adventures in iowa part 3

5 Oct

Hi!

Each time I do a series of post to recap a vacation or event, I get so antsy at the end.  I just want to write about today…not 3 days ago!  But alas, I love having this blog as a way to look back on my life, a scrapbook of sorts, so I shall carry on with the last day of our time in Iowa. This also happened with our trip to Europe this summer, except I actually never did recap the last two days.  I very well might still recap them at some point, but we’ll see.

Anyway, tomorrow I’ll be showing you some festive fall things I did today!  Think food (or course:) and home decor!

Our exciting tourist stop on our way out of Iowa was this…

the house used in the painting “American Gothic.”  It was totally an unplanned stop – we just saw the sign and off we went!  I love seeing stuff like this, though.  I mean, I might never be driving by Eldon, Iowa again…I’ve gotta take advantage of opportunities like this! 😉

I did think the house was pretty darn cute, though.  I’d live there:)

Told you I’m obsessed.

And my favorite picture of the day – Jon and I depicting “American Gothic.”  If we were truly trying to replicate it, we’d need to crop the picture, obviously…but Jon played around with the effects instead:)  Do I look angry or what?!

The rest of the day was an ultra boring and long drive home, during which I brainstormed my Project Food Blog entry.  My eats were equally as boring, consisting of a veggie Subway sandwich, spelt pretzels and almond butter, a few pieces of chocolate and a couple handfuls of the husband’s Chex Mix.   It was so hard to be stuck in the car when I really needed to be working on my dinner party…but I tried to use my time the best way possible!

Speaking of PFB, please hop over and check out my entry and vote for me if you think me worthy of advancing!  I’m going to put myself out there and say I feel more anxious about this entry than any of the others.  It just took so much time, energy and heart…I’m nervous!!

I’m off to work on some yoga for my class tomorrow – hope you’re all having a great start to your week!

Still to come this week:

  • Fall fun at our house
  • my review of Burt’s Bees skin care products and an update on Project: Clear up my Skin!
4 Responses to “adventures in iowa part 3”

  1. amber@SAHM's musings October 6, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

    What great pics! The jump shot and your depiction of Amer. Goth. are my faves 🙂 Looking forward to fall fun and a BB review!

    • candice October 8, 2010 at 6:08 pm #

      Thanks! I tried to go to that jumping link, but I couldn’t get the page to load. I even tried typing it directly in – no luck! I want to see some of your jumping shots, girl!

  2. Paige @ Running Around Normal October 6, 2010 at 8:34 pm #

    I love that last picture!! Very cool effect:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010: a look back part II|ChiaSeedMe - January 4, 2011

    […] ended with a long roadtrip to Iowa (part II, part III) for a wedding that Jon was in.  We got to spend great time with friends, eat lots of good food […]

Leave a Reply

