say cheeeeze!

24 Jun

Gooood morning!  I was up and at ’em fairly early this morning – I’m meeting my mom in the city to hang out for the day, and I have to leave in t-minus 20 minutes.  eek!

Jon and I got in a good, strong 2.5 mile walk this morning.  We set out with intentions to run, but were such chatty Cathys the whole time that we ended up walking.  I dare say that going on walks with my husband is one of my favorite things in life.  I think I’ll try to slip in some online yoga tonight…I’ll letcha know which video I end up using, but I’m thinking maybe this, which was suggested to me by Maggie via Heather.  Thank goodness for blog friends, right?!

Last night I went to my power yoga class, and by the time I got back home it was after 7, and I was famished.  I decided to whip up this little recipe for Vegetable Couscous + Cheeze Sauce that I had seen on Angela’s site a couple of days ago.

I followed Angela’s recipe, but I did make a few adjustments.  First off, I halved the recipe because I was running low on nutritional yeast; I still had leftovers.  Also, I had to keep adding water as I stirred the cheeze sauce because it kept getting too thick.  In the end, I still would have liked it a little thinner and will likely add more water next time I make it.  Thirdly, I used about half the hummus and half the Earth Balance.

For veggies, I used sauteed broccoli sprouts, chopped carrots, chopped onions and chopped bell pepper.  Lastly I sprinkled ground red pepper over the top before I inhaled ate it.

All in all it was just as amazing as Angela raved.  I will definitely make this again, and I’m super stoked to have leftovers of the sauce awaiting me in the fridge.  muahaha.

I also treated myself to a side of steamed broccoli:)

Okaaayyy, now that I am officially 5 minutes late already, I gotta jet.  Sorry mom!

See you guys later!

6 Responses to “say cheeeeze!”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) June 24, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    Dinner looks great. Love steamed broccoli – simple but good. Have a great day!

  2. kelli June 24, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    hehe, i love how you blog even when in a rush. so loyal you are to us!=)

    your couscous looks phenomenal. i’ve been looking at food blogs and my belly is yelling at me – “stop teasing me and feed me NOW!”=)

  3. Sarah June 24, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    Yum! Hope you had a great time with your mum x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. sleep, yoga, family and fresh veggies|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds - June 26, 2010

    […] a bit more and finally made it to my yoga mat.  I did this youtube yoga series that I mentioed in yesterday’s post. I really enjoyed this one.  I practiced a couple of poses I’ve never done before + I liked […]

  2. to nap or not to nap|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds - June 27, 2010

    […] green beans, spinach and edamame in a skillet.  I then added it to some leftover couscous from the other night and topped it all off with leftover “cheeze” sauce.  It was every bit as delicious […]

  3. Sticky Finger Plant — Oh She Glows - July 13, 2010

    […] Couscous and cheeze and here […]

Leave a Reply

