Old Town

22 Oct

And now…for the final recap of our stay in Washington D.C.

Thursday was the only day that the husband would be in meetings for his conference all day long, and I had planned to just play it by ear, waiting to see what we’d have time for on Wednesday before deciding what I would do while flying solo.

I had wanted to see the Holocaust Memorial at some point and sort of expected that I would end up doing that on Thursday; however, I also had heard great things about Old Town Alexandria, so that was also high up in the running. By the time Wednesday night rolled around I had come to a definite decision.

Old Town here I come!

IMG_8578.JPG

I figured I’d explore the city for a little bit and then camp out at Starbucks for awhile and get some work done. So, I strapped on the husband’s backpack, loaded down with my macbook, grabbed my camera and set out.

IMG_8565.JPG

I head out of the hotel, get in the cab and the following conversation takes place:

Annoyed cab driver: where you headed?

Me: Alexandria.

Annoyed cab driver: what part of Alexandria?

Me: uhhh, well….ummmm, what part is good?

Annoyed cab driver: several seconds of silence, and then “well, Old Town is pretty good.”

Me: yes, that’s it. Old Town. Take me there.

Annoyed cab driver: where at in Old Town?

Me: ummmmmmmmmm…Starbucks?

Annoyed cab driver: which Starbucks?

SERIOUSLY?? Had could I have been this unprepared? haha. I just knew I wanted to go to the quaint little town that I’d heard so much about and that was about it. Either way, he ended up taking me to the Starbucks that is farthest away from all the action. He dropped me off, and I decided to just take off walking and see what I could find.

Well, apparently it was my lucky day because within five minutes I stumbled onto this:

IMG_8570.JPG

Trader Joe’s!! I have heard so much about Trader Joe’s for so long, but I’ve never had the chance to go to one. My eyes lit up so bright you’d have thought I had just found the almond butter machine at Whole Foods. I refrained from buying anything right away, but returned later on in the day for some sunflower seed butter, pumpkin butter and almond butter:) Is this normal?

Pressing on I continued wandering down the streets, completely giddy at the setting of this little town. I think I was made to live in this place. I literally got teary eyed a couple of times because I was just so happy. I know I’m risking losing readers who think I’m a crazy person over that statement, but I don’t care. It was the best day.

IMG_8574.JPG

IMG_8575.JPG

IMG_8577.JPG

The only thing that could have made it any better was if the husband had been by my side. I missed him:(

IMG_8580.JPG

IMG_8581.JPG

IMG_8576.JPG

IMG_8582.JPG

I basically spent most of the day until lunch wandering around, up and down every street oohing and ahhing, and checking out every little store and boutique in my path. Finally, I wandered upon the waterfront and enjoyed the peacefulness of the water and flowers for a few minutes.

IMG_8585.JPG

IMG_8587.JPG

IMG_8588.JPG

And then I was back at it.

IMG_8591.JPG

IMG_8589.JPG

IMG_8595.JPG

IMG_8598.JPG

I stumbled upon a cute little confectionary, where I bought a few dark chocolate covered cranberries, some chocolate covered coffee beans for the husband and one lone sea salted caramel, which was to. die. for. So delicious in fact, that I neglected to get a pic before popping it into my mouth and savoring it to the very end.

IMG_8599.JPG

And then I found this.

IMG_8603.JPG

Do you see what I see? That’s right, another cupcakery…hallelujah! I couldn’t help myself.

IMG_8609.JPG

Pumpkin spice cupcake with fennel. I die.

IMG_8612.JPG

For the record, I don’t make a habit of eating a cupcake every day, but Oklahoma also doesn’t have cupcakeries. What’s a girl to do?!

As much as I wanted to just eat it right up, I knew my stomach would thank me if I had something a little more substantial for lunch first. I decided on the first thing I saw that I don’t have at home.

Le Madeleine.

IMG_8619.JPG

I ordered the salad sampler and chose a tomato basil pasta salad, tomato basil soup and fruit.

IMG_8617.JPG

IMG_8620.JPG

My favorite was the pasta salad, but it was all very very tasty. And by the time I followed it up with the cupcake (I couldn’t carry it around in my backpack all day!), I thought someone was going to have to roll me outta there.

After lunch I decided to give my aching feet a little rest, so I broke out the laptop and did a little bit of work.

