giveaway time! spreading the chia love

23 Aug

Jon and I woke up bright and early this morning and headed out for a three mile run.  It actually wasn’t too terribly humid and hot, and therefore was almost enjoyable.  I said almost😉

Soon after we got back, I was starving for breakfast and was wasting time on twitter while trying to decide what to have when Evan tweeted an idea for the Vega Shake and Go Smoothie mix from the HLS swag bag.  It sounded too good to pass up, so I went for it!

It may not look too appetizing, but don’t knock it ’till you try it.

First, I mashed a whole banana until it was fairly smooth. I then mixed in two heaping spoonfuls of Vega powder, 1/3 cup of raw oats and a splash of almond milk.  It turned out like a thick chocolate pudding!  My only complaint is that it was a tiny bit grainy from the powder.  Next time I think I’ll go a little easier on the powder, but otherwise it was awesome!  And full of protein!

The Vega mix is completely plant based and is corn, dairy, gluten, soy, wheat and yeast free. Per serving it has:

  • Two servings of veggies
  • 2500 mg Omega-3-6-9
  • 11 g complete protein
  • Only 100 calories
  • 1 billion probiotics cultures

Pretty cool, right? I have yet to find a protein powder that I like, but I’m a fan of this.

This morning I had my first meeting with a new student that I’m going to be tutoring!  She’s from Korea, and I’ll be tutoring her 3 days a week now.  I’m pretty excited about it – something inside me just lights up when I work with international students. 🙂

After my meeting I had lunch with my friend Grace at Panera.  I ordered a version of my favorite – Mediterranean Veggie sandwich, Garden Vegetable soup and a whole grain baguette.

And an Adora disc for dessert.  Not sure what I’m gonna do when these run out – I’ve gotten kind of attached:)

Okay, now onto the good stuff.  Sorry to leave you hangin’.

How about some chia seeds from ChiaSeedsDirect.com to make it up to you?

I don’t like to bombard you guys with giveaways, but I honestly just cannot pass up an opportunity to spread the chia love:)

The lovely folks at ChiaSeedsDirect have been gracious enough to offer a free 2lb. bag of chia seeds to one fabulous ChiaSeedMe reader.

There are five different ways you can enter (1 entry for each one you do):

  • leave a comment on this post telling me the most adventurous thing you’ve ever done OR something adventurous you want to do in the future
  • add ChiaSeedMe to your blogroll and tell me you did or if it already is tell me that
  • follow me on twitter (@chiaseedme) and tweet about the giveaway using the following:    @chiaseedme enter to win free chia seeds!!  http://chiaseedme.com/?p=2235
  • decide on one random act of kindness you will do sometime this week and tell me what it is (and you have to do it – honors system!)
  • mention the giveaway in a blog post and link to it in the comments

Please make sure and tell me which of the five you did in the comments.

The giveaway will run until Sunday, August 29th at midnight.

If you’ve never used chia seeds before and need some ideas – click here for tons of ways that I love to use them.  Also, make sure and check out my post on why chia seeds are so awesome.

If you haven’t checked out ChiaSeedsDirect yet, you should!  They are an awesome company that offers the highest quality chia seeds at very low prices with free shipping on all U.S. orders.  You can’t beat that!  Also, if you are interested, feel free to download a free 16-page booklet on chia seeds, chia seed uses and chia seed recipes by using the following link: http://www.chiaseedsdirect.com/frreonchsehe.html.

**giveaway is open to U.S. and Canadian residents only.  Sorry!

See you all later!

40 Responses to “giveaway time! spreading the chia love”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) August 23, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    Where do you find your Vega? I haven’t seen it at Whole Foods, which is where I assumed I would see it.

    Most adventurous thing was flying in a 4-seater piloted by my friend (I hate to fly).

    • candice August 23, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

      I’m not scared to fly, but I most definitely would be scared to fly in a 4-seater!! So, I can only imagine how you felt:)

      I got the Vega in the HLS swag bag, and I haven’t yet tried to find it anywhere else. I’m very surprised that it’s not at Whole Foods. I tried to find a supplier lists on their site, but no luck. The only other option I can think is to get it online. If you’re anything like me you probably hate shipping costs though. I’ll keep an eye out!

      • Heather (Where's the Beach) August 23, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

        Thanks – I tried to search their site to find retailers too and didn’t have any luck. I really hate to pay for shipping not even having tried it too.

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach) August 23, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    You are most definitely in my blog roll

  3. Heather (Where's the Beach) August 23, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

    I follow you on twitter

  4. suki @ [Super Duper Fantastic] August 23, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

    most adventurous thing i’ve done – travel alone in a country where i barely knew the language! 🙂 i seem to enjoy it and do it more than just once though. 🙂

    • candice August 24, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

      So cool:) I love traveling with a passion, but the farthest I’ve ever gone alone is Chicago. How brave of you to travel in a foreign country alone!

  5. Samantha @ Health, Happiness & Skinny Jeans August 23, 2010 at 4:36 pm #

    Something adventerous that I want to do? Go white water rafting and become a certified spinning intructor.

    I added you to twitter (and tweeted about the giveaway) too.

    PS If you want to enter my giveaway come on over to the blog and check it out.

    • candice August 24, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

      I’ve wanted to go white water rafting for ages!

  6. Jennifer@ knackfornutrition August 23, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

    The most adventurous thing I have ever done was move to France for 6 weeks to live with a host mom. I spoke little of the language and knew no one. I have never been so scared in my life.

