the mailman = my best friend

22 Jul

The mail man is my new best friend!!

Yesterday when I got home from tutoring, a much anticipated package had been dropped off.

Jon and I have had our DSLR camera for about 4 months now, and I still don’t really know how to use it.  I mean, I shoot using the manual setting, but oftentimes it’s just a shot in the dark (on more than one level:) on whether or not it comes out a good photo.  I’ve been wanting to take a photography class since we got our camera, and now that I’m working part time helping Jonathan with Outbox, I have an even greater urgency to improve my photog skills:)

Enter Nicole Hill Gerulat. Nicole is the writer and photographer of A Little Sussy, and she offers online photography courses.  I signed up to take a month long course throughout August to learn everything from lighting to staging to the inner workings of my camera and beyond!  I am beyond stoked about it…and I’m counting the days ’till August! Nicole writes the reference book herself, and I jumped for joy when it came in the mail.  The front cover makes you want to just devour it!

Also causing me to literally jump for joy was the sweet mail man’s delivery when I got home from Turbokick today…

Okay, okay.  So he didn’t deliver this exactly.  But I went from picking the box up off the front porch to spiralizing a potato in about 12 seconds flat.  No time for photos, people…I had to get this baby going!!

I spiralized my little heart out.

First I made some curly fries for the husband.

I mixed up one tablespoon of olive oil + 1/2 tbsp of seasoned salt + a heavy sprinkle of ground red pepper.  After placing the fries in a gallon sized plastic bag, I poured in the oil and shook it like a mad woman.  Last, I dumped them out onto a greased cookie sheet, spread them out evenly and baked them for about 30 minutes at 375 degrees, flipping them ever 10 minutes or so.

I think I could go into business making curly fries for my husband.  He LOVED them!

S is for spiralizer!

Next I made some zucchini noodles.

I was planning on eating them raw, but as I was putting the potatoes in the oven, I got the bright idea to soften them up a bit by adding a sprinkle of kosher salt and black pepper and baking them for about 20 minutes at 375 degrees.

Then I topped them with some leftover Easy Vegan Crock-pot Pasta Sauce.

Eeek (said in high pitched squeaky voice:)!!

with a side of plain soy yogurt and fresh blackberries

Best. lunch. eva.

CSN stores sent me this spiralizer, and I’ll be doing a full review soon!  I promise…you’ll be wanting one by the time I get done with you:)  And you wanna hear the best news?  I’m going to be giving one away!

I’m off to get some work done….see you guys later on!

Have you ever taken photography classes?  Is that something you’d be interested in?
Have you ever used a spiralizer or eaten anything created by using one?  What did you think?

7 Responses to “the mailman = my best friend”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) July 22, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    I would love to take photography classes now that I’m blogging. It’s not anything I would have thought of before. I don’t have a spiralizer, but want one so bad. I love the idea of baking the zucchini “pasta” to soften it up. I have plans to make zucchini pasta of some sort either tonight or Sunday night. Will definitely try baking.

    • candice July 22, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

      fyi…I just updated my post because I forgot to mention I’ll be giving away a spiralizer in the next couple of months!

  2. amber@SAHM's musings July 22, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

    What a sweet little kitchen tool. I love kitchen stuff. Which btw I was at Target last night and checked out the juicer. Still on sale (at least for this week). It was definitely tempting…

    I was wondering where you buy a lot of your health food stuff? Do you buy it in your town or go to Edmond or online? I’m having a hard time finding a Van’s waffle or Ezekial bread in my neck of the woods.

    • candice July 22, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

      I buy a lot of my health food at Food Pyramid here in Stillwater. If they don’t have it, I go to our little local health food store here, but it’s always more pricey, and while I love to support small business, my budget doesn’t like it quite as much:)

      In OKC/Edmond I always hit up Akin’s Natural Food Market. There is one at 63rd and May and also right across the turnpike from Quail Springs mall. They have pretty much anything I ever need. Is that close enough to you?

      Also, did you know that Whole Foods is coming to OKC??? I don’t think it’s coming until 2011, but I’m so excited!!

      Hope that helps!

      And let me know if you get a juicer!

  3. Rhea July 22, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    Whoa! I have been wanting a spiralizer for ages. Seems sort of duplicative now, what with my mandoline, but the shapes are so FUN!! Those curly fries look tasty, and I bet my man would like ’em, too 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. s s s spiralizer – a review|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds - July 28, 2010

    […] Remember this? […]

Leave a Reply

