gotta love the swag

18 Aug

Friends, I’m in the midst of a crisis.

Since I got my Canon DSLR camera back in April, I’ve been uploading all my photos into iPhoto.  Unfortunately the file sizes are huge, and they are overtaking my macbook!  I’ve finally decided to start uploading to Flickr instead, but I also am going to have to move all my photos over from iPhoto as well.

This process is going to take forever.  I’m just so deep in this hole.  Not only is my computer moving slower than ever, but the process of transferring the photos is going to slow it down even more.  Argh!

Okay, rant over.  Thanks for listening;)

warning: if you aren’t a dog lover, just glaze over this next part:) and don’t think I’m crazy.

First things first – Olive wants to say Happy 1st Birthday to her cousin, Bentley!

We still love you little B, even though you chewed up 2 of my retainers this summer.

This morning has been so productive!  Don’t you just love super productive days?

First, I went for a four mile run.  I planned to go to the gym, but the second I stepped out onto the porch, I changed my mind.  It had to have been about 80 degrees.  And there was even a cool breeze.  I couldn’t pass up the chance to run outside.  Unfortunately my Garmin wasn’t quite as thrilled apparently and didn’t find its satellites until well in the run.  I know I ended up at about 4 miles, but have no idea what my time was.  O’well!

Before I went I had a piece of canteloupe, sans salt and pepper

Once I got back, it was still cloudy and breeze, and our scraggly yard was giving me the eye.  I couldn’t resist the nagging and immediately changed shoes and revved up the mower!

About an hour later I finished, a sweaty, hungry mess.  Seeing as how it was after 10:30, though, I opted for a little snack instead of breakfast to tide me over.

I got this herbal water in the HLS swag bag, and I am now obsessed.  I must find a place to buy these.  They have no added sugars or preservatives, and the water is infused with a perfectly subtle ginger lemon flavor.

These pistachios and dried pineapple are also from the swag bag, courtesy of Oh Nuts.  The pistachios were great, but I wasn’t a huge fan of the pineapple.  I don’t like added sugar on my dried fruit, and this definitely had some.  I don’t know why companies always feel the need to add so much sugar to their dried fruit!

Anyway, I answered some emails and before I could turn around twice it was lunch time.

My sister bought me this garlic olive oil from The Olive Tap.  It gives off just a nice, subtle hint of garlic.  Judging from her description I really wish I could have visited the store too.

I mixed 1 tbsp+1 tsp of garlic olive oil + 1 tsp water to 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp seasoned salt and a sprinkle of ground red pepper.

I filled a gallon sized ziplock bag with sliced sweet potato rounds and asparagus, and after adding the oil and seasoning mixture, shook until I couldn’t feel my arms (it really is an exact scienceJ  I then dumped it out onto a cookie sheet (don’t forget to spray it!) and roasted at 400 degrees for about half an hour.  Don’t forget to stir and flip occasionally.  I actually think the asparagus was a bit too soft, so you may want to take it out after 20 minutes or so.

I toasted a piece of Ezekiel bread and spread it with Earth Balance to have on the side.  Plus, another piece of canteloupe with salt and pepper.

Dessert was an Adora Dark Chocolate Calcium supplement disk from the swag bag.  Love these.  lol. What did I eat before HLS?

I just wanted to give a quick shout out to my awesome co workers from my teaching job.  I stopped by the school for a visit yesterday and loved getting to see everyone.  These people are a huge reason why it was so hard to leave, and I’m going to miss them dearly!

my best friend, Teri, Bryan, and me

two of our awesome librarians!

Meghan taught in the classroom next door to me and was a fellow first year teacher.  This girl is a hoot!

And again, Teri:)

Well, I’m off to get some work done!  I’ll be back tonight with my fourth and final HLS recap!  If you missed ‘em, here is recap 1, recap 2 and recap 3.

12 Responses to “gotta love the swag”

  1. Dorry August 18, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

    I ran 4 miles this morning as well AND there was a cool breeze in Texas, too! What a little blessing of heat relief.

  2. Halley August 18, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

    I feel the same way about dried fruit. Pineapple and sweetened mango are the biggest let-downs for me.

    Have you ever tried dehydrating your own? I don’t have room for the equipment yet, but I’m thinking that’s the only way to have it the way we want it!

    • candice August 18, 2010 at 9:29 pm #

      I haven’t tried dehydrating my own, but I would love to! A dehydrator is next on my kitchen gadget list:) I definitely need one because I cannot find it unsweetened in stores.

      When I lived in Thailand, there was tons of dried fruit sans sugar, and I was in heaven. My fave was the mango. mmmm.

  3. Teri August 18, 2010 at 6:14 pm #

    We loved your visit! Of course that photo of me giving you the SMAK is ridiculous!!

    • candice August 18, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

      lol, I need more Teri!

  4. Callie @ Callieflower Kitchen August 18, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

    “What did I eat before HLS?”
    Oh my gosh girl, you make me laugh! It’s so true! lol

    I wish I could’ve given you my herbal water, I wasn’t a huge fan 😦 And I agree about the added sugar on dried fruit – I bought some dried cantaloupe the other day and it was so sugary that I didn’t even want to eat it. Fruit is so sweet naturally, it doesn’t need anything!

    • candice August 18, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

      oohh, I would have loved to take your water off your hands:) Was yours the same flavor as mine?

      I think my line “what did I eat before HLS” made you laugh so hard because you totally know it’s true. Swag has taken over our lives!

  5. Amy B @ Second City Randomness August 18, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

    I’ve been using the adora as dessert, too! I’m still amazed I scored an entire bag… 🙂

    • candice August 18, 2010 at 9:24 pm #

      I know, right? I kind of felt like I was doing something wrong when I took the entire bag. lol.

  6. cristen August 20, 2010 at 7:47 pm #

    “Thank you cousin Olive for the birthday wishes! I love and miss you and hope to terrorize you some more soon.”

    Love,
    Bentley

    P.S. “I’m also sowy to Aunt Candice for chewing up her retainers twice within a very small amount of time. I need to learn to think about how my actions are going to affect other people.”

    • candice August 21, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

      Yes, you do Mister. lol

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pineapple Swags - August 18, 2010

    […] gotta love the swag|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a … These pistachios and dried pineapple are also from the swag bag, courtesy of Oh Nuts. The pistachios were great, but I wasn't a huge fan of the pineapple I don't like added sugar on my dried fruit, and this definitely had some. […]

Leave a Reply

