i'm in love

21 Jul

While this girl slept in this morning…

…Jon and I went for a quick run.  The Garmin was acting kind of goofy this morning, so I’m not sure about the stats.  What I do know is that it was hot…and sticky.  But it felt great once we got back into the a/c!  I’m not sure how we survived without it when we lived in Thailand.  It’s funny because I don’t remember it bothering me all that much.  I guess it’s all about perspective and what you’re used to!

For breakfast I made a new juice

1 beet, 1 apple, 1 pear, 1 large carrot and a small handful of blackberries

My stash is runnin’ low!!  No more juice until I make a trip to the store:(  And as I told you yesterday, that may be awhile…unless we break down.

I wanted to show you guys what it looks like right after it comes out and before I pour it into a glass.  I get giddy watching it come out because it’s so pretty! I gaze longingly into the cup…and my heart skips a beat.

Okay, now I’m scaring myself.

Back away from the juice, Candice.

Can you see me?

nice stems.  ow ow!

I kid. I kid.

If you missed my juicer review, don’t forget to check it out.  You won’t be sorry!

This morning I’m spending some time working on PiYo.  You see, getting the certification was the easiest part.  Now it’s time to actually put together a class.  I’m not gonna lie to you guys – it’s intimidating! Don’t get me wrong, I’m super excited about it.  But before I can teach I have to memorize the poses, the cueing for modifications and what to say to guide students through the poses.

PiYo is very flexible (in more ways than one!) in that you can either use one of the pre-choreographed lessons the company already created, or you can put together your own sequences of poses.  I keep leaning toward putting together my own so I can use the poses that I love the most, but it’s all a little overwhelming, and I think just learning the pre-choreographed class would be easier to begin with.  Ahh!

Succeeding in your dreams is all about pushing through when things are scary or hard.  And I’ll be the first to tell you that it’s scary and hard when you step out to pursue something that you love.  I used to think it’d be easy, but it’s not.

I’m starting to change my perspective to look at intimidating challenges as a chance to get that rush from accomplishing something that you didn’t think you could accomplish rather than backing down when fear rears it’s ugly head.

Well, I gotta run.  I’m meeting a friend for lunch today, and I’m cuttin’ it close!  See you all later on:)

How do you tend to handle fear and intimidation?  Are you good at tackling challenges head on?

5 Responses to “i'm in love”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) July 21, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    I’d like to think I’m great at facing challenges, but I’m not. I talk myself right out of things.

  2. Callie @ Callieflower Kitchen July 21, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    Ooh more juice! Thanks for the link to your review before – I’m actually going to be heading down to the States this weekend so I might need to check out Target to see if they have them in stock. Not that I need to spend more money on kitchen stuff… but you know how it is 😉

    That’s a good way to look at challenges – I usually have a hard time getting over the first hump, but the feeling of accomplishment is so great! I’m sure you’ll be a great PiYo instructor 🙂

    • candice July 21, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

      Aw, thanks for the vote of confidence!

  3. Sarah July 21, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    I’m sooooo excited about my juicer which is arriving tomorrow! I can’t wait to get into vegetable juices. Your juice looks so bright and colourful. I’ve just been to the supermarket to stock up on beets etc to juice tomorrow when it arrives. Can you tell i’m excited??? 😛

    I love seeing you grow in confidence and contentedness. High-five! If there’s one thing that I’ve learnt through being a nursing student is to just embrace challenges rather than fear them. Totally worth the initial nervousness rather than runnning away from new things that make us uncomfortable. Ok, i’ve blabbed on enough! Hope you’ve had a great day xxx

    • candice July 21, 2010 at 8:33 pm #

      Yea! I totally understand your excitement. Beets are one of my favorites! Can’t wait to see your creations:)

      Thanks so much for the encouragement. I totally agree about it being worth the nervousness because we’ll never get anywhere in life if we back down every time something gets difficult or scary.

Leave a Reply

