seeing the sights

21 Oct

Our first full day in Washington DC started with a brisk 2.5 mile run along the harbor.

National Harbor 1.jpg

National Harbor 2.jpg

We are staying at National Harbor, and it is so beautiful here! The downside is that it it’s a bit from away from….well, everything. In terms of walking at least. The upside is that there is a bus stop just a block from our hotel that takes us straight to the metro. So after a shower and a quick breakfast of a banana, rice cake and almond butter (from the stash:) we set out for a day of sightseeing.

We honestly did not have any idea where we were going, but that’s how we roll. Once on the metro, we started to realize that we were already getting hungry. Jon and I are notorious for setting out to explore new places and then not being able to find food anywhere. And you do not want to be our friend when we are hungry. So, we decided to book it to the only place we knew was sure to have food.

IMG_8380.JPG

waiting for the metro...again

China Town!

IMG_8384.JPG

Right when we came up from the metro, we spotted this place.

IMG_8397.JPG

When we were in New York last year, we ate at a place just like this, and we both loved it! If you haven’t been to one, it’s basically like a Subway, but for salads. Plus they have far more toppings (everything from tofu to roasted beets) – and then my favorite part – after they get everything that you want added to your salad, they chop it all up before putting it in the bowl. It’s so good!

IMG_8388.JPG

IMG_8394.JPG

love the vintage style of these cups!

IMG_8391.JPG

After eating, we decided to explore China Town a little bit, and the first place we stumbled upon was Urban Outfitters….keepin’ it real:) We shopped around a little bit – the husband ending up with a couple of shirts and me a scarf.

Finally, after all the procrastinating, we decided to grab some Starbucks and head to Arlington National Cemetery. We strolled the winding streets, taking pictures at every turn and just soaking in the peaceful serenity of this place. It was so calming to me.

IMG_8402.JPG

IMG_8407.JPG

IMG_8413.JPG

the gravesite of JFK

IMG_8419.JPG

Arlington was absolutely nothing like what I expected – it was so much bigger! It really is hard to fathom the number of graves there. I was so taken aback with it all.

IMG_8426.JPG

IMG_8427.JPG

IMG_8429.JPG

IMG_8431.JPG

at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier

IMG_8433.JPG

IMG_8434.JPG

IMG_8440.JPG

IMG_8442.JPG

IMG_8449.JPG

IMG_8403.JPG

After a couple hour visit, we decided to head back to the National Mall. We had only spent a short while there the night before, and it had been dark, so we were anxious to see it all in the daylight and get some good pictures. After a quick snack, we made the loooong trek, finally coming upon the Lincoln Memorial. Beginning to fear the onset of sundown, we decided to admire Lincoln from afar, since it had been the best lit monument from the night before – instead pressing on toward the White House.

IMG_8457.JPG

IMG_8458.JPG

IMG_8460.JPG

the back of the Lincoln Memorial

IMG_8464.JPG

IMG_8465.JPG

IMG_8474.JPG

the memorial for Vietnam Vets

IMG_8476.JPG

The night before we were able to get right up to the fence of the White House, almost to that fountain you can barely see; however, this day there was a giant chain length fence put up that spanned about the length of a football field. You couldn’t get any closer than the outside of the fence. There must have been something going on – not sure, but we were sad!

We walked by the Washington Monument next, en route to the capitol building…

IMG_8490.JPG

And the Smithsonian…

IMG_8500.JPG

IMG_8507.JPG

IMG_8513.JPG

IMG_8521.JPG

IMG_8527.JPG

IMG_8535.JPG

IMG_8534.JPG

IMG_8539.JPG

By the time we left the Capitol building, we were pretty exhausted and hungry. Dinnertime!!

We used our UrbanSpoon app on the iPhone and found a mexican restaurant in the area – and made a beeline for it! Only to get there and realize it was closed:( Onward and upward folks, onward and upward. We UrbanSpooned it again and came up with yet another mexican place only about a mile away. Off we went!

Stopping for photo opps along the way or course:)

IMG_8543.JPG

IMG_8546.JPG

I didn’t get many pictures of dinner unfortunately because it was really dark and crowded in there.

We started off with an appetizer of guacamole that was some of the best darn guacamole I’ve ever had. And that’s sayin’ a lot!

For my meal I ordered vegetarian enchiladas with mushrooms, spinach and squash inside and a tomato based sauce poured over top. Jon and I shared a serving of rice and beans.

IMG_8549.JPG

So good!

And then on our way home we passed this little cupcakery and just couldn’t resist. Can I just say how much I love the word “cupcakery?” I could just say it over and over. Cupcakery. Cupcakery, cupcakery, cupcakery. Cupcakery.

IMG_8553.JPG

IMG_8554.JPG

Mine was chocolate – and it was vegan too!!

Oh my gosh, that was the longest recap in the history of recaps! If you’re still with me, kudos to you. And thanks!

I just love writing recaps – it’s like you get to relive the entire day over again!

I’m off to bed now – we are leaving tomorrow at noon and I can hardly believe it. Especially after today (recap to come tomorrow) – I am NOT ready to go home! Today was one of the best days I think I’ve ever had. That may be a slight exaggeration…but only slight;)

I’m waaaay behind on all your amazing blogs because I just haven’t been sitting in front of the computer. While I can’t say I’d wish it any other way, I miss you all so very much and I can’t wait to catch up on everything from this week!!

Hope you’re having a great night – see ya tomorrow!

10 Responses to “seeing the sights”

  1. Kristina @ spabettie October 21, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

    staggering, but one of my favorite places in DC.

    • candice October 24, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

      mine too!

  2. Becca October 22, 2010 at 2:35 am #

    Those are some truly beautiful pictures – thanks so much for sharing. I can’t imagine how moving and desperately frustrating it must have been to visit Arlington.

    I love those kind of salad places, but I haven’t been to one since I left London. My favourite was something with spinach, chicken, raspberry vinaigrette and pine nuts – so delicious! I’d love to open one in my local town.

    • candice October 24, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

      I’ve totally thought about opening a place like that in my little town. Wouldn’t that be the dream?! Let me know if you do it and I’ll live vicariously through you:)

  3. Dorry October 22, 2010 at 9:29 am #

    Gorgeous pics! It looks like y’all are having a great time with good food. Have a safe trip home today. 🙂

    • candice October 24, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

      Thanks, girl:) Can’t wait to catch up on your blog – I’ve missed you this week!

  4. amber@SAHM's musings October 22, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

    Looks like fun! What a beautiful place to run! I love your new scarf!!!! So cute! Thanks for sharing your adventures in D.C.

    • candice October 24, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

      Yes, so beautiful!

      And thanks for reading:)

  5. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com October 22, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

    if only we all looked as graceful and serene waiting for the metro! i love ur fashion sense so much btw (just a little side note) lol. wow the photos in general have a really neat somber mood to them, and the graveyard pic is eerily encapturing!

    • candice October 24, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

      haha! yes, grace is my middle name;)

      Thanks for the sweet comment.

Leave a Reply

