent Father’s Day with dad McCoy in Oklahoma City at his second favorite restaurant,  I began to fall in love with yoga, I spent […]

Leave a Reply

