tofu redemption

20 Aug

So, last night I finally sat down to eat my long awaited tofu dinner at about 9:30pm.  You guys already know – it was not good.

But I’m not the type who gives up easily.

My mom can attest to this story:

When I was a wee four years old, still using a pacifier mind you, I had a bike with training wheels.    I would pedal that bike as fast as my little legs would go, trying to keep up with my big sister at all costs.  Until one fateful day when one of my training wheels bit the dust.

I’m not one to give up easily, though.  Despite my mother’s constant scoldings, I perfected riding the three wheeled bike.  She would constantly be yelling out the door – “Candice, get off that bike!  You’re gonna get hurt!”

I’d stop momentarily…but then I’d be right back at it.

Until the next fateful summer day when the other training wheel gave out on me.

My mom was so relieved.  She sighed “at least now she won’t be able to hurt herself trying to ride that bike with broken training wheels.”

Like I said, though.  I’m not one to give up easily.

Not many days later, my mom glanced outside to check on me, and there was little four-year-old me, flying down the road after my big sister on my two wheeled bike, with pacifier in tow.

To this day, determination is something I don’t take lightly.

As evidenced by this

So, you’re probably wondering what the heck happened right?

After I finished blog venting about my tofu fail last night, I walked back into the kitchen where my tofu was still gloating smugly atop the stove.  In a moment of sheer rage frustration I grabbed the dish, punched the broiler button on the stove, and threw it back into the stove.  Take that!

I honestly figured I’d be trashing those mushy little tofu cubes in less than ten minutes, but I figured “hey, it can’t get any worse, so I might as well make one last ditch effort!”

Ten minutes later I pulled out a sizzling batch of perfectly browned, crispy on the outside, but chewy on the inside tofu.

And that my friends…is how it’s done;)

Apparently it just needed cooked longer, as I would have found out by reading all the awesome comments from last night’s post.  Thanks for all the tips – with the help of them hopefully I’ll be able to get it right the first try next time!

Now I’m off to bake some vegan cookies – don’t wait up for this one;)

8 Responses to “tofu redemption”

  1. Rhea (Greek Feaster) August 20, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

    i spy olive in picture 3 😀

    • candice August 21, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

      Good eye, good eye:)

  2. Dorry August 20, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

    That is awesome! Good for you for giving it a 2nd shot. By the way, I’m OBSESSED with your bird bowl!! 🙂

    • candice August 21, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

      Thanks! My sister got it for me at Urban Outfitters:)

  3. Heather (Where's the Beach) August 20, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

    That’s how you teach tofu a lesson 😉

  4. Hangry Pants August 21, 2010 at 7:16 am #

    woo hoo! you’re like me and enjoy it very, very “well done.”

  5. Angela (the diet book junkie) August 21, 2010 at 7:51 am #

    that tofu looks awesome, thanks for sharing the recipe! my husband and i are mostly-vegetarian (mostly because we eat fish but i’m not much of a cook) and i REALLY need to eat more protein. i love that it’s baked too, this will definitely go into rotation 🙂

    • candice August 21, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

      You should definitely try it – once I cooked it to “well done” I loved it! I’m going to be trying new marinades soon, too.

Leave a Reply

