better when we're together

22 Aug

Yesterday we spent the entire afternoon and evening cleaning the house from top to bottom!  We did the basic cleaning of everything and then had to fix the closet explosion.  While it wasn’t too fun cleaning all day – it was much more fun doing it together!

Especially when I walked in to see this

Gotta love the combination of a cute husband and some soft scrub:)

Anyway, we finally stopped cleaning last night in time to eat up some well deserved leftover enchiladas…followed by some froyo.  Unfortunately I was so wiped out I forgot the camera, so no pics.

Breakfast this morning was made by the husband

Ezekiel english muffin with natural peanut butter and 1/2 sliced banana.  I had this x2

I inhaled this on the way out the door to church.  Somehow we run late to church every week!  We only live 5 minutes away, but for some reason we always wait ’till the last minute to get up and then race around like crazy people to get there.  And every week I swear I’m going to get up earlier, but it’s always the same story.  Better late than not at all I suppose.  It’s funny that I’m late so often, considering how much I hate it.

This past year, I got in the routine of leaving for school about a half hour before I really had to leave.  It was awesome because most days it gave me extra time in the morning to grade/plan, and then on the days when I couldn’t find my keys or it was raining cats and dogs, I wasn’t late!  It was a great system really…one that I need to reinstate into my life.

Right now we are seriously low on groceries.  One of my top priorities for today is to make a grocery list and go stock up for the week.  When we are low on groceries, there is one thing that tends to happen a lot.

Eating out.  Hence today’s lunch.

Whichwich sandwich – avocado, tomato, lettuce, bell pepper, pickles, mushrooms and pesto on whole wheat

I’m not gonna lie – it was absolutely delicious.  But I’m so ready to have our fridge stocked with fresh food and make home-cooked meals!

This afternoon is sure to be busy – I’ve got to buy groceries, work on Outbox, do my photography homework among other things.

I’ll be back tonight with an update on what our plan is for marathon training.  I have mixed feeling about our plan, but I feel sure it’s the right decision.

Have a great and relaxing Sunday!

Are you a person who’s always late or always early?  Do you early birds have any tricks up your sleeve on how to be more timely?

8 Responses to “better when we're together”

  1. Jennifer@ knackfornutrition August 22, 2010 at 3:53 pm #

    My parents always instilled the motto that “15 minutes early means you are on time,” so as a result I always have a few minutes to spare. But time escapes even the best of us, and I am notoriously late to my spin class.

    Also, the breakfast your husband made is one of my all time favorite meals. I eat it probably 4 or more times a week! 🙂 It is just soo good!

    Good luck on catching up on your work! I am doing the same thing with my google reader, it is out of control!

    • candice August 23, 2010 at 9:47 am #

      Thanks for stopping by! What a great idea to start thinking of early as on time. Would make life a lot less stressful I’m sure.

      And I totally know what you mean about the google reader…that’s next on my list:)

  2. Alycia [Fit n Fresh] August 22, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    I always try to be on time, but usually I’m cutting it close. I think the key to being early is organization – which I have very little of! I’m working on it though 😉

  3. Liza @ Health Nutting August 22, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

    Hi Candice! I just found your blog and love it! 🙂 I’m Liza, by the way.
    I’m usually early, sometimes late, but usually early. I would say, maybe tell yourself that the meeting or whatever starts at 11:50 (when it really starts at noon). And just convince yourself from the get-go that it starts at 10 minutes earlier!
    I’m looking forward to stopping by your blog more often!

    • candice August 23, 2010 at 9:45 am #

      Thanks so much:) Nice to “meet you!” You definitely have a great idea for being on time. I’ll have to try that out.

      I’m so glad you stopped by:)

  4. Heather (Where's the Beach) August 22, 2010 at 5:10 pm #

    Oh how sweet! I so wish we had a sandwich place like that here. I am one of those always early kind of people. I get really neurotic about not being late that I end up being the first person to everything. Not sure I have any advice b/c I don’t know what I do…

  5. cristen August 22, 2010 at 9:51 pm #

    did you know there’s a jack johnson song called “better when we’re together”? if you did, i prob sound retarded, but if you didnt then you should check it out!

    im notorious for sliding into my destination at the very last minute…however i have made a resolution to change that this yr at work! the two main things i intend to do are go to bed early and prepare clothes, lunch, etc the night before. i remember laughing at you last year when you planned your outfits so far in advance and labeled them by the day but i think im going to try it! ok maybe not the labeling…but the planning part. 🙂

    • candice August 23, 2010 at 8:51 am #

      haha, yes I knew. I was kind of playing off of that:)

      I’m proud of you for making your lunch and laying out your clothes last night!

Leave a Reply

