baby cuteness

9 Jul

Morning!

Yesterday ended up being a whirlwind of a day.  I made a last minute decision to hop on the road and go visit my family for a couple of hours.  My baby cousin, whom I see very rarely, was in town so everyone was gathering at my grandma’s to hang out.

I was able to get a few things accomplished before I left as well as hit up a new class at the gym – turbokick.  It was my first time to try this one, and I really liked it.  If any of you have ever tried turbo jam by Chalene Johnson – it’s the live class version of that.  I’ve done turbo jam about a million times, so turbokick wasn’t entirely new to me, but they’ve added in a lot of new moves since I bought my DVDs.  I think I’ll probably go back…it gave me a really good workout to say the least!

Anyway, here are some pics from the day

Breakfast before Turbokick – Greek yogurt, 1/3 cup raw oats, the last of the frozen cherries and chias

Midmorning snack – brown rice cake with the last of my almond butter:( I think I need to run to the store

Lunch – spinach lavash wrap (love these!), Morningstar black bean burger (not vegan btw) Sabra garlic hummus, broccoli slaw and spinach

Afternoon snack at my grandma’s – watermelon!! Seedless watermelon!

I also had an unpictured apple pie Larabar on my drive back home

Dinner last night was also unpictured because I figured you guys don’t need to see enchiladas yet again on CSM.  I promise we didn’t actually make them again last night…we had leftovers; however, not promising we wouldn’t have made them had there not been leftovers;) What can I say?

Well, I’m off to piyo class! I’ll be laying low, working at the house today until I meet Mohammad for tutoring.

Don’t forget to stop by and enter the chia seed giveaway!  If you haven’t tried them before, I promise you’ll love ’em…what’s not to love?

Have you tried chia seeds before?  Tell me what you’re favorite way is to eat them!
If you haven’t had them before, what would you do with them if you win?



8 Responses to “baby cuteness”

  1. Rhea (Greek Feaster) July 9, 2010 at 7:17 am #

    BABY!!! Be still, my ovaries 😀 Seriously, look at that chub! So cute.
    I can’t believe how green that wrap is! It’s like… St. Patrick’s Day green.

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach) July 9, 2010 at 7:29 am #

    Hey girl – I have not tried any of Chalenes workouts. I have a friend who has the new Turbo Fire workouts and LOVES them. May need to suck it up and spend the money on them. Hope you have a great day. Oh, and if I win those darn chia seeds, I’m going straight to the Chia Seed Queen herself (you) for recipes!

    • candice July 9, 2010 at 8:38 am #

      I haven’t heard of Turbo Fire. I might have to check those out!

      Other than the usual factor of getting bored with DVD’s after awhile, I loved Turbo Jam. The music is fun and Chalene is really motivating.

      haha..chia seed queen:) If you click on “chia seeds” in my tag cloud, you’ll find some ways to use them! They’re all pretty basic.

  3. amber@SAHM's musings July 9, 2010 at 7:46 am #

    Cute chubby baby legs! If I won the chia seeds I’d be hopping back to your blog and google other sites as to what to do with them 🙂

    • candice July 9, 2010 at 8:40 am #

      Aren’t they, though?! lol.

      There really is a ton of info out there, but if you click on “chia seeds” in my tag cloud you’ll find some suggestions from other posts. I’m also working on a tab for chia seed info and suggestions for using them.

      • amber@SAHM's musings July 9, 2010 at 9:10 am #

        I was wondering if you have any recommendations for books or cookbooks?

      • candice July 9, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

        Sure! I’m assuming you’re looking for food/eating lifestyle books?

        One of my favorite books is The Eat Clean Diet Recharged by Tosca Reno. I like it because it isn’t really a diet…it’s just about focusing on clean eating and addresses tons of important topics such as the basics of metabolism, eating clean on-the-go and in social situations, exercise, superfoods, longevity, cellulite, grocery shopping and much more! It also has meal plans and recipes for vegans, meat eaters etc..

        I would also recommend the book “In Defense of Food” and “Food Rules” by Michael Pollan. Really, any of Michael Pollan’s books are great.

        As far as cookbooks, I don’t use many because I usually just throw together ingredients; two that I have used are The Vegan Cook’s Bible by Pat Crocker and Tosca Reno’s book (mentioned above).

        Other cookbooks that I’ve heard about and would love to try are Eat, Drink and Be Vegan by Dreena Burton and Veganomicon by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero.

        Obvs. several of these books are vegan – I don’t know if you’re interested in veganism at all, but there are some great recipes in these that even meat eaters would love! If you’re looking for recipes that involve meat, stick to the Tosca Reno book.

        Lastly, Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay is a great non-fiction book I read recently. Just thought I’d throw that in there:)

        Hope that helps! Let me know if you have any other questions!

  4. Matt Greacen July 10, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    The Aztecs called Chia Seed Running Food. We thought it would be appropriate that our brand be called the same. We take the best sources of chia seed and Micro-Mill the seed which creates no temperature change and no pressure to effect the nutritional properties of the seed. The benefit is 100 x the bioavailability of the nutrition locked inside. Please look at our website. We have lots of fun things being added daily and our charities will include Gulf Relief funds and monies to support the Tarahumara Indians and preserving this precious ancient culture.

    Regards,

    Matt

Leave a Reply

