help a girl out!

25 Jul

Good morning!

Yesterday Jon and I slept in and then went a did some shopping around town.  Krazy days is going on right now, which is a weekend in our town where all the shops have huge sidewalk sales.  We didn’t buy anything, but it was fun to wander around a bit.

I spent most the rest of the day working on our budget/bills and looking for a dress for Healthy Living Summit.  I found a dress Friday night on the sale rack at White House Black Market.  I like it okay, but it was pretty pricey…even on sale.  I’m kind of torn about what kind of dress to get.  It’s a cocktail party, so I feel like I need a cocktail party dress; however, I really don’t want to pay $100+ for something that I probably won’t wear again.  On the other hand, it might be nice to have a fancy dress on hand just in case something comes up.  That way I can avoid being in this situation again, and having nothing to wear.

I’m really tempted to just buy a dress that is a bit less nice, but that I could wear more often.  Plus, I’m always in the market for a new cute dress – I love dresses! I really don’t want to be underdressed though! Here are some pictures of dresses I’m considering…what do you guys think?  Are you tired of hearing the word “dress” yet?  ha.

This is the one I bought Friday night.  I like the way it fits and all, but I just don’t love it and again, not sure if I’ll really wear it again

This one is from Modcloth.  It’s quite a bit less dressy, and I don’t completely love it.  BUT – it’s $28!

I really like this one from Modcloth, but it might not be dressy enough.  It’s a little more pricey, but I definitely would wear it again.  It’s in my top two favorites.

This one is from Modcloth and I originally saw it on Jen’s site.  I love the style, but it’s a little short in length.  It seems that many Modcloth dresses are quite short.


Also from Modcloth.  Adorable – but also on the short side (25 inches from top of bust to hem)!

I like this one from Anthropologie.  It’s the most expensive and still not as dressy as the black. Some reviews said the gray color of the lace made it less dressy.   But I could wear it a lot.

Okay, so you see the dilemma?  lol.  There are actually several from Modcloth that I would snatch up in a heartbeat, but they’re out of stock (of course, right?!).  I’m supposed to receive an email when they’re back in stock, but Healthy Living Summit is in 3 weeks, so I don’t exactly have time to wait!

I have to run so we’re not late for church, but I just wanted to get your opinions!  Help a girl out! 🙂

I’ll be back a little later with some eats and some race talk.  Yep, race talk:)

Hope you’re having a great Sunday morning!!

4 Responses to “help a girl out!”

  1. Rhea July 25, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    I vote for the ivory or black and white dresses from Modcloth! They are stunnahs for sure.

  2. amber@SAHM's musings July 25, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    I like the ivory from modcloth or the anthro dress. Get something that you’re going to feel fabulous in. Chances are you’ll be stunning no matter how dressy b/c you will feel confident. And when you feel great about what you wear chances are you will wear it again (or find reasons to wear it again) 🙂 I think you can also dress up a dress with accessories and shoes so don’t sell these dresses short. BTW I needed a dressy dress and found a strapless one on sale at Banana Republic. (not this year) They are another good source when you hit ’em just right.

  3. Heather (Where's the Beach) July 25, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    I like the black one – maybe the right accessories would make you happier with it? But, if you really think you’d wear the one from Anthropologie many times – get that one!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. healthy living summit – livin it up!|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds - August 15, 2010

    […] I have to tell you guys about this dress since you were so sweet in helping me decide which one (s) to order.  I ended up ordering 3 of the dresses from Modcloth that I had posted – got them in the […]

Leave a Reply

