a cookie kind of day

20 Aug

So, today was just a cookie kind of day.

I woke up this morning and went to PiYo and then came home to do some more PiYo.  I teach my second class one week from today.  eek!

I am also going to go ahead and get my yoga certification.  Yay!  I signed up for the course on September 11th – 12th just outside of Dallas (sis – I need to crash your place that night:).  I’m getting certified for level one yoga through YogaFit, and then we’ll see where I go from there!  My first official PiYo class (not subbing) will start the week before that, as will the yoga class I’ll be teaching.  So, I’ll be teaching one yoga class without my certification.  oops!  I plan on just making it very PiYo-esque  for the first class.

Anyway, so after PiYo-ing it all morning long, I decided cookie making was definitely in order for the afternoon.  The husband’s boss is going on maternity leave (today was her last day), and Jon and I adore her, so I though I’d make her some cookies to kick it off right!

“You Got Peanut Butter in My Chocolate” cookies from Eat,Drink and Be Vegan
wheat free and vegan

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup unrefined sugar (I used pure cane sugar)
  • 1/4 cup vegan dark chocolate chips
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1 cup + 1 tbsp spelt flour
  • 3 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup pure maple syrup
  • 2-2 1/2 tbsp agave nectar (or more maple syrup)
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup organic canola oil
  • 1/4-1/3 natural peanut butter

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • In a bowl, combine sugar, chocolate chips, and salt, sift in flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and baking soda and stir until well combined
  • In a separate bowl, combine maple syrup, agave nectar, vanilla and oil until well mixed.
  • Add wet mixture to dry, and stir until just well combined (do not overmix).
  • With a knife, cut in peanut butter into batter, but just a little, so peanut butter remains in chunks and swirls in batter.
  • Line a baking sheet with parchment paper (or spray with cooking spray).
  • Scoop rounded tablespoons of batter onto baking sheet evenly spaced apart.
  • Bake for 11 minutes (no longer, or they will dry out).
  • Remove from oven and let cool on pan for 1 minute (no longer), then transfer to a cooling rack.

My only advice is to go make these cookies right now, then go buy this cookbook and make everything else in it too.  It’s that good:)

I also made a batch of Super Charge Me cookies, but we’ll save those for later!

Jon and I are going to go see Eat Pray Love tonight, and I’m so excited!  The last couple times we’ve planned to see a movie, we’ve ended up bailing at the last minute, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that we actually make it there. I’m only halfway through the book, so I’m committing a major faux pas by going to see it, but o’well!

I’ll see you guys tomorrow!

Have you seen the movie or read the book?  What did you think?

10 Responses to “a cookie kind of day”

  1. cristen August 20, 2010 at 7:56 pm #

    one of my favorite reads ever

  2. Sarah @Gluten-free tries Vegan August 21, 2010 at 12:28 am #

    I’m so jealous of all your fitness training! I’d love to teach Yoga and Body Balance (tai chi, pilates and yoga in one). I’m fed up of doing another degree. i just don’t do well with this kind of studying pressure. My IBS has been horrendous this week. Sorry, enough of my venting.

    High-five for tofu success! And these cookies look amazing 🙂

    Have a great weekend, awesome lady.

    xxxxxxxxxxx

    • candice August 21, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

      Hey girl, you are so going to make it through this degree. I can’t imagine the stress you’re under, but when you get done you are going to be so proud! And you’re going to be able to make such am impact on so many people. It will all be worth it…and then you can go get a fitness certification too once things calm down. You’ll have many options of what you want to do.

      I hope you’re feeling better today-I’m thinking of you:) Keep your head up!

  3. Paige @ Running Around Normal August 21, 2010 at 7:06 am #

    I love those cookies!! Supercharge me’s are still probably my favorite, but these are awesome, too:)
    I read EPL back in 2006 or 2007 and LOVED it. I may go see the movie tomorrow.

    • candice August 21, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

      I’m loving the supercharge me’s too…which one’s my favorite kinda depends on whether I’m in a sweet mood or just a semi-sweet mood:) I guess that’s why it’s good to ave ’em both around! Can’t wait to hear what you think of the movie.

  4. Amy B @ Second City Randomness August 21, 2010 at 10:57 am #

    I’m pretty much cool with any cookies that involved peanut butter and chocolate. They look sooooo soft and good!

    Have fun at the movie! I really want to read the book before the movie, so I’ll probably wait for it to hit redbox before I see it…

  5. Dorry August 21, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    Those cookies look delish. And congrats on the decision to get certified – very exciting!! I haven’t read the book or seen the movie. I’m out of the loop. 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. the small things|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds - August 21, 2010

    […] also had a Supercharge Me cookie and half of Jon’s You Got Peanut Butter in my Chocolate cookie:)  Cookies for breakfast.  Why […]

  2. a hoax|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds - August 29, 2010

    […] Cookies were baked (and eaten!) […]

  3. want some cookies?|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds - September 28, 2010

    […] I’ll choose one comment out of all of you who guess correctly by tomorrow night at 8pm, and I’ll mail you a batch of my very favorite homemade vegan cookies. […]

Leave a Reply

