can't help but love her

24 Aug

This girl has been very naughty today.

Doesn’t she look evil?

I had an Outbox conference call today, and she waited until 2 minutes into the call to decide that she absolutely could not wait another second to go outside and relieve herself.  So, I’m sitting at my desk with the call on speaker phone, trying to learn a new program that we’ll be offering to clients.  She comes prancing in, collar jingling at what seems an unnaturally loud decibel, and jumps up, putting her little paws on my leg.

Anytime she does this, she gets this very knowing look in her eyes that says “take me out NOW, or else!”

Sometimes I forget who’s the adult and who’s the dog.

Seeing as how there is no way for me to let her out right away, I reach down to pick her up (and make her stop staring at me) at which point she scoots back really fast, slipping on the wood floor and landing on her face.  She immediately regains her footing and in is instantly back on my leg, staring me down.  This routine ensues for another several minutes with me throwing her silent threats by motioning with my hands to say “no more treats!” and “I’ll spank you!”  To no avail.

All I can say is good thing it wasn’t a video conference call.

Anyway, we’ve since made up…but next time there’s a conference call on the docket, somebody’s going to her kennel!

You know I can’t help but still love her:)

Today was a stretch and strengthen day per our training schedule – a perfect opportunity for PiYo!  The Tuesday class at our gym is really challenging.  The type of challenging where you’re swearing half way through that you’ll never go back.  And yet you do…because you love the way it makes your muscles sore, but so strong.

I threw down a handful of grapes on the way out the door.

Apparently I should have thrown down a lot more because half way through the class my energy hit rock bottom and my body was begging for fuel.  Oops.

By the time I got home, my body knew exactly what it wanted.  I really didn’t have a say in the matter.

For the perfect egg sandwich – mix up one free range organic egg + one egg white, sea salt and black pepper, pour it into a small microwavable bowl and cook it for 2 minutes.  Don’t forget to spray the bowl first!  Not that I would know any other way;)

I sandwiched it between a toasted cinnamon raisin Ezekiel muffin – the perfect little sandwich in under 5 minutes flat!

Side note: I wouldn’t actually suggest using the cinnamon raisin muffin variety for this sandwich.  My heart said yes, but my tastebuds said no.

Lunch today was simple as I was trying to get ready for my conference call and didn’t have much time!

Amy’s low sodium Lentil Vegetable soup

I also had a few tortilla chips with salsa and more grapes on the side.

I’m currently drying some tears – the result of a really emotional thank you/explanation email to one of my principals from last year.  You know, sometimes I still miss my teaching job so much it hurts.  So thankful to God that I know it was the right decision.  Time to pull myself together, though, because I’ve got one precious little hour left in which to finish off my list of to do’s!

Don’t forget to enter the chia giveaway.  These chias need a loving home!

Oh, and if you missed my PiYo guest post at the lovely A Side of Sneakers yesterday, go check it out!

7 Responses to “can't help but love her”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) August 24, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

    I always say it’s a good thing they’re cute!!

  2. Dorry August 24, 2010 at 6:01 pm #

    Your egg sandwich has me wanting breakfast for dinner – yum! Amen to what you said about knowing it was the right decision even though you miss it. God’s plan is awesome!

  3. Amanda @ Vegacious August 24, 2010 at 7:05 pm #

    She is adorable!!! How can one resist……. 😉

  4. Bekah @ runtrackmind August 25, 2010 at 8:34 am #

    You can’t help but love them 😉

  5. Sarah @Gluten-free tries Vegan August 25, 2010 at 8:46 am #

    Hello there! Just catching up on your posts. I love your photography 🙂 and I also love your little rascal- so cute.

    I’ve been craving eggs big time this week despite not having had them for over a year. Weird. I’m revisiting my ethical stance of whether or not to eat them (controversial!).

    And thank you SO much for your kind words when I stressed on your blog before Paris. I’m feeling so much better now and even though the next few months are going to be crazy busy i know that somehow I’ll get through them. Then there will only be one year left of nurse training, woo woo!

    Just going to check out your guest post now on PiYo.

    Sorry for the long comment! Love ya!

    • candice August 25, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

      Aw, thanks girl!

      I would really like to hear more about your egg decision. I have definitely done my fair share of thinking through it and would love to hear your thoughts. Very strange that you would all of a sudden start craving them.

      I’m so glad you’re feeling better! I truly believe that what you’re doing is amazing and so worth it!

      I am dying to hear more about your trip. I’m headed over right now, and you better have a post up;)

  6. Kristina @ spabettie August 25, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

    oh my stars she is just the cutest thing!! 🙂 Basil (dachshund) does the same thing… he’ll put his front paws on my leg, I’ll reach down to pick him up, he scoots away. Again and again…

    That egg sando looks delicious… thanks for the tip – I make eggs in mugs all the time, and seriously !! WHY have I never thought to spray? geez, you’d think it’s rocket science… sometimes the simplest things!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

