sleep, yoga, family and fresh veggies

26 Jun

Hey friends!  Time for me to play major catch up.  I have been MIA all day – today flew by!  Jon and I pulled our usual stunt by falling asleep on the couch last night and waking up at 2 am with cricks in our necks. lol.  Off to bed we went, where our smart little pup was already curled up in a tight little ball fast asleep.  She looked at us like a mother looks at her teenager coming in past curfew.

Because of our late night shenanigans, we slept in until about 10:30.  When I woke up, ma belly was calling for some food!

Peach flavored soy yogurt hiding under raw oats, sliced almonds, dried cranberries and Puffins!  This was my first time to try the peach, and it was a win!  It even had little slivers of peach in it.  Yum!

One of my biggest struggles with going vegan has been giving up Greek yogurt.  I’m a big fan of plain yogurt, and I cannot find plain flavored soy yogurt in our little city:(  Last week I did sneak in a few servings of plain Greek yogurt and it was heaven.  Oh, how I miss it.

After paying some bills and other adult like tasks, we headed to the gym.  I did about 2.5 miles running/walking, but mostly running.  I have currently misplaced my iPod (boo!), so I watched a documentary about conjoined twins, which was rather interesting….and impressive.  It definitely served as a great distraction!

Lunch couldn’t come fast enough after we got home because it was already 2:30!  I threw together a black bean burger pita.

whole wheat pita, hummus, Morningstar black bean burger, spinach, broccoli slaw crunch!, onions, pickles, ground red pepper, tobasco sauce!

Yoga time!

After lunch, I piddled around the house a bit more and finally made it to my yoga mat.  I did this youtube yoga series that I mentioned in yesterday’s post. I really enjoyed this one.  I practiced a couple of poses I’ve never done before + I liked the way she flowed through the poses at a fairly quick pace.  I still have so much to learn, but the more I learn the more I love 🙂 I do have to say that today was nothing like participating in a yoga class, unfortunately.  Oh how I wanted it to be at least almost as good, but it just wasn’t.  Don’t get me wrong, it was worth doing, and I definitely appreciated it for what it was, but it just wasn’t anything compared to being in a live class.  Surprise, surprise, right?

The rest of our night was spent hanging out with these guys again

Ironically, this picture is recycled from last year; however, we did go to Orange Leaf tonight as well.  It looks like somebody was also wearing the same shirt tonight (see below)…I’m not sayin’ any names;) Also, I may or may not have had yogurt the last three days in a row.  *sheepish grin*

We also ate some din din of course.

I stuck with my old favorite – fajita pita with beans instead of meat, hold the sauce, add a side of salsa, steamed veggies instead of fries.  poor waitress:)

The best part about them coming up is that they brought me these

My mom’s husband has a garden and they brought me fresh grown corn and green beans!  I was just ranting to Jon this morning about how we don’t have a very good/extensive farmer’s market or any way to get homegrown veggies, aside from planting our own garden.  Then lo and behold I got my own little delivery.  yay!!  These will definitely be hitting the blog this week.  I’m super stoked!

Sleep, yoga, family and fresh veggies – doesn’t get much better!

I just noticed that some of my favorite meals/snacks have been quite elusive on the blog the last couple of days, so I’ll leave you with some tasty pics!

stir fried cauliflower, spinach, corn, peas in pesto sauce over brown rice – oooh, hot and steamy

smear of pb and sliced banana atop a Van’s whole grain lite waffle…truly blissful.

Friday night cheeseless veggie pizza (x3)

I hope everyone is having a rockin’ weekend!  I’ll see you tomorrow!

Have you ever tried yoga?  Why or why not?  Do you think yoga has to become a lifestyle?  Or do you think it can just be isolated physical activity?

Do you have any “at home” yoga that you love?

I would love to hear your thoughts!!!!

Oh, shoot.  I almost forgot this!  welcome to our home, little mobile🙂

8 Responses to “sleep, yoga, family and fresh veggies”

  1. Callie @ Callieflower Kitchen June 27, 2010 at 4:50 am #

    Are those the cinnamon Puffins? I’ve only had the peanut butter kind, but I always feel like I should grab some cinnamon ones when I pass by in the grocery store 🙂

    I love the pesto stir fry idea! I’m not a huge stir fry fan, but I think pesto could lure me into trying one 😉

    I do free yoga on Sunday mornings at Lululemon because I can’t afford a real yoga studio membership along with a regular gym membership. I’ve been considering trying some of the YogaDownloads videos, but I just don’t think the atmosphere would be the same as a class 😦

    PS. Love the haircut, it looks so cute on you!!

    • candice June 27, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

      Aww, thanks Callie! And thanks for visiting CSM:) They are the cinnamon Puffins…I haven’t tried the pb ones, but they are on my list!

      I pine for Lululemon. The closest one to me is about 4 hours – ouch! Hope you have fun at yoga!

  2. Grace June 27, 2010 at 6:14 am #

    First of all, I love the mobile. It’s so y’all!

    Second, do you know about the Oklahoma Food Coop? I haven’t personally ordered from it, but I know people who have and they love it! You basically buy online direct from Oklahoma farmers and then they deliver the order all over the state (including to our little town)! I was impressed with what all they had for sale. Here’s the link: http://www.oklahomafood.coop/.

    And I last, I’m so sad because I cant do our weekly lunch this week! I had to move my Wedesday night clients to during the day because I have a job interview that I can’t wait to tell you about… Hope we get to talk about it at church today!

    • candice June 27, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

      I don’t know about the Oklahoma coop! How have I missed it? I’ll be checking out that website asap! That’s exactly what I’ve been wanting.

      So sad our date has to be cancelled, but I totally understand. And I can’t wait to hear about your interview! yay!

  3. Sarah June 28, 2010 at 12:29 am #

    I LOVE yoga, seriously love it. i’ve been practising for about a year now- both at home and in class. I do iyengar yoga which i find to be more of an exercise form than a spiritual matter. which type of yoga have you been trying? x

  4. Jonathan June 28, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

    I was a skeptic over the broccoli slaw in the pita you made me for lunch… but I gotta hand it to you, it was pretty delicious. You might just make a vegetarian out of me one of these days.

    • candice June 28, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

      yay! I’m workin’ on it… love u:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. what does “food with integrity” mean to you?|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds - July 7, 2010

    […] green beans – straight from my mom and step-dad’s garden.  Sauteed in olive oil with chopped onions, garlic powder, sea salt and black pepper.  To die for.  I’m not even kidding.  Thank you mom and Clark:) […]

Leave a Reply

