fireworks in September

4 Sep

Last night I met up with my friend Grace to go watch our city’s fireworks show.  It was an absolutely beautiful night, almost cool enough for a jacket, and we had a fantastic time.

Surprisingly the fireworks show was one of the best shows I think I’ve seen in a while.  They timed it with half time of the high school football game, so it was somewhat short, but what it lacked in length it totally made up in awesomeness:)

Jon left early this morning to go back to work, so I spent most of the day getting the house cleaned up and working on my yoga class.  Only four more days until I teach my first official yoga class…I’m a little nervous, but so excited!

Right when I got up this morning, I drank a small green monster to tide me over until I decided what to do for the morning.  I sort of wanted to go for a run, but yoga was really calling my name, so I opted out of the run.

A little while later I was starving, but not quite ready for lunch, so I had a little snack.

homemade hummus and Kashi TLC crackers

A couple of hours and a sparkling clean bathroom later I decided to cook up some lunch!  This is one of my favorite go-to meals when Jon isn’t home.  It’s healthy, easy and he doesn’t like sweet potatoes…so it works out perfectly:)

I mixed 2 tsp of olive oil with a few shakes of garlic powder, ground red pepper and oregano.  After slicing the sweet potato and snapping the asparagus, I tossed everything in a gallon ziplock bag together, shaking it until I couldn’t shake anymore.  I then dumped the sweet potatoes out on a cookie sheet and placed them in the oven at 400 degrees for 15 minutes.

Ready, set, speed clean the bathroom!

When the buzzer went off, I flipped the potato rounds and added the asparagus to the cookie sheet before throwing it all back in the oven for another 15 minutes.

Last time I made this I cooked the asparagus too long – but this time they were just perfect!  They still had a little bit of crunch to them, but were still just the right amount of soft:)

I promised myself that if I got everything cleaned and worked on yoga, that I’d sit back, relax and do something purely for fun later tonight.  I think I’m gonna grab some dinner and maybe read a book or magazine for awhile until Jon gets home.

Yay for a three day weekend!  Hope yours is going swell:)

Love and chia seeds:) Candice

Edited to add: haha!  When I went back to re-read this post, I realized I never explained why our city was shooting off fireworks in September..lol.  It rained cats and dogs on the 4th of July this year, so they had to cancel the show. It was rescheduled for last night.

3 Responses to “fireworks in September”

  1. Janice- down the veggie road September 4, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    Hello – just stumbled on your blog and love it!!!
    Can’t wait to read more 😉
    Many blessings to you!
    Janice 😉

    • candice September 6, 2010 at 11:37 am #

      Thanks SO much for stopping by! And thanks even more for saying hello:)

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach) September 4, 2010 at 9:50 pm #

    Those Kashi crackers are the best aren’t they – maybe a bit too good 😉 You just reminded me that I have some asparagus that needs to be used ASAP. Hope you’re having a great evening friend!

Leave a Reply

