a hoax

29 Aug

Only a few more hours left to enter the chia seed giveaway!

Yesterday I was MIA…at least here on the blog.

There was, however, a lot of action going on off the blog.

Cookies were baked (and eaten!)

Walks were taken

Delicious food was prepared and consumed

And the moon was watched.


Not sure what that other object is – it wasn’t visible except in the photo.  Must have been something to do with the lense?

Yes, that’s right.  I said the moon was watched.

My lovely sister sent me a text message on Friday evening tell me that at 12:30 am I would be able to see Mars and that it would appear as big as the moon.  Well, I’m not one to miss out on an event this epic!

So, while Jon fell asleep by about 11pm, I burned the midnight oil, waiting for my chance to get a glimpse of the red planet.  At exactly 12:28 I shook Jon awake and told him, “you have to get up!  we have to go see Mars!”

He faithfully stumbles after me, down the hall and out the front door, where he sleepily plops down on the porch while I stand in the middle of the yard, camera ready.

I watch…and watch….and watch.  Waiting.

And nothing.  There was nothing but the trusty moon and a sprinkling of tiny stars.

So, after about 10 minutes, we traipse back inside where I immediately hop on the computer to get the lowdown.  It’s at this point that I find out that we’d been duped!  Apparently this email goes out every year, and it’s all a hoax designed to get fools like me to stare up at the sky, hoping to see a once in a lifetime event.

Bummer.

Luckily the husband is very sweet and forgiving of my crazy antics.

But Cristen, you better watch your back 😉

Onward and upward.

This morning we got up super late for our weekly long run.  Because we cut back to the half marathon, our weekly long run was cut back as well.  So we went out for 5 miles.  I think I underestimated it.  I was a little too cocky.

We’ve been running seven plus miles, so I thought we had this one in the bag.  It didn’t go so well, however.  By the time we got out there the sun was beating down with a vengeance, and despite the drop in temperatures as of late, it was blazing hot.  With the help of a little walking, we finished it out though.  Bad runs always happen, so we’re not too bummed.  The walking time was actually kind of nice:)  We’ll get revenge next week.

I’m off to get caught up on some work that piled up a bit while we were playing all day yesterday. I’ll be back with a recipe for the second batch of cookies later.

Hope you all had a fantastic weekend!

11 Responses to “a hoax”

  1. Rhea August 29, 2010 at 7:02 pm #

    Beautiful pictures, as always! Whenever one of those orbs shows up in a photograph (like in your moon shot), I always say it’s a ghost 😉

  2. Amy B @ Second City Randomness August 29, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    Ok- you weren’t kidding about the cookie baking! They look fantastic! I like to bake cakes and such (like I did this weekend), but cookies are my favorite to make- hands down. Nicely done!

    • candice August 30, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

      You better believe it:) Now I have way too many cookies! To the freezer they go!

  3. Dorry August 29, 2010 at 9:24 pm #

    Your photos are beautiful Candice! And I want some of your cookies please. 🙂

    • candice August 30, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

      Thanks, girl! I’d send you some, but we ate ’em all! haha, jk:)

  4. Lizz @ Leading the Good Life August 29, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

    That is too funny about the Mars thing! I’ll be honest, as I was reading your post I was getting mad that I missed something incredible like that. 🙂

    Your pictures are great! I like your composition…little things like including the lid to the sugar container and the one ‘lost’ mushroom in the photo are things I’d never think to do – but work so well!

    • candice August 30, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

      lol:) Glad you didn’t have time to get too mad.

      Thanks so much for the sweet comments on my photos! Totally made my day.

  5. Susan August 30, 2010 at 7:29 am #

    I wouldn’t be too upset, I love staring at the moon! I love staring at delicious cookies too 😉

    • candice August 30, 2010 at 7:56 pm #

      haha…If I hadn’t been expecting to see a giant sized Mars I probably would have enjoyed the moon a bit more I guess:)

  6. amber@SAHM's musings August 30, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    Love long walks! Your pics are fantastic

    • candice August 30, 2010 at 7:56 pm #

      Thank you:)

Leave a Reply

