adventures in iowa part 2

5 Oct

I would be so thankful if you would take a second to go here to check out and consider voting for my entry for Project Food Buzz Challenge #3!  I need you all now more than ever! You guys are the best:)

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Whew!  What a weekend!  Between our road-tripping wedding weekend in Iowa and pulling off a dinner party on Sunday, I am still trying to bounce back energy wise.

Aside from a serious lack of sleep, we had a seriously epic time.

Thursday night was the rehearsal dinner for the lovely couple – and not only was there great friends, but the food wasn’t too bad either.  I was prepared for the worst and had a Larabar in tow just in case…but I ended up with a plate full of roasted potatoes, corn (very fittingly), salad and a piece of bread.  Unfortunately (or fortunately:), I was having so much fun, I didn’t manage to get any food pics.

probably the only time you’ll ever see the husband holding a pocket knife and a corn husk:)

After an early morning workout session (bike and eliptical) at the hotel Friday morning, I spent the day exploring the cute little city of Burlington with a couple of friends…and they let me go wild snapping pictures.  I’m sure I was driving them crazy by the end of the day, but they were so sweet and gracious about it – standing around waiting on me and trying to look natural while I snapped away!

But first…lunch at a classy little cafe, Bistro 322.  I ordered the veggie and white bean hummus wrap with mixed greens on the side.

As you guys know, I just took a beginner’s photography class during the month of August, and aside from photographing food, I haven’t really practiced all that much.  Unfortunately it’s kind of challenging for me to get inspired just going about my day-to-day at home, but I’m really working on finding inspiration in my own surroundings.  Even though Burlington is a fairly average little town, it has loads of charm…plus, the weather was breathtaking!

Lately I’ve become obsessed with jumping pictures.  And I was feeling a bit frisky with the 70 degree weather and all:)

After an afternoon full of sightseeing, we sauntered over to Illinois before making our way back to the hotel to get ready for the wedding!

The wedding was at a quaint little church on the outskirts of town.  And it just so happened to have a giant corn field right beside it.  We had spent enough time gazing at the corn from afar…it was time to get up close and personal!

With the corn and with each other;)

And last, but definitely not the least – it was reception time!

We danced the night away:)

Stay tuned for the last part of our Iowa adventure tomorrow as we road-tripped back home, stopping at one of the finest sightseeing locations in Iowa.  At least from what I’ve seen.

And again, I’d be so thankful if you’d consider giving me your vote!

7 Responses to “adventures in iowa part 2”

  1. Amy B @ Second City Randomness October 5, 2010 at 6:43 am #

    That looks like such a fun wedding! Gotta love the small towns- gives for a perfect background and intimate setting! 🙂

    • candice October 5, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

      It was really quaint – gotta love small towns:)

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach) October 5, 2010 at 8:13 am #

    Loving all the pictures!

  3. amber@SAHM's musings October 6, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

    I’m loving jump shots too! You should check this guy out http://jumpingbook.com/

  4. Emily Morris October 6, 2010 at 11:04 pm #

    Ahh! I had SO much fun with you! You are so talented. Miss your face. 🙂

    • candice October 8, 2010 at 6:05 pm #

      You are so sweet. I absolutely loved getting to spend time with you, too. Wish we could do it more often:( Hope you’re enjoying being back home with you baby girl!

  5. Sarah @Gluten-free tries Vegan October 19, 2010 at 2:56 am #

    Beautiful!!! I especially love the pictures of you and Jon. xxx

Leave a Reply

