a thai kind of night

27 Aug

Last night we had a special visitor!

Bjorn was a part of the team we worked with in Thailand, and he now lives in California.  He was in town last night, so he and Jon had dinner together and then they came back to the house afterward to hang out.

I had my weekly scheduled chat session for my photography class, so I couldn’t go to dinner.  And when Jon told me they were going to our local Thai restaurant I was so bummed because I’ve been craving Thai food.  And I wanted to spend time with Bjorn of course!

So what’s a girl to do when she’s home all alone and craving Thai food?

If you said get take out, shame on you;)

Classic Cashew Veggies

Ingredients
snow peas
zucchini, sliced
canned baby corn, cut
organic carrots, chopped
broccoli, chopped
mushrooms
brown rice
3 tsp low sodium tamari
2 tsp maple syrup
1 tsp arrowroot powder
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp rice wine vinegar
chia seeds
raw cashews

the sauce lineup:)

Directions

1.  Add olive oil to wok
2. Heat olive oil over medium heat
2. In a small bowl, mix together tamari, maple syrup, arrowroot powder, rice wine vinegar
3. Place chopped carrots and broccoli in wok and stir fry for several minutes
4. Add baby corn, zucchini, snow peas and cashews to wok
5. Pour liquid mixture over veggies and stir fry for 10 minutes or until desired softness is reached (I like mine to be a bit crunchy)
6. Add mushrooms and cook for just another couple of minutes
7. Pile veggie mixture atop a bed of brown rice, sprinkle with chia seeds and enjoy!



and the star of the show

This was just as good or better than what I get at the restaurant – and it was so fast and easy!!  The cashews definitely make this dish, though, so give your right arm if you have to, but don’t leave out the cashews!

It was an interesting change to cook for one instead of two.  Cooking for one has it’s perks…such as no worries about the husband rejecting my sauce (I told you he’s brutally honest).  But I have to say I much enjoy cooking for two – the company in the kitchen can’t be beat.  Jon and I usually cook together – read: I cook and he entertains me.  It works:)

However, I have to say that sometimes the husband comes through and creates his own unique spin on things.  He’s the one that inspired today’s lunch.

Haha, just kidding!  I actually did have this meal for lunch, but I decided to spare you the pictures because the box truthfully is prettier than the meal itself.  But I’m positive the meal tasted better than the box did.  Not that I would know.

Here’s what the husband really did inspire

This is one of his favorite “inventions” and he’s so proud of them.

I taught my PiYo class this morning and then went straight to campus to tutor my new ESL student, and by the time I got back home I was starving and craving mexican food in a big way.  I don’t like to eat frozen meals too often because fresh food is so much better!  But it is nice to have one on hand for those days when you just want something super fast and easy.

But I couldn’t have mexican food without chips and salsa and seeing as how we didn’t have any tortilla chips I went with this healthified version.

Basically just cut a corn tortilla into 8 pieces, place them on a cookie sheet, spray with cooking spray and sprinkle with salt!

Bake it for about 10 minutes at 400 degrees, watching carefully to make sure there’s no burnage.  You want the edges to get barely browned and crispy!

Pair with some homemade salsa, and you’re set!

I’m gonna go sit down, put my feet up and sip on a Pom spritzer for just a bit before I get some more work done.  The friendly people at Pom Wonderful were kind enough to send me a case of Pom juice to try out, and I’m loving it!

There are so many ways to use it, but for starters just mix it with some seltzer water and ice

It makes a perfect afternoon pick-me-up, and it’s full of antioxidants to boot!

Diet coke – be gone!

Btw – the company didn’t ask me to review this product...I just tried it, loved it and wanted to share it with you all!

Happy Friday to you all!!

Who does the cooking (and cleaning!) at your house?

7 Responses to “a thai kind of night”

  1. Rhea August 27, 2010 at 9:24 pm #

    Chia seeds on a stir fry is brilliant! I love rocking anything in a wok when the weather gets cooler- so fast and warming.

    • candice August 30, 2010 at 7:48 pm #

      So true – I actually need to break my wok out more. Sadly, our weather is turning blazing hot again – I’m so ready for fall!

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach) August 28, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    Dinner sounds delish to me. Yum. That salsa look pretty good too – homemade???? I am all for making my own chips like that too. Thumbs up. I do most of the cooking, but the hubby definitely doesn’t mind helping out. And if I cook dinner, he cleans the kitchen.

  3. Dorry August 28, 2010 at 9:52 am #

    I’m usually in charge of breakfast and lunch – Billy loves to cook dinner! We both clean but probably me a bit more. I’m a little bit compulsive about dirty dishes and laundry. 🙂

    • candice August 30, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

      It’s so nice to have husbands;) who help out a lot. When I was growing up, my mom did all of the household stuff, so I’m extra thankful!

  4. Paige @ Running Around Normal August 28, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    Your Thai meal looks absolutely fantastic! Love that you sprinkled chia seeds on top:)
    I love drinking POM juice is a spritzer – makes it last longer too 😉

  5. Hillary [Nutrition Nut on the Run] August 29, 2010 at 10:25 am #

    I used to eat that Amy’s bowl a lot in my college dorm years : )

Leave a Reply

