a positive negative

27 Jul

Good morning!

Jon and I stayed up way too late last night working on stuff.  Fortunately we were able to pull ourselves out of bed in time for a 3 mile run, per our marathon training plan.

I don’t like to be super rigid with a training plan, but most of the time following the plan we’ve chosen works for us.  There may be weeks where we rearrange our runs a bit to accommodate our schedule, but for the most part we like taking the guesswork out of it…and just stick to the plan!

As promised, I did figure out how to calculate splits on my Garmin.  It really wasn’t that hard; I’ve just never had the motivation to do it.  It was fun this morning, tracking each mile and trying to pick up our pace for the next mile.  We started out pretty slow, but we did manage to have negative splits!

Total time: 29:45
Average pace: 9:54
Fastest pace: 7:51

Splits
Mile 1– 10:21
Mile 2 – 10:01
Mile 3 – 9:23

After our run, I threw together 1/2 cup Greek yogurt, 1/4 cup raw oats, blackberries and blueberries.

I inhaled about half of this and then flew out the door to PiYo!

Just like yoga, PiYo is all about a mind/body connection.  And today my mind was on vacation.  Somewhere tropical, I’m thinking.

I was feeling very tired from our run, and my concentration was all over the place!  By the last 20 minutes or so I worked it out, though.  I was pretty excited to accomplish a couple of poses I’ve been working on

not perfect, but I’m getting there!

I’ve got a busy day ahead because I have to drive back to the city again for another orthodontist appointment.  This should be the last one….ever, though, so I’m excited about that! Also on the to do list for today is working on some Outbox stuff and working on PiYo.

My PiYo instructor asked me to cover her class next Friday, August 6th.  That will be my first class ever!! While I’m a little freaked out, I’m super excited!  I’m the type of person who will overthink things to a fault…and with this I know I just need to jump out there and DO IT!

Hope you all have a great day!

“Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgment that something else is more important than fear.”~Ambrose Redmoon

2 Responses to “a positive negative”

  1. Sarah July 27, 2010 at 11:14 am #

    Thank you for your prayers and kind words, my friend. They mean so much. Hope you have a beautiful day xxx

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach) July 27, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    I never thought to put oats on the yogurt. I always do granola or something like Kashi cereal. How exciting on the first class. Very cool.

Leave a Reply

