Well, I ate it…

19 Aug

…but that doesn’t mean it was good.

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup freshly squeezed lime juice
  • 1.5-2 tbsp agave nectar
  • 1.5 tbsp tamari
  • 3/4 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp curry powder
  • 2-3 pinches chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1.5 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 pkg firm or extra firm tofu (frozen or fresh) cut in half lengthwise then sliced 1/4 to 1/2 in thick squares, and patted to remove excess moisture
  • 2-3 tbsp raw or pre-roasted pumpkin seeds

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  In an 8×12 in baking dish, combine lime juice, agave nectar, tamari, cumin, curry powder, chili powder, and salt and stir to mix.
  • Stir in oil.
  • Add tofu and turn to coat each side
  • Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 15 minutes.
  • Remove from oven to turn tofu over, sprinkle with pumpkin seeds, and return to oven to bake uncovered for another 13-15 minutes, until tofu has soaked up most of marinade.
  • Serve warm, pouring any remaining oil and/or spices over tofu.

recipe adapted from Eat, Drink and Be Vegan

It’s not you, Dreena, it’s me.

Tofu and I have never gotten along.

We have a love/hate relationship.  As in love when we meet at Pei Wei and hate when we meet anywhere else.

Not sure what went wrong to be honest.  The flavor was not bad, but the texture was not good.  Maybe I should have bought extra firm instead of just firm?  Any suggestions?  I need help!

This is not the last you’ll see of me, tofu.  I’ll be back.  And eventually I will win.

That’s all.

7 Responses to “Well, I ate it…”

  1. Sarah @Gluten-free tries Vegan August 20, 2010 at 12:35 am #

    I love the sound of this recipe. With tofu I always go for the extra firm and I always marinade my tofu for an hour or so first in the mix and then remove it from the sauce to bake. I don’t cover it either. That way it goes crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. Then I use the marinade heated up as a sauce 🙂

    I know what you mean about tofu though- I prefer tempeh (unless I’m eating out as I love the deep fried tofu they serve in restaurants!). xxx

  2. Jessie (Bites and Pieces) August 20, 2010 at 12:49 am #

    Girl, you need to get a tofu press! I am working on getting them in my OpenSky shop, but even without it there are other ways to make great tofu. I would definitely recommend baking it for much longer, and turn the heat down a bit if you have to. I usually bake tofu for a good 35-40 minutes, sometimes even an hour. Also, the texture always improves after it sits out for a bit, refrigerated is even better. Please don’t give up on tofu yet! 🙂

  3. Heather (Where's the Beach) August 20, 2010 at 7:41 am #

    Well it looks good at least. I always hated tofu until I started to freeze it first. It totally changes the texture. If you don’t freeze, I think pressing it is a MUST. Also, less oil or no oil so that it dries out more during cooking. I prefer it to be dry more like what you get at the restaurants.

  4. Hangry Pants August 20, 2010 at 9:30 am #

    I always buy extra firm and I cook the squishy right out of it, as in I bake it forever. I also cut it into smaller squares so there is less area to be squishy.

  5. Rhea (Greek Feaster) August 20, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    Everyone is spot-on with their pointers! I also press, marinade (even for 5 mins) and bake. My foolproof method is to wrap the tofu in a clean kitchen towel and squeeze beneath heavy cookbooks for 30 minutes. Then, I dice the block into 1″ cubes, spread on a baking sheet, pour sauce over, toss to coat, and cook for 25 (ish) minutes in a 425 degree oven.
    http://greekfeaster.blogspot.com/2010/08/flowers-and-tofu-i-am-hippie.html
    See also: I Love Veggies and Yoga’s sesame maple ginger tofu recipe. To die for!
    Good luck 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. lovehate « Эхо блогосферы - August 20, 2010

    […] candice пишет: We have a love/hate relationship. As in love when we meet at Pei Wei and hate when we meet anywhere else. Not sure what went wrong to be honest. The flavor was not bad, but the texture was not good. Maybe I should have bought extra firm … […]

  2. tofu redemption|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds - August 20, 2010

    […] I finished blog venting about my tofu fail last night, I walked back into the kitchen where my tofu was still gloating smugly atop the […]

Leave a Reply

