hls – friends and fun!

17 Aug

Hello!  Thanks for understanding about no HLS post last night – things have been so crazy and I’ve been gone so much, so it was much needed downtime with the husband.

If you missed the first HLS recap, you can find it here!

Saturday

After our late night Friday night, it was sooo hard to drag myself out of bed on Saturday morning!  This weekend I needed to run 8 miles for marathon training, so I planned to knock them out with Theodora bright an early at 6am.  She had been a crazy night owl, though, and ended up opting out:)   So, I pounded out 3 scenic miles with my lovely roommate, Paige.  Not sure if you guys have noticed, but marathon training has been a bit rocky for the last week or so.  I’ll be posting soon about the plan regarding training.

This was the scene from the lake path we ran – I wish I could run it every day!

Being completely honest, the best thing about Saturday was having great conversations with great people. I met so many other bloggers and readers, and I was so thankful for the opportunity to get to know everyone on a real, personal level. Don’t get me wrong, I loved going to the sessions – and I definitely took at least something away from each of them, but I think it was difficult for them to be very ground breaking with an audience of healthy living bloggers who spend their time research/reading about healthy living!  In the end, the people are where it’s at:)

First things first, though.  Let’s talk breakfast!

Thomas, Stonyfield and Quaker sponsored a lovely spread.

I had a Thomas bagel thin spread with Maranatha almond butter, an Oikos greek yogurt with granola and berries, and a little bit of fruit – delicious!

Now for the sessions.

The first session I attended was “Fueling for Fitness” where Rebecca and Heather covered the basics of sports nutrition for everday/casual exercisers as well as endurance athletes.  Here are some of the highlights:

Casual exercisers, or those who exercise 20-60 minutes a day and are not training for an event, have the following needs for fueling:

  • Meal/snack 1-2 hours before
  • Water 15 minutes before workout
  • Water during workout
  • Meal or snack within one hour

Endurance athletes are those who are training for a race or sport.  They workout anywhere from 3-6 days per week and most sessions are 40 minutes to several hours long, sometimes working out twice per day.  The fueling needs of endurance athletes are the following:

  • eat a snack that is high in carbs, moderate in protein and low fat (cannot digest fat during workout) + 16 oz water 1-2 hours before workout
  • consume 1 cup water/sports drink 15 minutes before workout (
  • For workouts >75 minutes take in simple carbs,such as gummies or gus every hour
  • take in 2-4 oz of fluid (water or sports drink) every 20 minutes during workout
  • Recovery nutrition as soon as tolerated
  • eat a meal or snack within one hour

These girls did an awesome job at this session – if you’re interested I’ll share more details about the different areas of fueling for fitness in a later post.

A little later I attended another session in which Sabrina shared about how to be a great hostess.  I didn’t know Sabrina before, but I got to spend some time getting to know her this weekend, and I love this girl!

Her session was very entertaining, and we leaned about everything from menu planning to how to set the table. The biggest thing I took away was about the etiquette of cooking healthy food, but also catering to your guests dietary preferences.

For instance, I’m a vegetarian, but I’m having friends over who are not vegetarians.  Should I or shouldn’t I cook meat for them to accommodate their dietary preferences? Here is a summary of what I took away in regard to this question:

  • Be sure to ask your guests about their dietary preferences beforehand
  • Have several options available – if you have a gluten free guest coming, make sure to have some gluten free crackers/bread in addition to the regular bread.
  • Tailor some menu items to them – if you know a guest is a vegetarian, make sure you create some type of main dish that is vegetarian, such as stuffed artichoke hearts.
  • Have them bring something they will eat – don’t feel bad to ask your guest to bring something.  They won’t mind, it will take some of the pressure off of you, and they’ll get to share a tasty dish that suits their dietary preferences

Next up on the agenda – lunch!

salad with balsamic, whole wheat bread with marinated tofu, lettuce, tomato and onion

quinoa salad

fruit and a brownie for dessert!

This awesome spread was sponsored by Arnold and Oroweat.

The first half of Saturday was great and left me super excited for more!  I’ll be back with the second half of the day a little later!

Question: how do you handle having people over for dinner?  Do you focus more on sticking to your own eating preferences/convictions or do you focus more on catering to theirs?

9 Responses to “hls – friends and fun!”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) August 17, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    I’ve only been to Chicago once and didn’t have a chance to get out and run. The next time I soooo want to run by the lake. As for having guests over, being vegetarian, the meal will be meat-free. I don’t cook meat at all. I do try to find out likes or dislikes though. Don’t want to make some mushroom sauce when they hate mushrooms.

    • candice August 17, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

      Yeah, running by the lake was seriously one of the highlights of the entire weekend.

      Thanks for your comment on entertaining – great food for thought:)

  2. amber@SAHM's musings August 17, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    To answer your Q I usually make something agreeable. Pasta and mexican usually don’t go out of style for my friends. I also don’t have “mixed” company. Most of us are meat eaters and eat a well rounded diet and aren’t too picky. I have one picky friend whom I’ve known a long time so I know how to incorporate what she will or won’t eat into my meal if need be. I have a family member who is vegetarian so at thanksgiving I be sure to make vegetarian stuffing and other side dishes and he usually brings his fake meat 🙂 It’s a good system.

  3. Lizz @ Leading the Good Life August 17, 2010 at 4:54 pm #

    My response is similar to Heather’s above. I’m vegetarian, and I don’t cook meat – I don’t even know how. So if I’m hosting a dinner I’ll make sure it’s something all of the guests will like, but it will still be vegetarian. However, my fiance is a meat-eater so if she wants to cook meat for the guests, that would be ok with me.

  4. Julie @ Pickley Pear August 17, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    Gorgeous picture of the lake! I would run everyday if I had that view, trails, water on the trails, etc.

    • candice August 17, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

      I know, right?! It would totally change the whole experience methinks:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. hls – the fun continues|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds - August 17, 2010

    […] Did you miss recap 1 or recap 2? […]

  2. gotta love the swag|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds - August 18, 2010

    […] I’ll be back tonight with my fourth and final HLS recap!  If you missed ‘em, here is recap 1, recap 2 and recap 3. share and […]

  3. hls – wrappin’ it up|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds - August 18, 2010

    […] recap 1, 2 or […]

Leave a Reply

