adventures in iowa part 1

30 Sep

So, we headed out at about 11pm last night…

…and drove….

…and drove some more…

and finally arrived in Iowa at about 9 am this morning!

I’m not going to lie, it was a rough night.  It was actually kind of fun considering we hadn’t seen our sweet friends, Jason and Emily, in months – we had puh-lenty of time to catch up!  But the time when I was actually trying to sleep was not pretty.  No big surprise there, though.

The most eventful part of the trip was on the Kansas turnpike about 3 hours in.  We suddenly realized we were quite low on gas, but if you’ve ever been on the Kansas turnpike, you know that there is a large portion of nothingness for miles. Our gauge was telling us that we had 0 miles of gas left, and we still had 14 miles to go.

Our gas gauge lies apparently…because somehow we made it all the way.  A gas station has never looked so beautiful, especially at 3 am.

Upon arriving in Iowa, we first hit up the little town, Fort Madison, where the guys’ tuxes were waiting.  Before picking them up, however, we found this cute little cafe in the middle of town.  It was so quaint…and it literally put a smile on face for many reasons.

cute atmosphere and sweet friends (and husband:)

Japanese Sencha Green Tea


whole wheat toast with Barney Butter from my HLS swag bag

a big bowl of fruit

I was feeling really pretty terrible by the time we got to Fort Madison – my eyes were bloodshot and burning, my body was stiff and cramped everywhere…and I needed a serious shower.  But this little cafe, Wild Whisk, made me so very happy!  It was the breath of fresh air I needed with a healthy breakfast and some delicious tea.

Then we walked to the tux place.  And I snapped photos of all the quaintness.

handsome husband:)

We finally made it all the way to Burlington at about 11am, and after some puppy dog eyes and coercing with the front desk clerk were able to snag an early check in.

I showered and then hopped into bed, feeling so blessed to have my husband on one side of me and our wonderful friends in the next bed over (not awkward at all:).  We are sharing a room this afternoon, and then tonight the guys will stay together for the bachelor party, and Em and I will stay here.  I spent the rest of the afternoon just like this.

Tonight we enjoyed the evening celebrating with our friends at their rehearsal dinner.  And it was lovely.  More of our Iowa adventure to come tomorrow!

12 Responses to “adventures in iowa part 1”

  1. Amanda @ Vegacious October 1, 2010 at 5:22 am #

    Fort Madison was where I found my first teaching job after college – and the Wild Wisk is definitely a great place to find some good food!

    • candice October 1, 2010 at 10:45 am #

      So funny! It’s such a quaint little town:)

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach) October 1, 2010 at 8:35 am #

    Glad you guys made it safely. The first thing I want to do after a long car ride is shower. I always feel grimy after riding all day.

    • candice October 1, 2010 at 10:47 am #

      oh my gosh, I know! I really couldn’t hit the shower fast enough.

  3. jen cheung October 1, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    glad you guys made it through – look at the healthy breakfast! yumms and of course the cup of tea. isn’t it just perfect? 🙂

    It’s FRIDAY! Enjoy the lovely weekend!
    jen @ http://www.passion4food.ca

    • candice October 1, 2010 at 10:47 am #

      Thanks! Hope you enjoy your weekend as well:)

  4. Rhea (Greek Feaster) October 1, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    Oh Candice your husband is so DAPPER in a suit! My boyfriend and I are going to a wedding on Sunday and I’m so, so excited to see him dressed up 🙂
    And that is just about the most all-American gas station I ever did see

  5. postcollegecook October 2, 2010 at 12:07 am #

    Aww, Fort Madison is in the area where my husband grew up in northeastern Missouri. I’ve never been there but it looks a lot like other small towns in the area 🙂

  6. Heather @ Side of Sneakers October 2, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    You just reminded me that I should have a Barney Butter sample lying around somewhere….

  7. amber@SAHM's musings October 2, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    Glad y’all made it safe and sound. I don’t know how you drive through the night!

  8. jon October 27, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

    Hey babe, nice post.

    • jon October 27, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

      Hey sport, nice reply.

Leave a Reply

