a crazy week: part II

2 Aug

Hey hey!

First things first, and then I’ll pick up where I left off earlier today.

Trust me, I don’t want to keep you in suspense any longer than necessary;)

After my stint at the bookstore this morning, I actually managed to get some stuff accomplished!  After much debating I decided to start with Be Happy Without Being Perfect. So far it’s really insightful.  I’m recognizing a lot of stuff about myself since I quit my job and actually have time to process.  I’ll be writing a more extensive post on this topic once I have time to get through more of the book and think over everything a bit more.  Good stuff though!

Anyway, between reading, blogging and working on my PiYo class I managed to work up quit an appetite! Actually, I was ravenous!  I think it had something to do with the caffeine from earlier…

Either way I needed something, and I needed it quick!

bird bowl courtesy of my lovely sister as an early birthday present (my bday is not until the 10th:)

I went with a bowl of Amy’s reduced sodium vegetable lentil soup – my favorite!

A little while later, the hunger monster struck again, so I decided to whip up something special!

Since trying to cut back on our budget, I’ve decided to start making my own hummus.  Jon and I eat hummus like it’s goin’ out of style, so I figured it’d be a good place to start.

I started off with dry chickpeas (the cheapest and cleanest way to buy ’em!).  I brought a large pot of water to a boil, dumped in 2 cups of chickpeas, removed the pot from the heat and let them soak for about an hour.  After soaking, I drained them, returned them to the pot with fresh water and brought them to a simmer, leaving them for another hour.  Perfect!

Classic Garlic Hummus


Ingredients

2 cups cooked chickpeas
juice of one lemon
3 tbsp tahini
1/2 tsp kosher salt
2-3 tsp minced garlic (we like our hummus super garlicky!)
1/2 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp vinegar
4 tbsp water – I will probably use more next time
paprika (to garnish)
parsley (to garnish)

Directions

1.  Combine all ingredients excluding paprika and parsley into food processor and process until smooth, stopping occasionally to scrape the sides.

2.  Continue to add water until you reach desired consistency.  One thing I noticed is that my hummus thickened up a bit once I put it in the fridge – just fyi.

3.  Eat up!

adapted from Angela’s recipe

I partook in plenty of taste testing during the making of this hummus.   I also snacked on canteloupe.

do you sprinkle salt and pepper on your canteloupe??  It’s the best way! IMHO:)

And now for the best news of the day – the husband got a bonus at work! yay!  Way to go husband!

It’s no secret that we use anything as an excuse to go out and celebrate.  So off we went to one of our fave little cafes – Cafe Bella.

As usual I ordered the garden veggie with guac and hummus

and the husband ordered the falafel pita

I ended up a bit jealous and stole a couple of bites:)  I never lean toward ordering falafel, but every time I encounter it I love it!  What gives?!

Okay, now that the eats are out of the way, let’s pick up where we left off earlier, shall we?

So, we made it back to the ramp and began the process of loading the boat.  Due to very poor engineering on the part of the resort, loading the boat was not an easy task.  There is virtually no protection whatsoever from the wide open lake, so at this point we were taking a direct hit from the white topped waves as they crashed into the cove.  After much distress, the boat getting caught on something under the water and my sister very nearly losing her life (or at least a limb), we got the boat loaded and pulled out of the water, only to realize…

the tire on the boat trailer was flat!!  What now?  It is now lightening and thundering like crazy, and we can see the sheets of rain in the distance, inching closer and closer, threatening to drown is in the midst of our desperation.

We did the only thing we could do – began to slowly creep up the road, hobbling on one good tire in a desperate attempt to reach the free air station.

Just before the monsoon started we were able to figure out how to work the thing (the station was closed up tight!) and get enough air in the tire to make the 10 minute drive back to our cabin. We were SO thankful we made the last minute command decision to come in…it would not have been pretty otherwise!

Despite the rain, things seemed to be making a turn for the better as we curled up in the cabin, waiting for nighttime to envelope us in it’s sleepy grasp.

What we didn’t know is that we were in for an uncomfortably long night…

Stay tuned for part three tomorrow:)

Do you sprinkle salt and pepper on your canteloupe?  Or is that weird to you?  I say perfectly normal, the husband says weird:)
What odd food combination do you love?

7 Responses to “a crazy week: part II”

  1. Amanda @ Vegacious August 2, 2010 at 11:32 pm #

    I just adore your cute blog! 🙂 I love dipping my crackers with ice cream. It’s something I grew up with, but my husband thinks it’s the strangest thing!

  2. Rhea August 3, 2010 at 6:04 am #

    That storm cloud picture is amazing! I love summer storms.
    I gotta tell ya, salt and pep on cantaloupe is a new one to me 😉 BUT I have tried salting fresh pineapple, which is yummy. Sort of related, a friend of mine swears by adding a few cracks of pepper to her oatmeal! Haven’t tried that one, either…

  3. Jessie (Bites and Pieces) August 3, 2010 at 7:39 am #

    That hummus looks delicious! I have never heard of putting pepper on cantaloupe, but I have tried salt on watermelon, which was pretty good. I am going to try the pepper thing next time!

  4. Heather (Where's the Beach) August 3, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    That’s a serious storm. Geez. What a day huh.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. a crazy week: part III|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds - August 3, 2010

    […] So Wednesday night we drifted off peacefully to sleep after our eventful evening. […]

  2. asian food rocks|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds - August 4, 2010

    […] Ezekiel bread with homemade Classic Garlic Hummus […]

  3. lulu, i love you|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds - August 9, 2010

    […] usual.  Whole wheat pita with homemade hummus, black bean burger, broccoli slaw and […]

Leave a Reply

