Project Food Blog Challenge #1

19 Sep

Hey friends!  I’m sure you’ve all heard about the Project Food Blog contest that Foodbuzz is hosting for all featured publishers.  After much deliberation, I decided to enter because even though ChiaSeedMe is still a humble little blog, I love a good contest and if I’m blessed enough to stay in the contest past the first cut, I’ll be pushed to tackle challenges that I never would get out of my comfort zone to do otherwise.  Plus, I love blogging about food, so why not?!

So, in lieu of my first entry, here’s a little bit about me and why I would love to be and believe I can be the next Food Blog Star:)  In true English teacher style I bring to you…


The Who

Hey, I’m Candice, a former high school English teacher passionate about food, crazy about my yorkie, Olive, and head over heels for my husband, Jon.  I left my teaching job to pursue writing and health, and am loving navigating this new and uncertain world of following my foodie dreams.  I love spending my time creating recipes, writing about and photographing everything from a simple green smoothie (which I partake in most mornings) to a perfect chocolaty vegan cookie (which I wish I could partake in most mornings:).  I also love teaching yoga, running, going for walks and laughing and talking about English with international students.

The What

ChiaSeedMe is a healthy living blog that I started last January. I previously blogged about my random daily life at a different blog and was super intimidated to start my own food blog; however, once I wrote my first post, I knew I had made the best decision ever, and since then ChiaSeedMe has become such a fun and fulfilling part of my life. I blog about everything from the simple, tasty meals I create to funny little anecdotes in my everyday life that usually involve mishaps in and out of the kitchen and the crazy antics of my husband and our little furball.  Toss in some posts about exercise, beauty products, vivid photographs and stories from our travels to Thailand and beyond and you’ve got a glimpse of every side of ChiaSeedMe.

The When

I usually blog once a day and inspiration usually strikes me sometime in the afternoon or evening.  Though I’m definitely known to still be typing and uploading photos at midnight more often than I’d like to admit.

The Where

I live in central Oklahoma in a small city where it’s a 50 mile drive to the nearest Target or Whole Foods.  While it sometimes drives me mad to not have access to great restaurants and beautiful running paths, I’m often forced to create my own inspiration or find it in the unlikeliest of places. I often use the most basic, everyday foods (Walmart kind of foods:) in my recipes, and on runs I seek out inspiration from cows and wheat fields rather than crashing waves.  I hope this enables readers to relate to me and to be encouraged to find their own inspiration in the simplest of places.  I believe that a healthy life is less about our circumstances and more about what we make of them.


The Why

I get kind of teary eyed thinking about the why of ChiaSeedMe.  For the first 25 years of my life, I struggled on a diet of fat-free and sugar-free foods, while feeling guilty every single morning that I didn’t burn enough calories on the treadmill.  Then I found healthy living blogs, and my perspective did a one-eighty.  I learned that there is truly nothing better for our bodies than real, whole foods and exercise that is done in pursuit of health and not a number on the scale.  I admit, I’m still learning so much about balancing life through food, and I have setbacks all the time (right, Jon?:), but I know that I’m leaps and bounds beyond where I was even two years ago, and I want to share that with anyone who will listen.  I want to shout it from the rooftops, and ChiaSeedMe is one way I get the opportunity to do that!  I truly love my little blog, and every single reader I hear from reinforces the reason why.  When I hear that someone was inspired to eat more real foods because of my daily eats or that someone made one of my recipes for their family and it was a huge hit, I get butterflies inside.

Sometimes I can’t believe that people actually read this blog of mine, and I dream of the day that I can reach more people and hopefully make a positive impact on some small corner of the world.

24 Responses to “Project Food Blog Challenge #1”

  1. Jennifer@ knackfornutrition September 19, 2010 at 5:25 pm #

    I love your “why” response as I have had a similar shift in perspective since I threw myself into this community. It is amazing what our bodies can do when we fuel them properly. I get the same kicks out of people reading and commenting on my blog or when people say that they look to me as a role model because of my dedication to a healthy lifestyle. It is something I am not sure I will ever get used to, but if fills me with a sense of pride and self-worth that is difficult to explain.

    • candice September 20, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

      Best thing ever! So glad you feel it too:)

  2. Sarah Jayne September 19, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    Awww what a creative & unique idea for your first challenge post. Love it! I relate to your story so much…obviously I too live in the middle of nowhere, without any “big city” luxuries, and just am here in this BIG virtual world to share a little of my passion for food. Good luck lady, I will be voting for you!

    • candice September 20, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

      Thanks, girl! Gotta love living in the middle of nowhere, right? As much as I complain about it, I really think I’ll miss it if we ever leave. I read your entry yesterday, and you’ve def. got my vote too:)

  3. Halley September 19, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

    I really love your approach to challenge #1! I think you capture the essence of Chiaseedme in your 5 W’s. Peaceful, calming and beautiful pictures. I can’t wait to see the rest of the project!

    • candice September 20, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

      Thanks so much! That’s exactly what I was aiming for:)

  4. Theresa September 19, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    LOVE how you did this first post! It’s so great to be able to read and learn from people like you, on the other side of the world, who are trying to live healthy. You’re inspiring. 🙂

    • candice September 20, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

      You are too sweet:) You just made my day! thank you.

  5. Marianne September 19, 2010 at 8:23 pm #

    That’s a great first challenge! I still have to do mine and I can’t think of anything as original as yours!

    • candice September 20, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

      Thank you! I’m sure you came up with something great – I can’t wait to stop by and read it:)

  6. Ashlee September 19, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

    Thank you for sharing you life with us. I am loving reading about everyone’s life during this foodbuzz challenge. I posted my FBC blog yesterday. Check it out and let me know what you think.
    Ashlee
    http://ashandlewplus2.com/2010/09/18/project-food-blog-ready-set-blog/

    • candice September 20, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting! I’m loving getting to know more people too. Such a fun challenge!

  7. Joslyn @ missfitbliss.com September 20, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    Hey there! This is my first time visiting your site and I love it! The layout and just overall look are so refreshing and original;) Cool stuff!

    • candice September 20, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

      Thanks so much! What a sweet compliment:) So glad you stopped by!

  8. Amy (Sing For Your Supper) September 20, 2010 at 5:00 pm #

    What a wonderful post! So nice getting to know all about you and your blog! Best of luck in PFB!!

  9. Kristina @ spabettie September 20, 2010 at 6:24 pm #

    Candice I LOVE this!! Your ‘why’ is absolutely why I love your blog and visit each day… and you are an inspiration.

    This is one of my favorite entires… very original. You have my vote 🙂

    • candice September 20, 2010 at 6:30 pm #

      Thanks so much girl – you are too sweet, and you just made my day!

  10. Paige @ Running Around Normal September 20, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    Your pictures are absolutely gorgeous! Love the 5 W’s idea:)

    • candice September 20, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

      Thanks roomie:) I must catch up on your blog!!! I’ve been MIA…

  11. Alissa @ Not Just Apples September 21, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    Gorgeous blog, I just had to vote!

    • candice September 21, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

      Thanks so much on both accounts!

  12. Jason Wong September 23, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    Hope you get through the first round.

    • candice September 23, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

      Thank you! And best of luck to you as well:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weaning From Breastfeeding Guide | audio conference calling - September 19, 2010

    […] Project Food Blog Challenge #1|ChiaSeedMe | My Healthy Living Blog … […]

Leave a Reply