But it didn’t last long. Who was I kidding?

A couple of hours later I found myself at the Gap Outlet when I got an email from Emily. Emily writes The Front Burner, and she is so cool. She actually lives in Old Town, and I had emailed her earlier in the day to see if she had any suggestions of must sees or do’s for me. When she got my email she was sitting at Starbucks just about ten blocks down the street! So, obviously I had to get down there and say hi.

IMG_8623.JPG

We got to chat for a little bit, but then she was meeting a friend so we had to cut it short. She is every bit as pretty and sweet as she is on her blog. I thought she was in especially good spirits considering she just got hit by a car about a week ago!

Anyway, later that night Jon finally met up with me after his conference was over so we could hang out with an old coworker of his and his wife and baby. We all met up at a cute little restaurant called Las Tapas, which had excellent food and even greater entertainment thanks to the live music and dancing! So fun!

My food went unpictured due to the super intense mood lighting, but Jon and I shared a tapas order of spinach and feta cheese wrapped in phyllo dough and a skillet of Vegetarian Paella. This was our second time to have Paella, the first time being in Barcelona this summer. And honestly, we liked the American version better, but shhhh, don’t tell anybody;)

IMG_8630.JPG

After dinner we caught a cab back to our hotel, and Jon went to a late night networking reception party while I blogged from bed (the best way IMO:)

And that’s it! I can’t believe our time in DC is already over. Please don’t make me leeeaave!!!

I’ll see you guys tomorrow!

14 Responses to “Old Town”

  1. Kristina @ spabettie October 22, 2010 at 10:39 pm #

    you so won’t lose me as a reader for saying that… in fact, it makes me ❤ you MORE !! I totally felt what you mean… and Old Town sounds awesome.

    😀

    • candice October 24, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

      thanks for sticking around…lol:)

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach) October 23, 2010 at 8:56 am #

    Sounds like you’re having a great time. Love all of the pictures (and green is your color btw). I haven’t been to a TJ’s either and even had it marked on my “to to to” list when I was in Philly (kind of sad really).

    • candice October 24, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

      aw, thanks girl:)

      I totally had TJ’s on my list when I went to Chicago in August, but never made it. I was determined to make it happen on this trip:)

  3. Paige @ Running Around Normal October 23, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    Glad you made it and had such a good time! I love exploring new cities alone sometimes. You can do and go whereever you feel!

    • candice October 24, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

      so true! It wasn’t as lonely as I had thought it might be. I was just glad I got to go!

  4. Halley (Blunder Construction) October 24, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    Mmm pumpkin spice & fennel. So crazy, it just might work! I’m going to D.C. next weekend, I hope it still looks as gorgeous as it did during your stay.

    • candice October 24, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

      Oh, I’m sure it will! I love DC! Will this be your first time?

      • Halley (Blunder Construction) October 24, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

        It will be my first time without a chaperon (haven’t been since I was 12 years old.) So looking forward to it! Will be sharing photos of all the fun (also from the Rally to Restore Sanity on Sat. we are going to!!)

      • candice October 25, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

        Can’t wait to see your recaps! It’s so much more fun without a chaperon I’m sure;)

  5. Bekah @ runtrackmind October 25, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    What a wonderful time you must have had…I loved being able to take the trip through your photos. 😉

    • candice October 25, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

      Thanks for reading:)

  6. amber@SAHM's musings October 26, 2010 at 8:31 am #

    Your pics are beautiful. Makes me want to go!!! The cupcakes looks delish! Love me a good cupcake. BTW OKC does have cupcakeries 🙂 One of them was started by a family that attends my church. Needless to say sometimes they bring the leftovers on Sunday and if I’m working with the children’s dept I can sneak out and snag me one 🙂 The name of the cupcakery is called Cuppies and Joe and I highly recommend the Boom Boom Pow cupcake. Here’s a link to check them out

    http://www.cuppiesandjoe.com/

    The other one (which I haven’t been to) is Sara Sara

    http://www.sarasaracupcakes.com/

    • candice October 26, 2010 at 9:05 am #

      You are kidding me! How did I not know this? I’m definitely going to have to hit these up next time I’m in the city. The Cuppies and Joe website is really cute, too. Love their packaging and such:) Thanks for the info!

Leave a Reply

