epic vegan chocolate chip cookies (enough said:)

22 Jun

Happy 2nd day of summer!   I failed to wish anybody a happy 1st day of summer yesterday, so I figure why not make up for it today?!  Honestly, summer is not my favorite season, and so far this one seems hotter than ever!  I stepped outside about an hour ago to water our flowers, and after a minute flat I was sweating profusely.  Ugh. I’m pretty sure the flowers appreciated it though:)

Woke up this morning and headed to the gym for Piyo.  The instructor today made the class ten times more intense than the other instructor I’ve had.  I have never gotten into yoga.  In fact, I went to my first yoga class only within the last year.  I think I love it.  And it loves me.  The last couple of weeks I’ve been going a lot more, and now I crave it all the time.  I think I’m going to have to get some DVDs or find some online bc my gym only offers three classes a week, only one of those being only yoga (not Piyo).

Breakfast was a green monster that was as delicious as it was ugly.  Don’t know what happened to the color, but I’m not happy about it!  This one contained 1 cup soy milk, 1/2 banana, 1 scoop Amazing Grass, 1 tbsp chia seeds, 1 tbsp peanut butter, the last of my spinach and 1 kale leaf.

There is the cutest little shop in our town, Peck’s Lodge, and in our early college years Jon and I frequented it so much that we became good friends with the owner.  This past week his mother passed away.  I never had the pleasure of meeting her, but the way Dan always talked about her I know she was lovely.  This morning we attended her funeral; it was a very meaningful service that really made me think about life and what’s important.  I was reminded that at the end of life, the kindness and love that a person showed to others is what’s remembered most.  It really made me think about how caught up I get in trivial things that don’t really matter in the end.  Always a good reminder.

Soon after I got home, I threw together some lunch

leftovers of this meal, with the addition of homemade guacamole

I also snacked on a few blue corn tortilla chips.

Now onto the good stuff. I bring you….

Epic Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies (adapted from here)

Yes…they were epic.

Ingredients

2 cups whole wheat flour
2 tsps baking powder
1/2 tsp.salt
vegan chocolate or carob chips – YOU decide how many!
1 cup raw sugar (I used sugar in the raw, but you could use turbinado etc)
1/2 cup canola or vegetable oil (I used canola)
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup water
1 flax egg (combine 3 tbsp water with 1 tbsp milled flaxseed in a sauce pan.  Simmer until it reaches egg-like consistency
about 1/2 to 1 tbsp of Agave (I didn’t measure)

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Mix flour, baking powder and salt in a medium sized bowl. Add chocolate/carob chips. Set aside.
3.  In a separate bowl mix vegan sugar and oil. Next add the vanilla and the water. Mix it well.  Add the wet mixture to the dry ingredients. Mix well.   Spoon onto an ungreased cookie sheet and bake for about 8-10 minutes.  I basically just checked mine every two minutes after the initial 10.  I think they ended up taking about 18 minutes.  Take them out while they are still a bit soft and gooey.  They will harden as they cool; however, these cookies stayed very soft!
4.  This batch made about 12-16 cookies.

My husband is a chocolate chip cookie connoisseur.  They are his absolute favorite, and they have to be just right.  On top of that, he is always honest with me about my vegan/healthy creations.  He doesn’t bat an eye when telling me how he really feels, even if he abhors whatever strange concoction I’ve invented.

He loves these!  While he says they don’t taste just like a regular non-vegan chocolate chip cookie, they are still delicious and satisfying.  I’ll take it!  Besides, he can’t stop eating them, so that’s enough proof for me:)

Make these…asap.

Still to come this week: two more Paris recaps (humor me if you’re tired of these) + review of my affordable and fantastic Waring Pro Juicer from Target.

See ya later!

5 Responses to “epic vegan chocolate chip cookies (enough said:)”

  1. kelli June 22, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

    the cookies look delicious – thanks for sharing the recipe!

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach) June 22, 2010 at 4:50 pm #

    Thanks for the recipe. Your wraps always look so good!

  3. Ali @ Redhead Reports June 23, 2010 at 7:37 am #

    I can’t wait to try this recipe – these cookies look so tasty!

    I love your Brooklyn glass, too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention http://chiaseedme.com/?p=1130utm_sourcepingback -- Topsy.com - June 22, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by . said: […]

  2. 2010: a look back|ChiaSeedMe - January 3, 2011

    […] we spent Father’s Day with dad McCoy in Oklahoma City at his second favorite restaurant,  I began to fall in love with yoga, I spent time with my mom and step-dad in the city with shopping and eating mexican food and then […]

Leave a Reply

