going "home"

6 Jul

I’m baaaaaccckkkk!

How was everyone’s weekend?  I hope you got to spend some time with family and friends or at least get a little extra rest in over the long weekend.

I had a great weekend hanging out with my family.  My grandparents have a cabin at the lake, and we’ve been going down there for vacation since I was born, but Jon and I haven’t been in several years.  It was a bit like going home after a really long time away.  So sweet.

Here’s a quick picture recap of the weekend

My step-dad’s birthday was Saturday, so I attempted to make cookies and have them ready when he and my mom arrived.  Unfortunately, the baking soda we packed had less than half as much as we needed, the oven at our cabin is on the splits, and this cookie sheet…well, you can see it for yourself.  FAIL

My great-grandparents built this cabin in 1960 (give or take a couple years:).  Even though it’s old and a bit small, it holds so many special memories and we love it.

Olive isn’t quite sure how she feels about the lake yet

my sister, my mom and me

my sis and I

skiing under the beautiful blue sky

Olive and her cousin, Bentley

fireworks over the lake

our little cabin:)

work hard, play hard, right?

she knows how to tell us when it’s time to head home

Happy 4th of July from our family to yours!

Today has been a little slow…and it has actually been quite nice!  For some reason, despite my laid-back weekend, I am exhausted! Plus, it has been storming off and on all day; Olive and I have been a bit lazy.  My afternoon appt. with Mohammad even got cancelled.  He called to say it wasn’t a good time for him because of the rain. lol.  So endearing to me because the Thais used to do stuff like that all the time.  love it:)

I did manage to make it to Piyo this morning, and got quite a workout!  The more I practice piyo, the more I love it.

For breakfast I threw together a yogurt bowl

whole soy peach yogurt, 1/3 cup raw oats, frozen cherries and chia seeds!

And just a few hours later I was ready for lunch

Amy’s split pea soup with black pepper and sea salt

Ezekiel toast with Sabra roasted garlic hummus and a sprinkle of chia seeds

Don’t forget about the giveaway coming up in celebration of my 100th post!  Details are soon to come…

What did you do over the weekend?

5 Responses to “going "home"”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) July 6, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

    Awww, love the pictures!!! Sounds like a truly lovely way to spend a weekend! We had a pool party on Saturday and my sis stayed the night then my mom came up for lunch on Sunday. Family and friends = perfect weekend.

    • candice July 7, 2010 at 8:37 am #

      So true. It’s funny how it doesn’t matter what you’re doing…if you’re with family and friends it’s always a good time:) Glad you had a great weekend!

  2. Sarah July 7, 2010 at 1:18 am #

    Love the photos- looks like you had an awesome time. Probably much-needed 🙂

    I joined the gym on the weekend! So exciting. Can’t wait to get my heart-rate up a bit. xxx

    • candice July 7, 2010 at 8:36 am #

      I’m so excited that you joined the gym! Way to go! What are you planning on doing? Treadmill? Classes? Weights? A little bit of everything?

      I don’t usually have a specific plan when I go to the gym, but sometimes I think it would be better if I did. What do you think?

      • Sarah July 7, 2010 at 9:20 am #

        Thanks!

        I have an awful track record with the gym- ie paying for a monthly subscription then never going. So, I thought to start with i’d set my sights low and just commit to going twice a week to do 30 mins cardio sessions (probably the eliptical as I love it). Then, if I feel inspired I’ll mix it up and do more. I know myself, and I know I don’t respond well to pressure when it comes to exercise 🙂 So, maybe my new formula will mean that this time i’ll make good use out of my gym membership…

        re. gooseberries, I think a farmer’s market is probably the best bet. I’m not sure that i would buy them again but def worth a try! xxx

Leave a Reply