    • candice August 24, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

      Um, yeah. I think moving to another country to live is one of the toughest (yet most rewarding!) things you can do. I’m sure you grew so much from that experience!

  7. Jennifer@ knackfornutrition August 23, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

    You are already on my blogroll/google reader!

  8. Jennifer@ knackfornutrition August 23, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    I tweeted about your giveaway!

  9. LC @ Let Them Eat Lentils August 23, 2010 at 7:24 pm #

    Most adventurous thing – Quitting my job, selling almost all my possessions, and packing up the Honda Accord to road trip out West to San Francisco to live … having never seen the city.

    • candice August 24, 2010 at 2:07 pm #

      ooohhh, sounds exhilarating. I want to visit SF so badly – I heard nothing but awesome things about that city! Do you still live there?

  10. Lizz @ Leading the Good Life August 23, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    I’d say the most adventurous thing I’ve done is move to New York City when I was 18!

    Also, I already follow you on twitter – and tweeted about the giveway!

  11. Christie August 24, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    Hrm… seems lame compared to everyone else’s adventures, but mine is zip-lining through the forest in Belize. It was super high up and spanned a course of a mile… oh did I mention that there were multiple attendants between each zip line? Ha, guess I’m not that adventurous, but I have been dying to try these chia seeds… 😉

    • candice August 24, 2010 at 2:04 pm #

      Not lame at all! The fact that you were in Belize makes you adventurous to begin with:) The ziplining sounds amazing!

      Good luck with the giveaway. I do them periodically, so if you don’t win this time, there’s always next time!

  12. Halley @ Blunder Construction August 25, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    Some adventurous things I’ve always wanted to do: ziplining in a tropical forest, sky diving, practicing the flying trapeze… the hardest part of all will be getting myself to the location for any of these stunts, I have a feeling I wouldn’t back down once I’m strapped in and ready for take off.

    • Halley @ Blunder Construction August 25, 2010 at 9:23 am #

      so funny, I didn’t realize the comment just before me is about ziplining too… you have some wild readers!

      • candice August 25, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

        my thoughts exactly!!

    • candice August 25, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

      wow, I haven’t even ever thought of doing those things, lol! You’re crazy (in a really adventurous positive way:)!

  13. postcollegecook August 25, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    My most adventurous moment might have been skiing the Andes mountains in Argentina – by myself! My friend was snowboarding on the bunny hill while I was getting lost on slopes way too difficult for me.

    My random act of kindness this week will be calling a friend I haven’t talked to in months. Does that count as “random?” 🙂

    And I just tweeted the giveaway.

    • candice August 25, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

      Of course it counts! I love it when I get a call from a long lost friend:)

      Your adventurous moment sounds awesome! Doing it by yourself had to have been really intimidating, but I bet it was an experience of huge growth. love that:)

  14. Erika August 27, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    I’m not a very adventurous person so last year when we were in Puerto Vallarta I was very proud of myself for going zip lining. I couldn’t believe I did it and it was amazing – and I got the video to prove it!

    • candice August 30, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

      I think it is almost always rewarding when we push ourselves outside of our comfort zone. Ziplining sounds amazing!

  15. Kelly August 29, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    I’m not super adventurous, but in high school I went on a week long camping trip through the Smokey Mountains. It was a lot more fun that I anticipated and such an adventure!

  16. Kelly @ Coconuts and Freckles August 29, 2010 at 8:23 pm #

    Hmmm…let’s see. I’d have to say that by meeting my now husband, that was an adventure in it of itself. He’s very adventurous! He had me climbing and hiking and trying all sorts of adventurous things soon after meeting him! The adventures never stop! 😉

  17. Kelly @ Coconuts and Freckles August 29, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    You are now on my blogroll!

  18. Kelly @ Coconuts and Freckles August 29, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    I tweeted the giveaway!

  19. Kelly @ Coconuts and Freckles August 29, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

    The random act of kindness I will do this week will be to make sure my husband’s clothes are all washed and actually hung up ALL WEEK long! I have laundry issues to my husband’s dismay. So, this will be a special treat for him. Hey, baby steps…right? I’m on the road to laundry recovery. lol.

    • candice August 30, 2010 at 7:50 pm #

      haha, I’ve been working on the same exact thing!

  20. Amy B @ Second City Randomness August 29, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

    I think someday I’d like to bungee jump. Not soon… I’m still contemplating it… 😉

    • candice August 30, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

      I am so out on bungee jumping. I definitely think you should do it though!! 🙂

  21. Dorry August 29, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

    One of the most adventurous things I’ve done was booking a flight to Belize on a Thursday night…leaving the next morning. An impromptu amazing trip with Billy that really was a turning point in our relationship. 🙂

    • candice August 30, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

      Well, I guess I’d say that’s adventurous:) So incredible that you guys did that!

  22. Dorry August 29, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

    I added you to my blogroll…but I’ve been meaning to do that since HLS! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. lentil tacos + a guest post|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds - August 23, 2010

    […] of chia seeds, did you enter my chia seed giveaway earlier today? I am loving hearing about everyone’s adventurous side – keep ‘em […]

  2. last night’s dinner|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds - August 25, 2010

    […] forget to enter the chia seed giveaway!!  Am I sounding like a broken record […]

  3. a hoax|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog with a Sprinkle of Chia Seeds - August 29, 2010

    […] Only a few more hours left to enter the chia seed giveaway! […]

Leave a Reply

