knowledge is power

20 Jul

It seems that the Candwich got quite a rise out of you guys this morning!  Can you even believe it?  What will they come up with next?  It really just made me sad when I first saw it.  It seems that there is sometimes no concept of understanding in our country about how to eat healthy food that is medicine to the body rather than poison.

After I posted this morning, I was on the Candwich website, and there is a video of an Australian morning show interviewing the CEO of Candwich.  One particular question they asked him was what the nutrition profile was of this new product.  My ears perked up!  He replied “well, it has about 450 calories once you put it all together.”

Doh.

That’s it.  That’s the only nutritional info he felt was important to provide.


What about the ingredients?
Or how much protein?
Or what about how much sodium??

Nada.  Just 450 calories.  What a deal, right?

One thing I just learned in the past couple of years is how to read ingredient lists.  In the past I would never even look at the ingredient list on products…I just went by whatever the product said on the front.  Scary!  Now I always check out the ingredient list on any product before I even think about buying it.  You’d be amazed at what’s in some of the stuff we are so accustomed to eating! Even things as simple as peanut butter have sugar and oils that you don’t even think about.  Btw…Smucker’s Natural Peanut Butter is my favorite!  And I’m not getting paid to say that 😉

Basically, if you can’t pronounce it…you don’t want to put it in your body! Always go for ingredients that are whole foods…as close to the ground as possible.  And really…it’s always best to just skip the middle aisles in the store as much as possible and stick to the perimeter for fresh produce and whole foods.

Rant over.

As I’ve mentioned, Jon and I are really trying to cut down on our budget.  You know, since I quit my job and all;)

Anyway, we’re trying not to go to the grocery store until the end of the month, even though we are out of almost everything!  So I decided to challenge myself tonight by creating a dish using only the random ingredients we had in the cabinets.

The result?

The thing that comes to mind as I post this pic is a song I often attach to certain things I love…and sing it loud…all around the house.  Drives Jon crazy. muahahaha 🙂

I’d sing it for you if I could.  Actually I could post a video…but I’d like to have you guys hang around for awhile.  So, I won’t.

But this meal was simple.  Simply EPIC that is!

Ingredients

8 – 10 red potatoes
1/2 large onion
1 cup frozen edamame
1 tbsp chia seeds
1 can diced tomatoes, drained (or fresh if you aren’t lazy like me:)
3 tbsp evoo (extra virgin olive oil)
1/2 tbsp seasoned salt
1/2 tbsp basil
1 tsp rosemary

Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 400 degrees
3.  Cut potatoes into small, bite-sized pieces and place in large casserole dish
4.  In a small bowl, mix olive oil, seasoned salt, basil and rosemary
5.  Pour oil mixture over potatoes and stir until potatoes are coated
6.  Chop onion into medium sized pieces and add to dish.  Stir well.
7.  Add tomatoes, frozen edamame and chia seeds.  Stir well.
8.  Roast for approximately 30 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes until potatoes are soft.

Serve alongside your favorite steamed veggie!  Makes about 4 – 6 servings.

The one problem is that I can’t seem to come up with a name for this dish.  I’m stumped!  Any ideas??

I also snacked on a slice of Ezekiel bread with natural peanut butter about an hour befor din.

Well, I’ve gotta hit the mat and get some PiYo practice in before bed tonight.  I hope you all are having a lovely week so far!

What do you think I should name my potato dish?

Do you pay a lot of attention to ingredient lists?  What caused you to start thinking about what was in your food rather than just trusting the slogan on the front of the box?

On that note, have you read In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan?  I love this book, and I really think it is crucial for everyone to read.  It made me really understand how twisted the food system in our country is.  Not to be a negative Nancy, but we have to watch out for and take care of ourselves! Ya know?

8 Responses to “knowledge is power”

  1. Mandiee July 20, 2010 at 8:48 pm #

    I totally agree with you on ingredient lists! I think it is a lot more important where something comes from, rather than what the fat, calories, etc. are. For example, diet foods are usually labeled as low fat, but they are stripped of all their nutrients and are definitely not what mother nature intended, whereas whole foods may be higher is certain things, but they will also keep us fuller and better fueled than impostors. I try to eat as many whole foods as possible, usually centering my meal around veggies, with a grain and beans/lentils/tofu/tempeh to round it out. I barely eat any added sugar now and have come to like foods less seasoned; my palate is definitely more attune to the natural flavors of food.

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  2. Sarah July 21, 2010 at 1:04 am #

    Just read about the Candwich- crazy!!!!! Remind why the developed world is getting fat again 😛

    I think you should call your dish “A taste of Italy” because of the toms and seasoning. It sounds yummy!

  3. Heather (Where's the Beach) July 21, 2010 at 6:06 am #

    Italian Style Potatoes.

    So many people just think of food in terms of calories. It only has x number of calories so it’s ok to eat. They don’t think about protein, fats, sugars, etc.

  4. I love the idea of eating what you have. I had the bad habit of going to the grocery store way too often and spending too much money (and throwing items away!) Now I try to improvise and cook with whats in the fridge/freezer/cupborad right now.

    I haven’t read the Pollan book but have heard good things and really want to.

  5. Kat (Bubble Gum Gym Kat) July 21, 2010 at 7:43 am #

    That book is next on my read list

  6. Kenzie (Healthy Purpose) July 21, 2010 at 8:04 am #

    i love when i manage to create an awesome meal out of bits and pieces all over the kitchen! I feel so creative and thrifty (just about every other Thursday).

  7. Traffic Siphon April 9, 2011 at 3:15 am #

    This web page can be a walk-through for all the information you wished about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse right here, and also you’ll definitely discover it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. i’m in love|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds - July 21, 2010

    […] stash is runnin’ low!!  No more juice until I make a trip to the store:(  And as I told you yesterday, that may be awhile…unless we break […]

Leave a Reply

