the last hoorah

26 Jul

This is true love.

I arrived home super late tonight after spending the first half of my day cleaning out my classroom and the last half at the orthodontist (for 3 hours!).  I was so happy to walk in and smell dinner cooking right away.  The husband really outdid himself this time:)

He made his and hers Mexican Casseroles by first lining a small glass baking dish with corn tortillas (2 per bowl). He then layered black beans (rinsed and drained), soy cheese, vegetarian refried beans, chopped tomatoes and onions, black beans, green chilis and a garnish of cheese.  These were delicious!  He baked them at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes…perfection:)

Today was so crazy!  I met my mom at my school this morning, so we could pack everything away.  They’ve already hired someone new to take over my position, which made me a little sad.  What did I expect, though…right??

Per the usual, it ended up being a much more time consuming job than we expected + the air conditioning was not running in my room, so by the time we finished several hours later, we were both famished and exhausted!

I know I’m a dork, but I commissioned my mom to take some pics of me in my room.  I spent SO much time there this past year…I just wanted to having something to remember it by!

It looks quite different because a lot of stuff had already been taken down and my desk had been cleared off, but it’ll still remind me of my room!  Can you see my “censored” poster in the background.  I’d hold it up over the T.V. during sketchy parts of movies – the kids got a pretty big kick out of it:)

And last but not least – there was lots of time spent here.

Anyway, cleaning out my room was the last thing to check off before officially signing off from my school.  It was a touch bittersweet leaving for the last time today.  Another chapter closed and a new one opened, eh?

Also, a special shout out to my mom for giving up one of her last days of summer to help me out.  I needed moral support, and I’m so thankful she was there!

I promise I did eat other stuff besides our little Mexican fiesta tonight – green monster this morning, larabar for a snack, Panera for lunch – but unfortunately I was in such a craze this morning that my eats escaped the camera.  And for some reason my lunch pictures turned out dark.  Sad!

On our marathon training schedule for today was cross training, so we took it easy by going on a 30 minute, 1.9 mile walk.  Nothing too intense, but it felt great to stretch our legs after yesterday’s 6 miler.  I’m still so excited about training – I woke up smiling about it first thing this morning!!

I hope you’re all having a great start to the week!

Question for today:
What are you most looking forward to this week?
I’m most looking forward to going to the lake on Wednesday and Thursday with my mom and sister.  We’re taking a girl’s trip as our last “hoorah” before they go back to school.  I’ll be scheduling some posts for those days – maybe the last couple of vacation recaps from Europe (better late than never!) and a spiralizer review!

10 Responses to “the last hoorah”

  1. Sarah July 26, 2010 at 11:19 pm #

    Love the photos and your next life chapter sounds exciting! Also looking forward to your spiralizer review (they’re amazing, right?) 🙂

    This week I am looking forward to wellness and visiting the inlaws in the welsh countryside. x

    • candice July 26, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

      Yeah, feeling serious love for the spiralizer. Not sure how I lived without it:)

      “This week I am looking forward to wellness and visiting the inlaws in the welsh countryside” – I love this! And the welsh countryside sounds so exotic to this little Oklahoman;) I must come visit your part of the world! Oh, and pictures will be expected!

      • Sarah July 26, 2010 at 11:34 pm #

        Gosh, it’s late in your part of the world!

        You’re the first person to call Wales exotic, for sure. But it is so beautiful and the countryside is so therapeutic to walk through and behold. Ok, i’m geeking out now. But, yes, you should def visit! I’ll take you to the best parts.

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach) July 27, 2010 at 8:12 am #

    Aw, that’s not dorky at all. I’m super sentimental like that too. I almost made the taco bowls last night! Those will likely happen on Thursday – but more of a salad. I am looking forward to (and freaking out about) my upcoming Cathe Road Trip. Flying totally freaks me out and this trip is going to be PACKED and insane.

    • candice July 27, 2010 at 10:16 am #

      Did you write a post about your Cathe Road Trip? I think I missed it somehow. I’ve heard you mention it several times, but I don’t have a grasp on what exactly you’ll be doing. I’m excited for you nonetheless!! Can’t wait to hear more about it:)

  3. amber@SAHM's musings July 27, 2010 at 9:11 am #

    Those taco bean bowls look yummy!!!! As for this week, I’m looking forward to celebrating my daughter’s 2nd b-day with a Hello Kitty swim party! I’m also looking forward to celebrating my niece’s b-day with some Hideaway pizza and Cuppies and Joe 🙂

    • candice July 27, 2010 at 10:17 am #

      sounds fun:) gotta love Hideaway pizza for sure:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The ants go marching | Vegetarian diet Blog - July 27, 2010

    […] the final hoorah|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with the … […]

Leave a Reply

