tempeh veggie chili

24 Oct

Good evening!

I can’t believe the weekend is already over.

I arrived home from DC around 8 o’clock Friday night, but the husband didn’t get home until after midnight!  Our flights were supposed to land in Tulsa within 15 minutes of each other, but his got delayed…twice.  Wouldn’t you know it?

Anyways, I decided to go ahead and drive the hour home without him, and then he hitched a ride with his coworkers.  We had such a great time while we were gone, but it felt so great to get home.   Isn’t that how it always is?

After getting in bed so late on Friday night, we accidentally overslept on Saturday morning and didn’t wake up until 11:30!  We were both a little sad to have missed out on the whole morning, but apparently we needed the sleep, so it’s all good:)

Saturday afternoon we had to work in the suites for the OSU/Nebraska game. By the time we got home it was already past six, and we spent the rest of the evening just like this.

Luckily this morning we didn’t oversleep and managed to make it to church on time.  The rest of the afternoon was spent catching up on work and stuff around the house, although unfortunately I still have not unpacked.  That will be a task for after I write this post….or possibly tomorrow.  But don’t tell the husband;)

All afternoon I was craving something fallish -and what better way to satisfy that kind of craving than with a pumpkin spice latte and my latest and greatest Trader Joe’s find?!

I was so excited to break out this pumpkin butter for the first time that I could already taste it!  I toasted up a slice of ezekiel bread and giddily spread a thin layer of pumpkin goodness and then…

eh.

It was pretty good.  I think it was just a little too sweet or something.  Emily had warned me that it was pretty sweet, but wow.  I mean, you can’t really mess up good pumpkin flavor, so I still liked it.   I just didn’t like it as much as I though I would.  I think I’d like to make my own now, so I can control how much sugar goes in.  The good news is that a little bit goes a long way!  I think it would probably be really good to add a tiny bit to yogurt or oatmeal.

We shall see!!

To carry on the fall theme into dinner, I decided to put together a vegetarian chili.

This chili did not disappoint!

Tempeh Veggie Chili
makes about 6 servings

Ingredients
2 red bell peppers, chopped
4 large carrots, chopped
1 small onion, chopped
1 cup frozen corn
1 block tempeh, crumbled or diced
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 can pinto beans, drained and rinsed
1 tbsp chili powder
1/2 tbsp garlic powder
1 tbsp cumin
2 tsp paprika
1/2 tbsp salt
2 tsp oregano
1 ½ tbsp lime juice
1 tbsp organic cane sugar
1 ½ cup water
1 12 ounce can diced tomatoes, no added salt
1 8 ounce can tomato sauce
1 tbsp olive oil

Directions

  • pour oil into large stockpot over medium heat
  • add onion, bell pepper, carrot, frozen corn and tempeh and saute for about 3-4 minutes.
  • add beans, diced tomatoes, tomato sauce and water and mix well.
  • add seasonings and lime juice.  Cover and allow to simmer for about 30 minutes.
  • serve with crackers or baked pita wedges.

This chili turned out delicious!  One of my favorites methinks.  You should make it.  And then cozy up on the coach with your significant other (or your cat) and watch Amazing Race.  Because it’s amazing.

Even the baby couldn’t get enough of the smell of fall in the kitchen.

Er…maybe that’s her “puh-leeeze, give me a carrot, mom.  I promise I’ll be good and I won’t ever ask for anything ever again. Really, I won’t….”

Who can say no to that face?

But you don’t get somethin’ for nothin’ around here….no matter how cute you are:)

9 Responses to “tempeh veggie chili”

  1. Joslyn @ missfitbliss.com October 24, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    Could the doggy be any cuter?!?! I don’t think so. The tiny carrot balancing on the tip of the nose is priceless! I love your shots. They all have a very serene tone to them…

    • candice October 25, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

      aww, haha! We think she’s pretty cute. And we’re not biased at all;)

      Thanks for the photo comment – that was so sweet.

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach) October 25, 2010 at 7:29 am #

    Chili looks great. I just love making different types of chili. Sounds like you guys really really needed the rest!

  3. Halley (Blunder Construction) October 25, 2010 at 8:14 am #

    100% agreed about the pumpkin butter! I got a jar when I went apple picking a few weeks ago, couldn’t wait to open it up and… meh. A tad too sweet, but you are right, nothing can actually mess up pumpkin flavor! I like a scoop of pumpkin butter w/ sliced apples.

    • candice October 25, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

      so I’m not the only one!

      I’ll definitely have to try it with sliced apples. Thanks for the rec:)

  4. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun October 25, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    So, in other words, I would love their pumpkin butter since I’m such a sweet lover? LOL

    Glad you had a good weekend!

    • candice October 25, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

      haha! probably so, probably so:)

  5. Diana October 25, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

    Hello! I just stumbled upon your blog and can barely contain my excitement! I too am from Oklahoma (Norman), and have two lovely little Yorkies! What a crazy coincidence. I am an avid health blog reader and found your site through Emily at The Front Burner. I never EVER comment but I thought it was too crazy not to. Can’t wait to read your blog!

    • candice October 25, 2010 at 10:24 pm #

      Oooh, so fun…and totally random! I’m so glad you stopped by! I would love to see pictures of your yorkies. What are their names?

      Sounds like we have a lot in common. yay!

Leave a Reply

