a crazy week: part I

2 Aug

I love books.  Aren’t books just amazing?

This morning I spent over two hours just looking at shelf upon shelf of books.  I first went to Hastings to see if by chance the Operation Beautiful book would be there already.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have any luck with that, but then I started browsing around and found a load of books I wanted to just sit down and soak up.

So, I booked it (pun intended:) to the public library.  Our public library is not super extensive, unfortunately, and I usually leave in disappointment.  While they didn’t have the specific reads I was trying to hunt down today, I was able to pick up a few good ones.  I came home with

The Positive Power of Negative Thinking by Julie K. Norem
Be Happy Without Being Perfect by Alice D. Domar and Alice Lesch Kelly
Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer
The Raw Food Detox Diet by Natalia Rose

I picked up each of these books for a different reason (obvs:) – and I’m looking forward to sharing those reasons and my thoughts on these books as I read them.

Something that really should have been noted on my confessions post last week is that I tend to hoard books.  I love to read so I accumulate books like crazy, and then it takes me forever to get through all of them.  I guess it’s not necessarily a bad problem to have, but sometimes it’s a bit overwhelming!

This morning started off with a trip to The Daily Grind (our local coffee shop) for an iced soy latte.  I failed to get a picture unfortunately, but the bland styrofoam cup wouldn’t have been too exhilarating anyway.

After I got home, I was about to eat my arm, so I fixed a quick mid-morning snack

brown rice cake slathered with natural peanut butter and topped with sliced banana

Today is cross training, so Jon and I opted to sleep in and we’ll be going for a walk later on tonight after it cools off!

I have so much to catch up on since I’ve been at large the last few days.  As you guys know, I was at the lake with my mom and sister last Wednesday and Thursday.  If you missed my spiralizer review or the most awesome guest post ever 🙂 make sure and check them out!

It’ll take me a couple of days to catch up on everything, so I may as well get started!

On Wednesday, I got up super early to head to the lake.  I had to stop through my hometown to pick up my mom before making the long drive to the lake to meet my sister.  We finally arrived around noon and after hanging out at our cabin for awhile, we headed out to spend some time on the water.

For a quick bit of history on my family and the lake – my great-grandparents built our cabin when my mom was 2 years old.

My mom grew up going there every summer, and our family continued the tradition throughout my childhood.  There really is a little piece of each of us in that cabin and on the lake.  So many memories.  When we were little, we used to tell people our grandpa owned Lake Texoma.  And to us, he did.

After we spent a couple of hours on the lake, we decided to venture out on the 15 minute boat ride to one of the fancier resorts just to look around.  Not even 20 minutes after arriving, we noticed some storm clouds brewing on the horizon.

even little Bentley was getting concerned:)

We’ve had our fair share of close calls with storms on the lake – getting caught out in the middle with waves coming over the front of the boat, being stranded on the beach with the wind whipping the sand, stinging as it collided with our skin.  Once my dad got caught out in a storm, and our boat took a nosedive into a huge wave, breaking the windshields off the boat and losing most of his fishing equipment.  Needless to say, we don’t mess around anymore.

So, we took off back across the lake, barely beating the storm back to the ramp.  It was then that we realized our first real problem…

…to be continued:)

7 Responses to “a crazy week: part I”

  1. Shannon@ CleanandFitFamily August 2, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    Storms on the lake scare me!!

    So you’ve got me hooked and looking forward to the next installment of your story!!:)

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach) August 2, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    I had to make my husband read that guest post it was just too good! I hear you on getting stuck in a storm on the lake. Not fun. Oh, I am totally a book freak too. I have to have the hardback copy too.

  3. cristen August 2, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    B wanted me to let you know that he is a little upset that his face is out of focus…says it makes him look “fat”

    • candice August 2, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

      well, tell B that he is still in hot water with his aunt Candice after “the incident”

  4. Kausambi@ColoredGrains August 7, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    Very engaging. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. a crazy week: part II|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds - August 2, 2010

    […] First things first, and then I’ll pick up where I left off earlier today. […]

  2. a crazy week: wrapping it up!|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds - August 3, 2010

    […] on to finishing up the series of posts about this crazy last week.   If you missed it, here is part I, part II and part III.You would think after the chaos that had ensued since arriving at the lake, […]

Leave a Reply

