a day of reunions

7 Sep

After such a fun and spontaneous day yesterday it was admittedly a bit hard to get back into a routine today.  As my husband can attest – I live for spontaneity.  I love waking up and not know what the day will hold and then making it into something wonderful.

We spent the first half of Labor Day getting some work done.  One of the harder aspects of owning your own business – you must work even on holidays!  I was so glad we got work out of the way, though, because then we had the rest of the day to relax and play.

On a whim, we decided to head to Tulsa.  There are several draws to visiting this second closest city to us:

1. my brother-in-law and sister-in-law live there.
2. Whole Foods lives there.
3. There’s a mall.

What can I say? I’m easily pleased.

Before heading out of town, we grabbed some lunch to take on the road.

For him – Chickfila.  He doesn’t get quite as excited as I do about taking pictures with his food.

For her – Panera.

Mediterranean Veggie Sandwich (minus the feta)

And an apple balancing on my knee:)

Our first stop in Tulsa as at the Apple Store at the mall to look at iPads.  The husband is considering purchasing one for the business, but got cold feet and decided to think on it some more.

We also stumbled upon this place while perusing the mall.

I had never tried Teavana tea before, and I was pleasantly surprised!  They had several different flavors out for sampling and they were all delicious.  I resisted bringing any home with me, but I would definitely like to try some of their teas in the future.  Tea has been on my mind more and more with colder weather fast approaching, so Teavana – maybe we will meet again:)

Upon leaving the mall, we headed straight for my BIL and SIL’s house.  We didn’t stay there long as they had dinner cooking and we needed to get back home, but considering we hadn’t seen them since Christmas (pathetic!) it was so nice to catch up in person for awhile.

Unfortunately I didn’t get a picture yesterday, but just for fun here’s one from when they (MIL and FIL came too!) came to visit us when we lived in Thailand.  Fun times.

Anyway, before heading back home, we grabbed some dinner at PeiWei

And then headed to Whole Foods, where the best thing ever happened.

I was reunited with my love.

no cameras allowed in Whole Foods so we had to sneak this shot with the iPhone

Almond Butter and I have been separated for a good few months due mostly to the much lower cost of peanut butter:(  But last night Whole Foods had their machine working where you can grind your own, and it was only $4.99/lb.  So much cheaper than buying it in a jar here!

I was a true foodie through and through last night as I giddily walked through the store with my prized possession tucked safely under my arm and a smile from ear to ear.  Only those of you who share my love for almond butter can understand how happy I was.  The rest of you can just think how weird I am.  I’m okay with that:)

It was a smooth ride all the way back home…just me and the husband.  And possibly some dark chocolate.

Hope you all had a great day and are all geared up for the short week!

Love, Candice

Do you live for spontaneity like myself?  Or do you prefer the structure of a routine and planning?

16 Responses to “a day of reunions”

  1. Liza @ Health Nutting September 7, 2010 at 4:46 pm #

    I KNOW that feeing of happiness of buying almond butter! 🙂
    I prefer routine and planning and I also prefer to be busy rather than have tons and tons of free time.

    • candice September 10, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

      Yes, too much free time = not good for me either. Somehow I’m always more productive when I have less time.

  2. Jennifer@ knackfornutrition September 7, 2010 at 4:49 pm #

    I like a bit of both. I find that a little spontaneity gives me the right mindset to be happy with my day to day routine. I learn toward planning though, for sure. If I am separated from my planner for too long I freak out! 🙂
    Oh and I completely understand your obsession with almond butter. I did the same thing at Wegman’s the other day and my friend who went shopping with me looked at me as if I was crazy. Must be a food blogger thing!

    • candice September 10, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

      Gotta love having food blogger friends…”normal” people just don’t understand;)

  3. Amy B @ Second City Randomness September 7, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

    I want to make my own WF almond butter!!! The crappy WF next to me doesn’t have that… typical! Grrr….

  4. Rhea September 7, 2010 at 6:51 pm #

    Oh I love Teavana!!! Their samples are the best, their tea “cocktails” are brilliant. My wallet weeps whenever I go there… my recent favorite is a black tea with cacao nibs, chiles and strawberries.

    • candice September 10, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

      Ohhh, that does sound good. I have absolutely no idea how this was my first time to go there. I actually never even knew there was a Teavana store before now. Crazy!

  5. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com September 7, 2010 at 8:53 pm #

    that photo was worth being stealthy and sneaky hehe, way to be a rebel!! woohoo 😉

    ive heard a bunch of fabulous things about Panera! i so wish we had one nearby.

    i love little reunions!! these photos were AWESOME to look through ❤

    • candice September 10, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

      I love your comments:)

  6. Dorry September 7, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    We definitely live for spontaneity! Billy always has – me more since he’s in my life. I think it’s important!

    I LOVE Pei Wei.

  7. Halley @ Blunder Construction September 8, 2010 at 8:15 am #

    So fun! Hope you enjoy the almond butter, I actually haven’t tried their machine kind yet. I didn’t know cameras weren’t allowed in Whole Foods, did you learn that the hard way?? 😛 Looks like a fun trip!

  8. Kristina @ spabettie September 8, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    I am more of a planner… but sometimes I like spontaneous. 🙂

    I need to check out our WF to see if I can make my own ab…. YUM

  9. Janice- down the veggie road September 8, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

    Ummmm …..almond butter!!!
    I also didn’t know that about whole payck and cameras 😉 hmm… learnd-ed (;0) something new…;)
    How Incredibly cool that you lived in Thailand (jealous a bit 😉

    Blessings
    J

    • candice September 10, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

      Aw, thanks:)

      I learned about the no cameras thing the hard way. I was in a store in Dallas just snapping away, and I got reprimanded! lol.

  10. Janice- down the veggie road September 10, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

    Oh good to know since I Live in the Dallas area so I might have gotten caught myself one day if I didn’t know;) I always use my iPhone camera anyway and pretend I’m texting when I snap in stores cuz I feel funny snapping pics in stores 😉 like yesterday in a new yougurtland -the kid at the counter I think was trying to figure out what crazy lady here was doing with her iPhone in the air ;0)

    • candice September 10, 2010 at 4:32 pm #

      lol – totally know that feeling!

Leave a Reply

